We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Coral: a very positive experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Coral Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Coral Guesthouse to your Saves list
Villa Coral Guesthouse
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   485 Calle Gladiola, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
1 review
“Villa Coral: a very positive experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We just came back from Vieques (first day at work today, so I still have the holidays blues...)
We arrived on the island without having booked any accommodation in advance and the taxi driver we met at the airport brought us to Villa Coral.
The Guesthouse is absolutely perfect for a quiet holiday: the room we had was spotless, new, clean and very cozy and it was really like being in your own apartment. The room we had featured all the necessary amenities like a small fridge, air conditioning system and a ceiling fan and just outside the room, on the main terrace, there were a microwave and a couple of tables, where you could relax reading a book or a magazine (small selection of books/magazines you can borrow for free if you like) or have something to eat (plastic cutlery, plates and the likes provided for free.)
The roof terrace (smoking area) is fitted with chairs, tables and a BBQ set (6 USD for the use of the BBQ set to cover gas and cleaning costs.)
We were absolutely impressed with the 2 owners of the place (Mireya and Annette): they couldn't be more helpful. They organized a tour for us, they helped us with car rental, taxis and they gave us all the necessary information about the island and the places to visit. We really felt they added their personal touch to our stay there: it was impressive how you could feel at home just by having small things at your disposal like a cooler, beach chairs and umbrellas in every room.
We would definitely recommend Villa Coral to other guests: impressive service received!

  • Liked — Service provided and room amenities
  • Disliked — Noise outside (hens belonging to neighbours, but I guess it would be the same all over the village, bring earplugs!)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    43
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
138
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery County, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

I pretty much second all the other positive reviews of Villa Coral. It's the ideal location if you aren't looking for a four-star hotel, like the idea of being in a local neighborhood away from the beach party scene, and want a comfortable spot to hang out at the end of the day. It's located at the top of the hill about four blocks from town, which means some walking but also a comfortable breezy place to sit and relax. There is a second story porch and rooftop deck, both ideal places to sit and read or talk. Rooms are fairly basic but very new, very clean and fully comfortable. There was no TV, but you'd be crazy to come to Vieques to watch TV. We had an AC unit but never used it -- preferred the ceiling fan and open windows. The owners are terrific, incredibly anxious to please. Annette got concerned when our cab to the ferry was five minutes late (we had built in lots of spare time so weren't concerned ourselves), and insisted on calling a driver she knew who came in a few minutes.

This isn't the place if you're looking for the lap of luxury and self-indulgence. Nor is it the place to party all night -- they have 9:30 pm quiet hours. Be ready for neighborhood noise at night and early morning -- barking dogs and crowing roosters. One of us used earplugs, while the other slept through it . If this bothers you, you are probably on the wrong island to begin with.

It's hard to imagine any place in Vieques superior to Villa Coral regardless of price, as far as we are concerned.

  • Liked — Great place to relax, great owners, new and very clean
  • Disliked — Neighborhood noise at night -- dogs and roosters
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

I've been meaning to write a review of Villa Coral for months, but was waiting to have the time to write something really thoughtful. Looks like that day won't come, so here goes:

As most other reviewers have said, this is a great guesthouse for the price. It's smack in the middle of a neighborhood at the top of a hill, which for me was a huge plus. If you have to be right on the water, Villa Coral is not for you. Yes, you will hear roosters, and dogs will cross your path, but I liked all that. You feel as if you're living on Vieques and part of a neighborhood, and not just a tourist. It's about an eight minute walk to the town, and about a 6 minute walk to the best bakery, which is very nice in the morning.

The rooms are not huge, but they have modern fixtures (the whole property was renovated by the owners) and are clean. There's two shared decks--one on the roof with a good view and the other kind of wraps around the property. There's plenty of outdoor seating. Families would do well to take 2 rooms.

It's a very low-key, laid back place.

I can't even begin to say enough about the two owners, Mireya and Annette. One of them is always around, and they will help you in any way you need. They even gave me a ride one night to an arti opening on the other side of the island.

For a while, Villa Coral was not able to take new reservations. Does anyone know if this is still the case? It's really too bad, as this is just the kind of lodging Vieques could use more of. I hope they've reopened.

  • Liked — The calm ambience
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCoralowner, Owner at Villa Coral Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2008
Villa Coral Guesthouse has opened its doors once again- with full permits and endorsements! it is still run be the same owners that many of you appreciated, and now with even more enthusiasm than ever to welcome visitors to our island! We thank all of those special guests who were concerned about our temporary closing, but now we are back to stay ! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

We spent three nights on Viequest Island and found the Villa Coral Guest House to be an absolute gem. Miryea and Annette are wonderful hosts who truly go out of their way to make you feel at home.

The rooms are simplly appointed rooms, but lovely and spacious. There is a microwave and small refrigerator in each room along with an AC unit and a ceiling fan. They even provide you with a cooler and beach chairs!

There is a lovely covered communal patio with easy chairs, books and games along with a wonderful roof top patio.

The guest house is in walking distance to a wonderful bakery and small market. Esperanza is a bit of a trek downhill so the going is good, it is just the walk back! However, it is easily doable.

Don't miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

Stayed for 8 days over the New Year at this cute and friendly guesthouse.
Before telling you about it however, a bit of background of Vieques that I would have found useful if I had been able to find it while looking for accomodations.
The town of Esperanza is small and mostly local. The streets climb a modest hill and are jammed with homes on very modest lots. The residents keep horses, goats, chickens, and roosters on their properties along with many pets. There appears to be little if any code enforcement as many properties are in advanced states of dissrepair. If you have traveled in interior Mexico, it reminds me somewhat of that. This is important for several reasons which may effect your time here.
The Villa Coral is on one of these small lots in a neighborhood. That means you will hear roosters crowing some 40 50 times every miniute for 20 hours each day. The dogs also bark frequently. This is not to scare you away, we got used to them after a few days and you can block them out at night with your air conditioner, but it is odd at first. After a few days of soaking up sun and culture, we found it quaint. The locals are a mix of very freindly to somewhat hostile, but respond better if you smile and say hola. The guesthouse is a nice 10 min. walk down the hill to the malicon where the small area of restaurants and bars are. There is also a nice beach there where you can get wet, although most of the good beaches require a four wheel drive vehicle to access.
The guesthouse is very clean, and the owners are a delight. The common areas are much better in person than on the website as is the entire property. I have never paid so little for so much and everyone who stayed there during our stay liked it. There are no TV's or phones, which we loved. The owners are always there to help with whatever you need. They are currently having a major problem with a neighbor who does not like them for bigoted reasons and has had them temporarrily shut down. This is a travesty as the property of the complaintant is a pit and they are the ones who should be complaining about her. However, as this nieghbor is a local and the owners of Villa Coral are not, who knows how it might work out for them. Vieques government is run like a third world country and bribes and who you know matter more than justice.
Anyway, the beaches are beautiful with the exception of sand flies which bite in the shady areas. My advice would be to bring a beach umbrella so you can stay on the beach in the sun where the flies are not so bad.
The food on Vieques is fantastic. The owners know all the great places, but do not miss El Quenepo on the malicon as it rivals anyplace we have eaten the world over. The bio bay tour is also worthwhile as you will never have a chance to do something like that again, but also something you will only want to do once. This is a very laid back vacation place as there is nothing to do but go to the beach and eat at night. If you like that kind of thing, and we do, you are also the type that will like Villa Coral.

  • Liked — Clean with nice hosts and great prices.
  • Disliked — Roosters
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

I planned my trip to Puerto Rico from on-line sources favoring this site and both Vieques and the Villa Coral were better than i could have hoped for by just picking sight unseen. A guesthouse is a great description of the place and the amount of work that was put into the place to make it as nice as it is was very evident. Huge soft beds make the room seem smaller, but that's better then the other way around. Showers with better water pressure than i have at home. Located up the hill a couple of blocks from the beachfront, both the second story patio and roof-top deck are nice places for reading, relaxing and have nice veiws of the Bio Bays and great sunsets. The owners make the real difference. Helping book tours, making shuttle arrangements from Farajdo to SJ and helping book a hotel saved me a great deal of hassle, time and money.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

My new wife and I have recently returned from our Honeymoon where we had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful, quiet, clean little guesthouse called the Villa Coral. It was (for us) the perfect place to stay. We came to the Island of Vieques to get away from crowds and to spend time relaxing away from other people. The atmosephere of Villa Coral for that reason was wonderful. They have 6 guest rooms total, and unless we saw the other guests on the deck or going to and from their rooms, we would have thought that we had the whole place to ourselves.
Our hosts Mireya and Anette were very friendly, (the kind of people you feel like you have known forever) they gave us many tips about where to go on Vieques, and the many things to do on this quiet, uncrowded piece of Paradise.
We are going back to Vieques very soon and would not think of staying anywhere but Villa Coral.

  • Liked — It felt like home
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Coral Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Coral Guesthouse

Address: 485 Calle Gladiola, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Coral Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Coral is a cozy guesthouse located in the quiet neighborhood of Esperanza. Our concept is a relaxing, stress-free stay with no hassles, no telephones, or television sets. There are six boutique guestrooms available. Each room is brand new and has its private bathroom. All rooms have air conditioning and in most, there are ceiling fans available. Our rooms have a personalized touch, which give a sense of small, yet refreshing accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Coral Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Coral Guesthouse Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Coral Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.