We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bbq” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Box

Tin Box
Corner of Route 201 & 996, Puerto Rico
787-741-7700
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Raw Bar and Smokehouse in a tree house setting, overlooking organic gardens. Open Tuesday-Saturday, 2 PM - til 10 PM, HAPPY HOUR $2 oysters 4-6 pm, SUNDAY BRUNCH 11 AM-3 PM , lobster benedict, soft-shell crab, build your own bloody. Closed Monday.
twinsburg, ohio
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“good bbq”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

For Island eating this one was pretty good. This is the only place on the island to get BBQ- make a reservation and try to hit happy hour. The cornbread was pretty bad and our server was crabby. My husband"s pulled pork was just ok- the ribs were decent. One highlight was the oysters

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    59
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Poor BBQ but nice atmosphere and other food decent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Was there end of March 2014 with my wife. Not terribly picky eaters but was surprised how bad the full rack of bbq ribs was ... they were charred / tasted burnt. I've had tons of ribs and these were the worst. My wife had a ribeye and it was good. They also served a grilled sweet potato which was quite good. I also had a side of corn bread which was bleh.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place for drinks and good food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Awesome bar, with the only tap beer in the island!!!! Great comfort food with a couple of twists... Friendly personnel...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Feels like you're in the jungle. Our waitress Trish was awesome and the fresh oysters from N.E. Served up by Raega were fantastic AAAA+++++

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“HAPPY HOUR: LOVE THEIR FRESH $2 OYSTERS!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Sitting high above the organic gardens, hearing their chickens & roosters in this "open - air" restaurant, you feel like you ARE in a rainforest! ( See photo ) We went for "Happy Hour" & their $2 fresh oysters & large shrimp & pina coladas! ( See photo ) FUN!! If you are an oyster lover, these oysters were soooo DELICIOUSLY fresh!!!! Added some really large $2 shrimp to appetizer. WE"RE ON VACATION! Plus, hard to find fresh oysters living in SW Colorado!!
BE SURE to check times & days restaurant is open! We first went on a closed night, then checked for their days & hours of operation & returned. Unique dining experience - not many restaurants like this one! Try Tin Box for good food & a fun dining experience!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Box also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Tin Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.