We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Coffee Lounge

Roy's Coffee Lounge
C. Antonio G. Mellado, Puerto Rico
787-741-0685
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews, we worried it would be too pricey. Not sure what people are complaining about, it wasn't too bad & I'm pretty frugal. Their rum punch is even reasonably priced. Fun place to visit too, we'll go back before the trip is over

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    10
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Too Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Cute place, good service, good food, loved the atmosphere. Coffee was amazing. However, it was very expensive. I had 2 adults and 3 kids in our group - we had a very simple breakfast - couple sandwiches, couple burritos - choc milk. It cost us over $90 total. Crazy expensive for a walk in breakfast shop.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice stop for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Decent little breakfast place. Great atmosphere. Food was pretty good. The cafe con leche was really tasty and the star of my morning.

Prices were a bit high but no more than expected on an island with only a few places open for breakfast.

I was here a last year and discovered this gem. Morning coffee for me every day on Vieques. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hey, it's the free wifi, man”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The coffee is pretty good. I prefer the cafe con leche, but the regular coffee is ok too. The outdoor seating is reasonably comfortable and there are umbrellas a the tables. Several tv's with the sound off will give you some hint of what is happening back in the real world. Food is, well, not particularly inspired. And the locals will get treated a lot nicer than you will. But you get an hour of free wifi, which is otherwise impossible to find on the island, so kwitcherbeatchin.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch with cats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Went here for lunch one day. Cute place. Nice patio out back. Three cats were lounging about. They were cute and friendly. We both ordered burgers. The food was pretty good, not amazing. But it was a burger. :)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Coffee Lounge also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Roy's Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Coffee Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.