We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They got it right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Zafra

La Zafra
59 Calle Benitez Guzman, Puerto Rico
787-644-9325
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
Restaurant details
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“They got it right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you come to Puerto Rico you deserve to try good home made puertorrican food... Great spot, good atmosphere. Try the conch in garlic butter with manposteao and tostones delicious

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    12
    6
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a tasty dinner starting with fried calamari for all to share, then on to delicious main courses and a great flan for dessert. Seated outside in a pleasant patio setting, gentle winds blowing, beautiful tall palm trees wrapped in a colorful light, fun rhythmic music playing -- we loved our dinner, the attentiveness of the owner, the food and setting are great. A favorite spot in Isabel Segunda, on our favorite island, Vieques!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“delicious food in a charming spot, with pleasingly shaggy service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Everything we ate was delicious (esp. the chimichurri), the staff were delightful. I hope the emptiness wasn't a bad sign because I really really like this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Delicious Place ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Three of us (one of which is a pure blood Puerto Rican) had dinner with a couple of appetizers and dessert.

Each and every bite was delicious. We ordered shrimp creole, pork chops and ceviche. The rice n beans were spot on and don't miss out on the mash roots.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Inviting. Good homemade food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Recently re-opened! A couple minutes' walk from the port, this genuine Puerto Rican food was delicious. The local beer, Medalla, was only $2! We ordered the Red Snapper as well as the Chicken with creole sauce. Both were down-to-earth, tasty dishes with simple ingredients. Afterwards we ate the flan dessert which was refreshing. The owner and her son(our waiter) were delightful and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Zafra also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Zafra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Zafra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.