We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Box

Tin Box
Corner of Route 201 & 996, Puerto Rico
787-741-7700
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Raw Bar and Smokehouse in a tree house setting, overlooking organic gardens. Open Tuesday-Saturday, 2 PM - til 10 PM, HAPPY HOUR $2 oysters 4-6 pm, SUNDAY BRUNCH 11 AM-3 PM , lobster benedict, soft-shell crab, build your own bloody. Closed Monday.
West New York, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great service, loved our waitress. Oysters were excellent and the buffalo shrimp were the best I've had. Don't miss the catfish tacos and enjoy the setting...nothing else like it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    59
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Must Eat Here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had dinner here last June, the spot came highly recommended to us by couples we met on the bio-luminscent pay tour, and we were not disappointed. We ate there with our 5 yrs old son (he's well enough behaved, and we were not made to feel out of place or unwelcome, so it is family friendly.) Setting was super fun - tree house feel. Great concept. (don't always need ocean front dining on an island.) Our son actually really loved the atmosphere. Food was fantastic, service was very friendly, drinks were great. Also a little tough to find, just like Next Course, but again, we had located it during the day and so knew where we were going by the time dinner rolled around. We did not have reservations, but were there most likely during the off season and on a week night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bad@sssssss everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Garden to table. Bacon. Watermelon margaritas. Lots of them. Great company, great service. Our server, Mary, was extremely personable. We stayed in contact throughout the trip for local advice. Enough said. Munki LOVE! Oh, and brunch! Forget it. Amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Awesome setting. Food ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fabulous jungle like setting -- you feel like you are eating in a tree house. Nice concept and unique atmosphere. Thought the cornbread was way overrated. Dense, crumbly and overly sweet. Tasted more like dessert. Salad was super fresh tasting, lightly and expertly dressed with vinaigrette and had local cheese crumbles. BBQ was decent. A bit dry. I liked the batata salad which was on the sweet side...interesting flavors. My fellow diners didn't care for it. Flourless chocolate cake for dessert was tasty although the whipped cream was curdled from the heat.

Service was efficient. Is part of the Duffy's group of restaurants in Vieques that seem geared towards American tourists. Am still looking for authentic PR cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D, Owner at Tin Box, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I'm glad to hear your group enjoyed TIN BOX fabulous jungle like setting, and you can appreciate our concept and unique atmosphere as well as interesting flavors and efficient service. I'm sorry your were expecting local food but your menu/event details were selected by your host. We do offer complete local catering options including Pig Roasts and Bomba Drummers if you choose. Your group enjoyed 3 hours of full open bar and were even happily served fresh squeezed Watermelon Martinis, Draft Beer, and shelf liquors, that were above and beyond our arrangement with your host/groom.Your host was more than grateful with our financial arrangement and I'm sorry you did not think your cost of $0.00 was worth it. Your host would not be pleased to hear you did not appreciate his graciousness inviting you to join him on our beautiful island and sponsoring your meals and accommodations. If your were bold enough to ask your host how much he spent on your dinner, maybe then you could appreciate your experience at the TIN BOX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Ribs !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great Ribs and Oysters I never expected to find BBQ this good on Vieques

Friendly staff good service

Very Well done

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin Box also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Tin Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Box, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.