We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Vieques” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bravo Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bravo Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bravo Beach Hotel
North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time to Vieques”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hosts were great! Everything you need and want without the unnecessary fluff. Nice quiet location on the water with the sound of the waves to drift you off to sleep. Local, fresh breakfast (included!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    34
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place was really nice and we enjoyed our time here. Location is perfect, the waves were right outside our window:) Breakfast was included and the owners were very helpful with advice both before we arrived and after. I would stay here again for sure! It was also nice and quiet here- and very clean! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and spent 4 days at BBH. It was a great experience. The rooms are newly renovated so they are clean and fresh. The view from the ocean side pool is just beautiful. The owners are super friendly and give excellent recommendations for activities, food and leisure activities. I would definitely visit again! The hotel is in a quiet area just a short walk to restaurants. No noisy bars or construction nearby. It was pure relaxation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

BBH was awesome and the hospitality showed by Carl & Janna was great. We stayed in the La Luna suite and it was perfect. Being in the second story with huge beach-side windows made for amazing views and there is nothing better than falling asleep to the crashing of the waves. The private roof-top terrace was our favorite place to eat breakfast. And speaking of breakfast, the continental breakfast was fantastic. From fresh fruit and bread, all the way down to honey for your tea. I can't think of a single complaint or issue we had. We'd definitely stay here again if we make our way back to Vieques!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent 11 days around Christmas with Janna and Carl at the Bravo Beach Hotel. It was such a great trip and we can't thank them enough. They both go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your time on the island with great recommendations and personal service. All of their recommendations were perfect. They totally understood what we were looking for on our relaxing break.

The hotel itself is super charming. The views are amazing the rooms are comfortable. We spent a week in the casita with friends and thought it was perfect. It is very large and the views are amazing. The beds are comfortable and the towels were plentiful. Any time we needed something, they were happy to help. At the end of our trip, we moved upstairs to the La Luna suite for the two of us. We were so happy up there and will definitely stay there on our return trip. The room is very comfortable and has a huge terrace, but the best part is that you feel like you are floating on the water. When you lie in bed, you look out the huge new windows and see nothing but water. We loved it.

Since we were there over the Christmas holidays, we heard the hotel was full and the island crowded. That may have been true, but were always able to be alone at one of the two great pools (with the oceanside pool being my favorite). And the restaurants were crowded, but there was always room for a couple more. The amazing thing was that we could always find private spots at the beaches. We spent a lot of time at Blue Beach and loved it. The water was warm and the sun was bright. Even when we had rain, it was quick and the sun returned immediately.

Thanks, Carl and Janna, we can't wait to return! Tom.

Room Tip: Go for the Luna Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JannaMarie26, Owner at Bravo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hi Tom!

Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of our place. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time.

It was so much fun getting to know your group during your stay and we cannot wait for you to come back!

Take care and see you soon!

Janna & Carl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked the 2 bedroom/2bath villa for me and my Mom on my birthday weekend. The property was well maintained and the villa was spacious, clean, airy and felt like a "home away from home." Plenty of room for the two of us, and definitely a good choice for a family or more than two travelers. The private patio and courtyard fronts Bravo Beach which is scenic, but the beach very narrow, so probably best to travel to other beaches rather than lounge on the beach in front of the hotel. Carl and Janna are friendly and helpful. Their dog Millie keeps an eye out for the guests. Continental breakfast well stocked with cereals, breads, fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs (I appreciate the inclusion of protein), juice and even various milks (dairy, soy, etc.) Very short walk to Isabel Segunda, and Carl is very knowledgeable about good vs. not so good places to eat. Stayed for 4 days/3 nights and had a very relaxing vacation. Beyond an initial island tour our first day where we say the beautiful beaches and major landmarks of the island, we chose to stay at the Villa for the remainder of our stay, and walk into Isabel for groceries and some local food as the Villa comes with a kitchen completely stocked with dishes, silverware, glasses, pots/pans, fridge, microwave, toaster oven, etc. I enjoyed the garden pool each day to do my arthritis water exercises. The pool is not heated, but the water temp is very comfortable. Pool depth is about five feet throughout, so kids would need to be supervised (although I was the only one using the pool each afternoon around 3:30 PM). A totally different vibe (relaxed, very local feel) versus what I would imagine if one were to stay say at the W Hotel in Esperanza. I love Starwood properties, but I'm very glad I chose to stay at the Bravo Beach Hotel--made for a very special birthday treat and quality time with my Mom with lots of "me" time to relax and chill in front of the beautiful ocean facing mainland Puerto Rico and Culebra.

Room Tip: Ocean front for sure, the Villa is top-notch if you need the extra space or want to splurge. Book e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Bravo Beach for the first two nights of our PR trip.

After many hours of traveling, we were exhausted and so appreciative that they let us check in an hour early. We arrived, were given the tour of the hotel, and settled into our Ocean View room. I couldn't have asked for more. We napped with the balcony doors open... the breeze and the sound of the ocean were incredibly therapeutic. That evening, we walked around and grabbed dinner at a new-ish restaurant the owners recommended.

The next day, we enjoyed breakfast (fresh breads, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, OJ, coffee) then rented a car. The hotel provides beach umbrellas, chairs, snorkeling gear and boogie boards on a first come, first served basis but it looked like there were plenty to go around.

The good:
-The owners are very knowledgable about restaurants, things to do, tour groups, etc so feel free to ask for advice!
-If you think you'll be spending any time in your room relaxing, the Ocean View rooms are definitely worth the extra money.
-The location is very convenient. We rented a car to see the beaches and bio bay, but everything else (food and ferry) was within walking distance.

The so-so:
-The hotel is small, peaceful and well-maintained, but it's not the W (it's also 1/4 the price). The rooms are very comfortable and clean but could use an interior designer's skills.
-The wireless is slow and doesn't reach every room, but working by the pool isn't so bad :)

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bravo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bravo Beach Hotel

Address: North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bravo Beach Hotel is an 18 unit ocean front hotel consisting of 2 properties - the main hotel and Casa Roja (located just across the street). All guests have the same amenities and 24 hour access to the main hotel property. We are located on the Atlantic coast of Vieques, five minutes from the town of Isabel Segunda.Amenities include daily continental breakfast, wifi, satellite tv and free use of beach towels, chairs and coolers to take with you while you explore the island. Please note that while we are a coastal property, we do not have a swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Bravo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bravo Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bravo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.