We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Stay Close to the Ferry Dock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bravo Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bravo Beach Hotel
North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great place to Stay Close to the Ferry Dock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for a short stay and the place is very nice. Rooms are lovely as are the pools. It really is a very easy walk from the ferry dock although mostly uphill. You will want to rent a jeep on the island if you plan to stay more than a day or two. Isabelle, which is nearby, is a great little town with just about everything you could want. Go to the El Sombrero Viejo behind the post office to have a drink, pick up a bottle of spirits and chat up the locals. Also, near the ferry dock try Al's Mar Azul for some cold drinks and tasty food. They mainly have bar food but really good. We tried the cheese steak, chicken sandwich and tacos and all was quite good. Definitely do the Bio Bay tour, especially on a clear moonless night if possible. For a really good meal, try Bili in Esparanza for some killer fish.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    33
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
84
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Bravo over Thanksgiving weekend 2012. While there was a little remodeling work going on, overall the property was in excellent condition! The amenities at the Bravo are first rate as well. There are two pools, one overlooking the ocean and one in the courtyard. I actually preferred the courtyard pool as it was a little warmer.

We rented the Villa which I highly recommend as it is very spacious and you have tons of privacy plus private access to the little beach.

The location of the Bravo is also a plus. It is a short five or six minute walk to the ferry dock and lots of great restaurants and pubs.

The new owners, Carl and Janna are very helpful and gave us lots of great tips of places to eat and things to go do and see. We will be back!

Room Tip: Pick an ocean front room. The views to the main island of Puerto Rico are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our one year anniversary and it didn't disappoint. This is the kind of local spot you really feel good about supporting. As we were there, the grounds were under construction because more rooms are being added but none of that interfered with our stay. Both swimming pools were clean and nicely kept, and the view and sound of the ocean was wonderful to wake up to in the morning. We stayed in the honeymoon sweet upstairs, so we had a little more privacy which was nice. The bed was super comfortable and there was never a shortage of towels. The owners were a very sweet couple who didn't hesitate to help us with anything that we needed. After hours the gates lock so you're given a code for the doors so you can come and go. The owners have an adorable little dog running around who serves as a security guard :) we just had to be careful to make sure he didn't follow us out of the gate.

The ONLY downside I found, (not the owners fault) is that the beach is not safe for swimming. Don't let this beach give you a bad impression of Vieques though. The beaches on the island are splendid but this one is mostly rock and there's plenty debris from town floating around in there. Like I said, it's nobody's fault . . . It's just the location.

Overall, this place was wonderful and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The owners are working very hard to make the grounds bigger and more accommodating and I'm anxious to see how it can get better than it already is.

For a clean, safe mom and pop feel I recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has awesome owners and the cutest dog! I had the pleasure to stay here with my husband and I must say we had a fantastic time. We had a room facing there infinity pool and the beach. The room was clean, big and had a balcony. The breakfast is very simple, but good enough to get your day started. The best part was that every room had there own beach towels, chairs and coolers that you could use at no additional cost. Since we rented a car while in Vieques (which I do recommend) it was so comfortable to have our beach chairs and cooler with us every time we discovered a new beach in this lovely island.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family of six stayed at the Bravo Beach Hotel for three short days. After three days we fell in love with the island and especially the hotel. Carl, Jana, and Milly were extraordinary hosts. These are very good people who have created an amazing, exotic escape. Because of our large group we rented the casita. The casita at the Bravo Beach Hotel is our new family favorite. We could have stayed there forever. The casita is beautiful and very comfortable. The hotel is impeccably clean and well appointed. There is a private garden and second pool right outside the casita door which makes it feels like you have your own secret garden. The casita also has direct access to the beach. Make no mistake, this is not a sales pitch...the hotel is literally ON THE BEACH. The ocean is the back yard. Jana gave us the very best advice on where to eat and which beaches to visit. Her recommendations fit our needs perfectly. Prior to our vacation I spent hours trying to choose the very best hotel for our family vacation--I have no doubt we found the very best. Carl, Jana, and Milly...thank you for making our visit to Vieques one of our happiest family vacations we've ever had.

Room Tip: Choose the Casita. AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city, ut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on Veiques and immediately realized that taxis don't hang around the airport like on normal islands. We called Carl at Bravo Beach and he was helpful. We called a local car rental place who ran down to the airport and picked us up in our wheels for the week.

Bravo was a bit hard to find at first but it was the crazy island map that got us lost. The property is a nicely laid out secluded set of buildings with a charming garden courtyard between the sleeping quarters. The beds were quite comfortable and clean. The towels were like staying at the Ritz, big and fluffy, not normal for the islands.

Carl and Janna have made a very welcoming place to visit. Fresh fruit and coffee each morning. Plenty of hot water and very clean facilities! Bravo to Bravo Beach Resort! A thumbs up for this little island oasis.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Bravo Beach for a week earlier in July, and LOVED it!! The owner, Carl, gave us a map and some tips on where to eat and what beaches to see, etc upon our arrival. Chairs, towels, and cooler are provided as stated on their site. The breakfast is ceral, fruit, toast with a variety of jellies, and coffee. It was plenty to keep my husband and I full until lunch. Carl and his wife make you feel as though you are "right at home!" I highly recommend the ocean front room! We left the door open and listened to the ocean as much as possible. The view from the infinity pool is fantastic, but the garden pool is quiet and peaceful. The landscape is beautiful. You are a short walk away from fantastic food. We enjoyed El Yate (the grouper is YUM!) and the Azul bar has great lunch and dinner -the best sliders I've ever eaten. We rented a car and found it enough to visit plenty of beaches, but there were some that truly do require a 4WD. Vieques was a fantastic vacation, def made better by staying at Bravo Beach!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bravo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bravo Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Bravo Beach
Address: North Shore Rd, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bravo Beach Hotel is an 18 unit ocean front hotel consisting of 2 properties - the main hotel and Casa Roja (located just across the street). All guests have the same amenities and 24 hour access to the main hotel property. We are located on the Atlantic coast of Vieques, five minutes from the town of Isabel Segunda.Amenities include daily continental breakfast, wifi, satellite tv and free use of beach towels, chairs and coolers to take with you while you explore the island. Please note that while we are a coastal property, we do not have a swimming beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bravo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bravo Beach Hotel to your Saves list