We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

8 Seat SUV -1 Block to Malecon - Kid/Baby friendly

Saved Save
You added 8 Seat SUV -1 Block to Malecon - Kid/Baby friendly to your Saves list.
View of Pura Vida
View of Pura Vida
View of Pura Vida
Large front porch
Outdoor shower
Pura Vida Floor Plan
All appliances, custom concrete countertop, ice maker
Isla de Vieques
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lrauers
home
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Celebrating 60!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My sister and I decided that we would take a trip to Vieques to celebrate our 60th birthdays. We booked Pura Vida on the recommendation of my daughter who stayed there a couple of years ago. We had Joe, the manager, pick us up at the airport for a quick tour on the way to the house. He is a great guide with tons of suggestions about what to do (and what not to do). We rented the older Jeep from Jeff, which was great for getting down the bumpy roads to the best beaches. We had a minor issue (our fault, I think) with the car and Joe took care of it promptly. The house is very well equipped, plenty of chairs for the beach, cooler, even a beach umbrella that was a necessity for us. It's only a 5 minute walk to the Malecon or to the Green store, so location couldn't be better. The roosters are an issue, but you can mask the noise by turning on the airconditioner in the bedroom, I slept in the master bedroom and I can honestly say the bed was extremely comfortable. I enjoyed being in a "neighborhood" rather than away from the restaurants, bars, activity. The people are extremely friendly, you get to know them to say hello every morning. We also loved the horses, especially those that would come down the street in front of the house every day. The yard is fenced, there's a big covered porch and a nice little gazebo where we hung the hammock. You will be cautioned about petty theft on the island but we never felt unsafe or uncomfortable. I would recommend Pura Vida for it's super location and the ease of having a rental car on site. Also, our deposit was back in my account by the end of the day we left the island. Jeff is great to do business with and Joe will take care of everthing while you're there. It's really paradise.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: having to leave the island and return to the real world
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Erin D
PA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2012
Thank you for the glowing reply, we are so glad you enjoyed your vacation and delighted we could be a part of it. Whenever you wish to return to Vieques, we will be glad to host you again. Thank you again!
Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kim Lally
PA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Virginia Griffith
Pa
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
union dale pa
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2012
Thank you for the review Ann Marie. You are spot on about everything about Vieques and Pura Vida. We could not have said it better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Farawaygi...
Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Read Between the Lines”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We recently rented this property after reading reviews and looking at their website. I wish everyone would be honest, even though at times it hurts. This rental unfortunately has a rooster farm not more than twenty five feet from the back of this cottage. Although the owners try to down play the roosters, don't be fooled as we were, they crow constantly, the AC, glass block windows nor the "sound machine" can drown out the noise. The property manager is very helpful, nice man, but please don't waste your hard earned money on this location. Until the roosters go, I would not stay here and advise others the same, sad but true.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The beaches of Vieques are beautiful, and the Malecon is fun
Liked least: The house rental
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
treetatto...
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Just back from Vieques! Loved staying in this house - it really made our vacation. First week we were with another couple and their 6 year old son. Second week it was just us, our 6 yr old son and 11 month daughter. The house accommodated us all nicely. The street itself is quiet and secluded. The island of Vieques is pretty rustic so don't expect a McDonalds.

Loads of baby items really helped out - high chair, pack n play, sunshade (for beach naps) and spare swim diapers! There were also beach toys, chairs etc. all made it easy to have a great vacation. This house is really well equipped.

Having the big car was perfect since all the best beaches are a few miles away. However, with the house being right in Esperanza, it was an easy walk to the town beach and all the restaurants and shops. We love the local bakery and the Green store. Morales in Isabel is the place to get most groceries but the Green store is pretty good.

The A/C in the bedrooms is a life saver and drowns out the noise of all the local roosters. (Which are all over the island, there's NO escaping them :).

I could go on and on about how much we love being in Esperanza but this is a Pura Vida review.

Jeff and Michelle communicated really well with us and their caretakers, Joe and Mimi, are lovely, friendly and helpful people. We really recommend staying here if you visit Vieques, you won't regret it!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: outdoor shower
Liked least: indoor shower
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2011
Thank you so much for the kind review, we really do appreciate your stay and your time to submit the review. I think your response will help other families staying with children on Vieques. I plan on bringing down more baby items this year for others to enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$150
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
Owner
Jeff Blanding
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing