We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self Catering Unit with Ocean views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ababor Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ababor Suites to your Saves list
Ababor Suites
Carr 200 km 2.1 | Playa Bastimento, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
columbus
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Self Catering Unit with Ocean views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Ababor Suites in early May and had a relaxing time. We opted for the Media Luna Suite which was perfect for the two of us. Wanda, the owner was prompt in responding to my many questions via e-mail ranging from best way to get to Vieques to renting a Jeep and so forth. Check in consisted of seeing Wanda in the yard and explaining the Suite was open and waiting for us. Keys to the suite and Jeep were on the kitchen table. She provided directions to the grocer in Isabel and told us to drive SLOW and enjoy our time on Vieques. If we needed anything call her cell phone.
The unit was comfortable with a separate bedroom and bathroom from the living / dining area. The bathroom was a little small but servicable. Make sure the shower curtain meets the tile otherwise the water runs onto the tile floor making it slippery. You do need to purchase additional rolls of toilet paper if staying more than a couple of days, but shampoo and bar soap is provided. The bedroom was comfy with the air conditioning and a decent size closet. The hammock, cooler, and beach chairs were stored here and still had plenty of room for additional items or luggage. The living area was small with only a futon to sit upon, however, we spent much of our time on the patio overlooking the grassy area and the ocean just beyond. The kitchen had a table with 4 chairs (tight), a refrigerator, stove (matches on counter), coffee pot, toaster, toaster oven, blender and place settings for 4. There were some spices left from previous guests available for use. There was only 1 dish towel and dish cloth for the kitchen so by weeks' end they were beginning to smell.
The first night was the only night we heard traffic. We could hear the clip-clop of the horses trapsing up and down the road, but didn't bother our sleep.
The wide beach at the edge of Ababor Suites is nice and has some shade, and a walk in either direction you can find beach glass. With footwear, you can walk as far as you like. There is a little barrier reef which kept the water close to the shore very calm and clear. During the week, the beach is empty, but becomes a locals' beach on the week-end as they use the access road between the Ababors' property edge and the beach. While we were there, the 2 garbage cans did overflow, but within a day or so, they were emptied.
The property is quiet and at the far end of the island which is what we were looking for, however, you are only about 5 minutes from Isabel where you can enjoy dining and shopping.
We would definitely consider staying here again if we make it back to Vieques.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Okay This is a hard review to write. I did enjoy staying here. very nice grounds nice beach to walk on and collect sea glass. The beach in front of the units has public road access between units and beach. On the weekend it can get loud with cars and music ( was not to bad) there is 2 garbage cans overflowing with trash a bit unsightly. We stayed in the sun bay suite. very roomy with a nice porch. We stayed one week and at 170 dollars plus tax was not cheap. When i read the rules i was shocked to see that with this price you only get one roll of toilet paper!!! i have never ever stayed in a place that you have to provide that. The stove was gas and there was no matches to light it (we are not smokers) I love to cook and found it stocked with the basis except no knives just one old small steak knife in drawer. No washcloths provided in bathroom.I never did see Wanda the week i was there, i would think that she would come and introduce herself. I did have to call her as the gas tank for stove ran out. The beach chairs provided were the old style tube chairs with vinyl. There were rusted in fact one of them broke but my husband tied it together. The tables and chairs on deck and kitchen were very cheap and uncomfortable. bedspread had a noticeable stain on it. beds not comfortable. I have reviewed many places and i do not usually complain, but because of the cost I feel the management or owners need to put a bit of money in it and buy suitable furniture, beds and for gods sake provide toilet paper!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We recommend Ababor Suites highly as the very best place to stay if you value ocean front living on a Caribbean holiday. It has more than a great view. Your bungalow is just steps away from a wonderful beach. Not only that, if there are two other people there, that’s crowded! Frequently we were the only people on the beach. The bungalows, from which you can hear the waves breaking, are comfortable, clean and painted the most wonderful colors. They are quiet and private, have cable tv and kitchens if you choose to eat in. The owner is helpful, friendly and lives on the premises, a good thing in our opinion. We have stayed twice and believe Ababor Suites are a good choice.

Room Tip: Caracas suite, where we stayed is very close to ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We would definitely re-book at Ababor suites in the future. You can walk out the front door and be on the beach - and a rock breakwater several feet out from shore allows this beach to be calm - a rarity on the north side of Vieques. On weekdays you often have the beach to yourselves. Lots of fun snorkeling. The owner, Wanda, is very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in Caracas suite 2 nights, and Media Luna 4 nights. Both are clean, have comfy beds, good wi-fi and all the kitchen amenities, kayaks and beach chairs. (No beach towels provided, but you may find the renters before you left one behind.) Trucks passing by on the road in the morning can be a bit noisy, but not terrible. No roosters though!
The furnishings in Caracas are a bit Spartan but adequate. Media Luna is furnished nicer, and being on the upper level, has a great view of the ocean and a nice wrap-around porch with table and chairs for outdoor meals. Very romantic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is our second (and not last) trip to Vieques just after Christmas, and the first time we stayed here, close to our last location. We chose it for the view, and rightly so: it is on the north side of the island, the windward/sea side, but on a long, almost deserted beach which is supurb for beachcombing. There is a solid barrier reef in front,with crashing waves beyond, but inside the barrier there is a lagoon out front, and Wanda, the proprietor, has kayaks for guests to paddle in it, in addition to this being an easy snorkeling site. This is mostly residential area, with few tourists, near the very local town of Isabella Segunda, the town where there are groceries and other necessities, not the more touristed town of Esperanza, a twenty minute drive across the island. People still ride their horses bareback, roosters still crow and tree frogs still chirp here.
It is enormously relaxing, whether in the apartment itself, on a patio or porch, or under a gazebo with the hammock each apartment has as an offering. There is shade over much of the beach, a rarity on Vieques beaches. Untethered horses still visit this beach and play in the water, truly a treat to watch. The apartments are very good value for the money, clean and well planned, and Wanda has two jeeps that can be reserved in advance, making it all so easy to just arrive and be good to go. There are good restaurants in both of the towns, or you can cook a simple meal in, with access to a barbeque out by the gazebos. Simple is a good word, used in a good sense, to summarize what our vacation felt like, and Wanda works to make it so, living on site and always accessible by phone. We can't remember a vacation that felt so deeply relaxing. We also felt that we were partaking of the best of Latin culture, unadulterated by tourism at this location on the island. After the frenzy of the holidays, this was as good of an antidote as any we could imagine. If you want an affordable spot that is on a beautiful gardened property, calm, and well-tended, at a gorgeous location on the sea, this is your place.

Room Tip: We would strongly advise that couples choose Media Luna, on the second floor, for its view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed a week here for our honeymoon just recently. We love everything about it!! The prices are more than reasonable, especially considering the inflated rates at the W hotel where you would also be smothered by tons of other tourists. We preferred the more secluded and local feel...you get that here. You get paradise privacy while only being 10-15 minutes from a local town that doesn't reek of tourism.

Wanda is a big help by the way. Neither my wife or I can speak Spanish very well and we got into our room too late to want to frequent the market. So we decided to order in some food...not many places do this, however, and the one that did (Pizza) couldn't speak much English. Lol, so Wanda offered to order everything for us over the phone so we were able to eat!! Just awesome, a real big deal when you're starving and don't have any food. The pizza was awesome by the way....$27 (with tip) got us a Lg 2-topping + 1.75L soda, it lasted 3 days!!

The grounds are absolutely stunning...even one of our cab drivers remarked with a "wow" when she pulled into the grounds. The semi-private beach is amazing!! While anyone can technically enjoy this playa, most locals only frequent it on Sunday or from their car (scenic) off a small road that runs the edge of the grounds.

We also rented one of Wanda's Jeeps to check out the Biobay, Wildlife Refuge, a 375 year old tree, the bunkers, etc. and couldn't have been more please. We only wanted a vehicle for one day so this option was best for us (~$50 for the day). Just remember that there are only 2 gas stations on the island, and they close at 5 pm...so don't put off refueling.

One poster commented on the noise in the morning, and while he/she is not incorrect, it proved to be not as big of a deal for us. We stayed in the Media Luna, which is the upper suite that is closer to the road of the two two-tiered residences. On the first morning, yes we could here the large commercial trucks go by, and yes it was loud. But really, we were getting up early anyway (Sun has been up)...and the noise only lasted 20 minutes (in spurts) anyway, so if you chose to go back to sleep it was pretty easily done.

Again, nothing really negative to say about this place (the free kayaks were a bonus as well!)....when we return to this paradise we will most definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raritan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We all had an amazing time at the Ababor Suites. Rooms were clean and updated only regret was we could not have stayed longer. We also stayed at the Ritz Carlton in San Juan during our vacation and everyone in my family including me wished we would have stayed longer in Vieques with Wanda instead of the Ritz. You wont be disappointed. Beautiful suites, wild horses, use of kayaks and relaxation with a Hammock on the pourch. I only hope it stays a hidden treasure because we are already planning our trip back next year. Take care and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ababor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ababor Suites

Address: Carr 200 km 2.1 | Playa Bastimento, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites are a retreat into your Caribbean beachfront escape. Your quiet beach exploration vacation is waiting for you at Bastimento Beach. Listen to the waves or the sounds of the palm or bamboo trees swaying with the wind. Rest on the hammock on your private balcony or in the gazebo. Watch the waves or the local fishing boats go by. Observe the wild horses pass by. Unwind on your beach chair while the tropical waters bathe your feet. Explore in the provided kayaks or floating boards. At night, enjoy watching as many stars as you have probably never seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ababor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ababor Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ababor Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.