We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big thumbs Up!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coqui Fire Cafe

Coqui Fire Cafe
421 Calle Carlos Lebrum, 00765, Puerto Rico
(787) 741-0401
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Coqui Fire Cafe is located two blocks from Blackbeards on Calle Carlos Lebrum. We are open Mon-Fri 5-9 pm. We serve great Authentic Mexican Food with a Caribbean flare. We have a very comfortable and family friendly place with tables available for a romantic dinner.....
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Big thumbs Up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As previously stated, BYOB a plus. We were lucky to snag a table for 3 last minute (thank you!)..even luckier to be next to the kitchen and watch the chef in action. There is so much dedication and love for food creation in this place. Our meals were all excellent…and I am still dreaming of that coconut mole slathered all over the blackened shrimp. Also the cheesecake is a must---the passionfruit flavor adds a nice complement to the mesquite-habanero crust. Prices are very reasonable too for the quality of food that you get. This is the place to go to for dinner in the sleepy town of Isabel II.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    28
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers Island, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New local find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We went on the recommendation of a friend and were not disappointed. Local food reasonably priced. Large portions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BYOB and fire up your taste buds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Bring your own (alcoholic) beverage and enjoy some wonderful cuban/mexican food. We tried four unique and well spiced dinners. Everything was well prepared and had wonderful flavor. We enjoyed the simple street side atmosphere as well. I do wish the serving size was a little bigger for the price however. Food was excellent with no doubt. Also, they run low on certain items if you get there later in the evening, so get there early; and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great meal, atmosphere so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Okay, so you're in Vieques to relax and let go. I get it, and so does Coqui Fire. The restaurant looks like a large cinder block garage that someone has painted yellow, and there's a good reason, because that is what I think it is. The food, however is quite good. The best thing, however, is their homemade hot sauces: so DAMNED good!

We had a reservation, but there was only room for us to eat at the "bar" so we did. (When you're in Isabella, you don't get all up into yourself when it comes to eating, believe me. You're lucky to get what you can.) They didn't have a liquor licence yet since it was a new restaurant (which they forgot to mention over the phone) so the bar just served soft drinks. So what? I was there for food not to drink.

The food was good. I ordered the crab cake salad as my appetizer and the pork shoulder as my main. The crab cake salad was a crab cake on a romaine lettuce leaf. It was good, but the presentation needs work. Just because it is on a lettuce leaf doesn't mean it's a salad.

The pork shoulder was much better. Again, it is simple food, but it was delicious, just the same.

The food isn't fancy, but it is quite tasty. Would I go again? Yes, I would, provided that I can pick up some of their hot sauces to take home.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Cuban-Mexican with local twists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

It's all about the food - complex seasonings, more than just tex-mex. Some dishes have a definite Cuban flavor and feel. Downtown Isabel II location with the attendant noise and hustle. Early garage sale decor. Sit at the bar! Great fun and interesting food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coqui Fire Cafe also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Coqui Fire Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coqui Fire Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.