We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Loco Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Loco Guesthouse
14 Calle Hucar | Esperanza, Puerto Rico (Formerly Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom for four nights recently. Joe and Margo were very welcoming and helpful with our questions and getting a taxi. The apartment was everything we needed, very clean and comfortable. It was nice to have the kitchen to fix breakfast or lunch and keep beverages cold. The rooftop was nice as were the front and back balconies. The back yard was beautiful. It was a short walk to town but far enough away so you were not bothered by the noise... well except the roosters which are everywhere! Convenient to small stores and bakery. We enjoyed watching the kids play softball at the field across the street. We would stay here again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice. I like that we were on the end so other guests did not have to pass by ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at Coco Loco for one night for my Biobay trip on Jan 11th, 2013.

Location: very convenient. Yes, it is a few blocks away from the water. But it is also quieter, away from the street noise.
Room: it is so lovely. I like all the details of the home decors, like sea shells, flowers, corals. I even took pictures of the bathroom decorations so that I can copy and learn! The balcony and backyard are enjoyable, too. And, it is clean.
Host: very nice and friendly couple. They have three dogs barking a lot at first. But they keep it in a separate yard so guests won't get bothered.

The only cons that I need to say is: it is very noisy at night because of coqui... I am not sure, but I guess it is coqui. It was fun and we felt surrounded by nature first. However, it is so loud that I was not able to sleep the entire night. And when it is about 4 am, the noise of coqui finally muted, but then here comes the roosters! If you are also sensitive to noises during sleep, bring a noise cancellation ear plugs!

Room Tip: If you are also sensitive to noises during sleep, bring a noise cancellation ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our stay at Coco Loco this past week was wonderful. Joe and Margo set the perfect tone of helpfulness and courtesy. The location is just right for walking to the restaurants in Esperanza, but not so close that you get the noise from the boardwalk (Malecon). The kitchen allowed us to prepare breakfasts on our own and there is a small store and bakery just around the corner. If you are a light sleeper you will want to bring earplugs, but this is not especially particular to this guesthouse; Esperanza is a town with active rosters, dogs and tree frogs galore. Beach towels were provided. The balcony out front was ideal for leisurely conversation while observing the passing cars, wild horses, dogs and citizens of Esperanza. We had heard that Christmas/New Years was the busy time, and perhaps it was, but we never had a problem getting a table for dinner and most of the beaches were deserted by U.S. standards. Would come back in a moment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, wi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

What a terrific place. We rented the two bedroom part of the guesthouse. At first when we arrived I was a little disappointed that Coco Loco is several blocks from the water but I learned to really appreciate its location; it's a leisurely stroll to the "hustle and bustle" of the "downtown" but far enough away to be nice and quiet. The owners are so nice and friendly and the accommodations, especially the spacious outside patio, exactly what we wanted. The price is right, too. Do yourself a favor and stay here!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite is roomy with a nice kitchen and incredible outside patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in the Casita, a tiny studio in back of the main house. Although small, it had everything one could want including a ceiling fan, a refrigerator, air conditioner and a full bath. Also included were beach towels and umbrellas in case of weather. This is not a luxury accomodation, but is more like staying at a friend's house. Joe and Margo and their dogs were great company and Joe let us use his cell phone to make reservations for the next leg of our trip since we have not yet joined the 21 century. A very pleasant and laid back 3 days.

Room Tip: The casita worked for us, but the upstairs apartments are spacious with kitchens and balconies and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Margo was supernice, gave us insider tips and helped to book a tour to Mosquito Bay, which is literally 10 min away from the place. The accomodation itself is a fun place to stay if travelling with a group of friends or family. My tip: go in off season, you will have a relaxing time with nice weather (if lucky) and no growds ! Thank you Margo for hosting !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We flew to Vieques, Puerto Rico, during the off-season as a result of a fare sale on US Airways. Looking for an inexpensive place to stay, we landed on the Coco Loco Guesthouse as a result of the other reviews on TripAdvisor. We could not be happier with our decision!!!

Coco Loco is located down the street from the island's smaller town of Esperanza. It was easy to walk down the street to bars and restaurants. The locals on the street were very friendly and invited conversation. Coco Loco allowed us to get a real flavor for life on the island, yet was only two or three blocks from the sea. In fact, you could see the sea from the rooftop deck.

If the Waldorf or a Marriott is what you are after this place is not for you. If you want to have a travel experience and an inexpensive getaway, this should be your number one destination. The owners, Joe and Margo, are incredibly friendly and very eager to help in any way they can. Joe spent the evening talking with us at a local bar, and got me aloe vera when I suffered a nasty sunburn. They were knowledgeable about the area, and coming from New York, they shared amusing and interesting stories about their transition.

We stayed in the one bedroom. The apartment was comfortable, with a nice balcony (with a relaxing hammock), a sitting room, kitchen, nice shower, and bedroom. Only the bedroom is air conditioned, but the windows give the apartment a very nice breeze. The backyard is nice, with sitting areas, and fresh tropical fruit (guava was in season when we were there). There is also a spartan rooftop terrace, that is incredible for stargazing!

Vieques in an interesting place with great local character. The locals are laid-back and friendly, with dogs and chickens roaming the street. The beaches are beautiful and unspoiled. You can have yards of beach to yourself without anyone else in sight. Rent a Jeep and explore the remote beaches on the island -- you will definitely not regret it. The harbor in Esperanza is lovely, and great for watching the sunrise and sunset. The whole experience was made better with Coco Loco as a "home base". It felt like staying with an old friend, and we simply cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Loco Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Loco Guesthouse

Address: 14 Calle Hucar | Esperanza, Puerto Rico (Formerly Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Loco guesthouse is walking distance to just about everything you need: beaches, little grocery stores, pizza shops, parks, and the Boardwalk (Malecon) with oceanside restaurants, gift shops, bars, clothing stores, a museum with an aquarium of local creatures, rentals of kayaks, snorkeling equipment, jet-skis, and scooters, and more! The Biobay Tour companies pick up people at the corner of our street. We are in the popular neighborhood of Esperanza- but just far enough from the Boardwalk to be free from its occasional noisiness. You can walk a block and a half to join in the fun, or stay behind at Coco Loco if you want to relax! We offer cottage-style beach living at a very low price. Stay for one night, two nights, or however many you need. Our Studio is perfect for short visits or a low budget vacation. Our One Bedroom and Two Bedroom Apartments have wonderful balconies, and stairs to the rooftop! The apartments are spacious and comfortable for however long or short a time you'd like to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alas Del Coco Loco Guesthouse Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Loco Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coco Loco Guesthouse to your Saves list