We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Amistad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Amistad
Save
You added Casa de Amistad to your Saves list
27 Calle Benitez Castano, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Paul, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The owners couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, and we were so sad that we were only able to stay here one night because of it. The property is very nice and extremely secure. It was really convenient that they had a kitchen and and all sorts of beach stuff available to the guests. It's also really convenient that it's about two blocks from the ferry dock. I would stay here again in a heart beat! MAKE SURE to go to Al's Azul Bar just down the street!--it's a great place to hang!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    30
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
163
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Clean, cute, and the two hosts are welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. They also have beach chairs and noodles that are free to borrow for the beach, plus snorkel gear for rent (I brought my own so didn't need to, but my travel buddy rented). The kitchen is clean and well-equipped. The garden is exquisitely manicured with interesting tropical plants and a cute little pool to take a dip.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The guesthouse is a quick 2 block walk from the ferry stop. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and given a little tour of the place. The pool is perfect and the back a suprising paradise. The rooms were tidy with comfortable beds and all felt very secure. Although we rented a car, we did spend some evenings walking around town down to have a drink and watch the sunset (which is possible in Isabela Segunda in the Summer). We just left yesterday and I'm already scheming to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We have been to Vieques a number of times and each time stayed at Casa de Amistad. The owners are wonderful people who know the island well and can offer advice on just about anything you want to know. The guest house has only seven guest rooms and is a very congenial, laid back environment with a great little pool and garden in the back and with kitchen access for breakfast or making lunches for the beaches. If you're looking to essentially go barefoot all day long in T shirt and swimsuit in a nice, very clean, affordable and private establishment... this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have considered renting a small house for our 10 day vacation on Vieques, but Owen and David make life so easy at Casa de Amistad.
The rooms are neat and clean, coffee is made when we get up in the morning and its really conveniently located. (It really is nice not having to drive for dinner or drinks in the evening) Because of this, we just keep coming back.
We stayed in room 7 this year which is the downstairs room. It was nice. There is now a door on the bathroom instead of beads, which was mentioned on a previous review. Being downstairs and around front separates you from the other guests which makes it a little more quiet too.
We still love Casa de Amistad!

Room Tip: Room 7 has separate street entry and no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Only spent one night, but loved our stay. Booked last minute, got a perfect room for us four. It was the biggest room lucky that it was available. Sitting room and private bath. Thanks again for your hospitality, definitely will come again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Casa De Amistad had come highly recommended to us by 2 separate people. We arrived around 10 AM and our room was ready. David was very friendly and helpful during check in.

We had booked last minute and the only room left was one where the bathroom was down the hall from the room. The bathroom was private (not shared with any other guests). We had our own key to access it and it was immaculately clean. There is no window in the bathroom, but there was a small fan to make sure that air circulated.

Our guest room was a decent size and spartan yet tastefully decorated. AC/ceiling fan worked fine. We are early risers and have no noise complaints. Communal kitchen was very clean and well equipped.

Best part about the place was the mini pool -- perfect for a quick dip or lounging. Even though the guesthouse was full -- we rarely saw other guests and never felt like we were competing for any shared space.

David and Owen are very normal AND lovely people -- friendly, helpful, laid back and great hosts. They even offered to drop us at the airport on the last day and wouldn't take money for the extra beach towel we used.

We took advantage of the free wireless, beach chairs, coolers and ice packs -- no complaints what-so-ever about quality. Now that we know the lay of the land, we'd probably rent a house for our next visit, but wouldn't hesitate recommending this guesthouse to others. One tip would be to pay more and get a room with ensuite bathroom. Just make sure you book early.

Right down the street is a very delicious cafe called Mamasonga. Definitely check it out!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Amistad

Address: 27 Calle Benitez Castano, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Amistad is a cozy seven room guesthouse located in the heart of Isabel Segunda on the Island of Vieques, Puerto Rico. Close to the ferry, restaurants, bars, museums and the town plaza. A/C, pool, courtyard garden, common kitchen are just some of the amenities. Hope to see you soon... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Amistad Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Amistad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.