We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Settled in; unwound; enjoyed eachother; and played around.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ababor Suites

Save Saved
You added Ababor Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ababor Suites
Carr 200 km 2.1 | Playa Bastimento, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
“Settled in; unwound; enjoyed eachother; and played around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Ababor Suites is 200 ft from a quiet sandy beach with an unobstructed view of the Carribean [not counting palm trees] whose only visitors are wild horses and beachcombers.
Rent a car [from Ababor] to get everywhere - many many beaches, restaurants, grocery markets, and the wilds of Vieques. Stay at Ababor and be away- have a car and be in everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Walk out the door and you're on the beach. You can barbecue in the seaside gazebo and watch the wild horses make their morning visit. We loved falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean. Wanda has thought of everything including free kayaks, coolers, beach chairs--even hammocks! Our suite (Navio) was well-equipped, very clean and comfortable. Vieques is not the place to go for nightlife or gourmet dining, but the beaches are the best we've ever visited. Ababor suites allows you to create your own vacation in paradise. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Perfect place to stay with family, especially if you are looking for peace and quiet. Suite was about 25 steps from the ocean, and it was very clean! Definitely not resort-like, which was perfect! If you plan to stay here, rent a car in advance, and bring some spare towels, both bath and beach. You only get one set for the whole week, and there are no beach towels, which it does say on their website. Wanda, the manager/owner, lives above and she is wonderful! We are planning to go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoyt Lakes, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Ababor Suites on Vieques Island in December, 2010. We took a cab (about $8) from the ferry ($1 if you're 60 or over) and arrived at the Inn at about 11:30 am. Wanda met us and gave us information and told us to call anytime if we had questions. Our rooms were large and comfortable with a dining area, living room area, separate bedrom and bathroom and best of all - a beautiful view of the ocean! We sat on the porch or the beach and enjoyed the view and the sound of the waves. We rented a Jeep from Wanda and drove around the island for 3 days looking at and enjoying all the beaches. We took a kayak trip into a mangrove "swamp" and into the bio-bay, what a treat! We were sad to leave and would definately like to go back some day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010 via mobile

Beautifull location, cordial treatment by Wanda. A place for disconnect of everything and pass a good time.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison wi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I had never been to Puerto Rico before. We found Ababor Suites after some internet surfing and couldn't have found a better place. Wanda is wonderful. The property is unbelievable. We cannot say enough about our stay there. We are looking forward to visiting again for some relaxation. It was hard to leave.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Ababor Suites is a very clean and family oriented hotel. Vieques is a great place to visit beautiful beaches and very joyful people. Good restaurants and a lot of beaches with snorkelling, waves for surfing and clear waters, awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ababor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ababor Suites

Address: Carr 200 km 2.1 | Playa Bastimento, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites are a retreat into your Caribbean beachfront escape. Your quiet beach exploration vacation is waiting for you at Bastimento Beach. Listen to the waves or the sounds of the palm or bamboo trees swaying with the wind. Rest on the hammock on your private balcony or in the gazebo. Watch the waves or the local fishing boats go by. Observe the wild horses pass by. Unwind on your beach chair while the tropical waters bathe your feet. Explore in the provided kayaks or floating boards. At night, enjoy watching as many stars as you have probably never seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ababor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ababor Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ababor Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.