We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service, best location. Perfect decision for the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Kathy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa de Kathy to your Saves list
Casa de Kathy
Barrio Esperanza | 367 Bromelias Street, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best service, best location. Perfect decision for the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The two bedroom is not only clean and spacious, but came fully stocked with kitchen supplies. Service was amazing. And most importantly it felt safe. Just a couple of blocks from the malecon. Will def recommend to anyone who is going to Vieques

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    40
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
106
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Kathy's for 2 nights. And I must say, it was amazing. The rooms, location and service was great, but having Kathy as our host was icing on our cake. She was informative and helpful. Through her website and convos with her, we got loads of information about the island. We really appreciate it as we spoke close to no Spanish, and were very foreign to Puerto Rico.
From her, we learnt about the protest against using the island for military bombing. Really insightful.
The whole island is filled with friendly people, though we couldn't really speak Spanish, simple smiles warmed things up. I would say having Kathy as our host made our stay 200% better.
THANK U KATHY!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grayslake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The 2 bedroom apartment was wonderful. It was clean and spacious and really close to everything! We walked to restaurants and bars, the place to be picked up for the bio bay tour, horseback riding, and the beach (although it is a bit of a walk so carrying the chairs was a challenge). It is an apartment so you can make your own food in the kitchen etc. The air conditioning is only in the bedrooms, but works perfectly and cools down the rooms very quickly. Kathy was super helpful. All in all it was a wonderful experience!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night and the host is very nice and helpful!!! My friend and I wanted to go to the bio bay and she helped us to call the agency. Kathy is very nice. she gave us lots of trip advise and answered all our questions. she also provided lots of useful pamphlets and books with detailed information about Vieques on the desk in our living room.The 2-bedroom apartment was very nice too. It was clean and very well kept. The kitchen was well equipped. We could use anything in it. It was very comfortable to stay in the apartment. We don't have any negative experience here. Everything was just fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed there 2 days and really liked the place... this place is close to beach, The Studio room is really big with all kitchen and small dining area , you will find all necessary items like but not limited to
1.Kids games.
2.Nice Books.
3.Travel Guide.
4.Microwave & Fridge.
5.Spices , condiments , wine glasses etc etc (all that you need).
6.Excellent guidance about the Island by Kathy.
7.Kathy also offered Snorkel Equipments Beach umbrella and Beach Toys.
8.Kathy also offered Local Candy and Fresh Local Fruits.

Very nice and highly recommended , I will stay in same place everytime I visit Vieques again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Over all the experience was great. Good location, apt was clean and Kathy had a wealth of information on the local. If you understand that this is NOT a hotel and that the amenities will be more like that of your own apartment with a local to give advice/additional information you shouldn't have a problem.

My friends were able to rent snorkel gear for about $7/pp/day and Kathy even assisted with our laundry (hanging when finished washing) for no charge.

I would describe her as motherly, and as she does live on the premises yes she can pretty easily tell when you run the AC with the windows open.

While her fan and AC rules may be considered by some to be excessive, they are fairly reasonable and generally common sense. We didn't have any negative experience (we even accidentally left a fan on while we were gone for a while).

All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: If you have three people, you will want a 2br even though studios can "accommodate" three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed in the 2-bdrm apartment and it was a well-kept, cozy apartment that provided everything we needed with a full kitchen. The rooms have A/C and Kathy keeps beach gear on hand for all your needs. The apartment is a short walk to the malecon and beaches, and Kathy gives you all the info you need to get around and enjoy your stay. Would recommend to couples, friends or families!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Kathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Kathy

Address: Barrio Esperanza | 367 Bromelias Street, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect Vacation Apartments. Walk two blocks to Caribbean beaches, coral reefs for snorkeling, bio-bay tours and boardwalk restaurants & shops. Studio sleeps up to 3 and two-bedroom sleeps up to 5. Discount for a week. Modern AC & kitchens. Shared balcony with panoramic ocean-view. Located in quiet, residential village of Esperanza, fifteen minutes from ferry dock or airport. Resident-owner Kathy provides great hospitality and overview to Vieques culture, history, & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Kathy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Kathy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.