We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect combo of nature, comfort, and perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oreanda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oreanda
Save
You added Oreanda to your Saves list
Carr 201 Km 6.5, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect combo of nature, comfort, and perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Oreanda for 6 nights recently, and we'd highly recommend it to anyone. The property manager, Tyler, was very helpful and friendly, always available for assistance or advice if and when you needed it (picking us up from the airport, helping with car reservations, booking adventure tours, even dinner recommendations). The property sits in a gated, quiet spot on several acres that, once entered feels entirely secluded, yet sits less than a five minute easy drive away from the strip of restaurants and bars that is Esperanza.

There is a main house and two casitas. We stayed at the casita at the back of the property. This provided plenty of privacy from the other two homes. Our casita was perfect for what we wanted; exotic, bright, airy, simple, clean, and affordable. There's a nice deck out front, and inside is everything you need; dishes, glassware, fridge, coffeemaker, books about the island, etc. There's also some beach chairs, coolers, and other items that are available for use.

The property itself is beautiful and well-maintained, with an amazing pool (with views of the ocean and surrounding hills) and shady patio area equipped with a full bbq and sink area, which we used one evening for a nice meal. This isn't a hotel, as the shower is outdoors and, as mentioned, you feel like you are in an area of secluded jungle, but you feel wrapped by the amazing property and amenities. It's the perfect combination of nature and comfort. If this is what you're looking for, you're not going to find a better place.

Have fun and tell Tyler hi for us!

Sean and Karie

Room Tip: I'd go for the casita at the back of the property, though both provide plenty of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I'm not sure where to start! I stayed at Oreanda for 4 days and I did not want to leave. The compound is incredibly clean and cozy, and it provides the perfect balance of location, comfort, and privacy. It contains two smaller houses and one main house, and it is gated all around. There is a pool and the property itself offers a spectacular view of the Caribbean and local mountains. It's only a short drive from Esperanza, horseback riding, and all of the island's wonderful beaches.

The property owner, Stephanie, is a class act. Her assistance in providing wonderful food, activity, and excursion tips were spot on and they truly enriched our vacation. The property manager, Tyler, was as helpful as helpful gets. He really knows the "ins and outs" of the island, was always accessible, and handled the logistical challenges of getting to and from the airport, getting a rental car, etc. in this completely foreign place.

If you're looking for an absolutely amazing "away from it all" vacation, offering a unique experience felt nowhere else in the US, with truly premier lodging, and the most courteous, professional, and helpful ownership and management, I would highly recommend Oreanda again and again. You will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went with a small group of friends over Memorial weekend. We had never been to the island before, but the owner, Stephanie, was extremely helpful with suggestions on travel, restaurants, and where the best places are to check out. The property manager, Tyler, picked us up from the airport, took us to our rental car company, and was incredibly friendly and helpful while we were there as well. We felt very at home while in this uncharted territory for us.

We got to the place and it was absolutely gorgeous. It is a small, enclosed compound with a main house and two separate guest houses. Everything was very private, secure, and peaceful. The shared pool had an amazing view of forests and the Caribbean! The property was a short drive to Esperanza, where we ate at fabulous restaurants, rented snorkel equipment, and went horseback riding.

Vieques is definitely a place to disconnect and get away from it all. In terms of cell phone reception, AT&T was our best option over the whole island. We had one person with AT&T, and three with Verizon. Verizon coverage was enough to send text messages, but that was about it. That being said, it was great to get away from technology for a while.

Overall, Oreanda was a great value for the price. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you’re looking for a place to relax and ‘disconnect’ from the daily grind, you’ve found it. For someone that stays a little too connected to not even realize that I let both my phone and iPad run out of batteries early in the week (and left them that way) says something about this island, the people and this absolutely incredible property.

I visited Oreanda with a group of friends in early March and over the past few months have spent so much time talking about going back, that we’ve already booked our next trip! Each day at Oreanda offered something different – a hike through the property to Black Sand Beach, snorkeling off Mosquito Pier, kayaking in the Bio Bay and exploring the breathtaking beaches, to name a few. Not to mention how stunning the property is for a day of lounging by the pool or star gazing in the evenings. Words and pictures don’t do this property justice; you really have to experience it for yourself. I noticed another reviewer called it 'Heaven on Earth' – I couldn’t agree more.

The owners, Stephanie and Howard, were wonderful to work with. They gave our group plenty of tips to help make our first trip to Vieques successful. Once we were there the property manager, Tyler, was a great resource for recommendations for beaches/tours/restaurants (and a fun guy to share a Medalla Light with at the end of the day!) Thanks for an incredible visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Oreanda during our Honeymoon on Vieques. The property sits right outside of Esperanza and overlooks acres of untouched forest with Black Sand Beach just a mile or two away. The grounds were gorgeous and the place had all the amenities you could need- a beautiful pool, fabulous charcoal grill, comfortable outdoor furniture, and tons of other extras. The room was very comfortable and we felt like we had a lot of privacy. The property manager on site was incredibly helpful with restaurant and beach recommendations and even took us on a wonderful hike down to Black Sand Beach where we were greeted by a group of wild horses. The place has a very laid-back beach feel while being incredibly clean and well-maintained. I would recommend this place to anyone venturing to Vieques without any hesitation. We stayed at the W for 2 nights as well and while the W was wonderful, we both preferred the independence and natural beauty we had at Oreanda. Thank you so much for an unforgettable honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for five days in March at Oreanda. It was perfect. Absolutely, stunningly, perfect. This was my second trip to Puerto Rico, and our first trip to Vieques. It could not have been any better, other than being able to stay longer!
The accommodations are superb - the Casita was spotless when we arrived, and Tyler, the on-site manager, had two ice cold Medalla Lights in the fridge, and a loaf of wonderful banana bread waiting for us. Tyler is a great guy - very knowledgable about the island's history, attractions and the local culture, and he is extremely personable. He led us and the couple staying in the other Casita on a wonderful hike down to Black Beach one morning - it was an easy going hike, but brought us to a part of the island we would not have seen otherwise.
Oreanda is so relaxing - waking up to the sound of birds singing, drinking coffee in the cool breezes on the front porch of the Casita first thing in the morning, and the spectacular view - looking out over the colorful plantings, the unbelievably gorgeous pool and deck, across the island to the Caribbean Sea in the distance - I wish I was back there now!!!
All of my dealings with Stephanie, the owner, were informative, timely, and very easy. She patiently answered all of my questions, helped us figure out our transportation issues, both on the island and getting back and forth from the mainland, and in all ways was professional, polite, and just a pleasure to do business with.
If you are looking for a chill place, one that is long on beauty, comfort, and relaxation, Vieques is a great destination, and Oreanda is the ideal place to stay.
We will definitely be going back - there is never more than two days that go by that my wife or I don't talk about and wish we were at Oreanda and Vieques!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from an anniversary trip where we stayed in one of the Oreanda guest houses. We both really enjoyed our stay and think that it is a great value that we would consider doing again. The owners was super friendly and the on-site manager Tyler also had great hospitality and gave us wonderful suggestions. We loved the views, the outdoor shower and the visiting horses, not to mention swimming in the pool. We arranged a massage on the pool deck which was amazing (Masseuse Ingrid Bergman is GREAT). It felt very safe with alarms and gates, and also was very close to our favorite Isabel restaurants and yoga at Hix Island House. Though I still consider it an amazing deal, the bed mattresses were a little uncomfortable but the breezes and animal sounds helped lull us to sleep regardless. You can not really cook much on the hot plates either if you are hoping to save money, though the coffee is great. But at this affordable rate, it still felt just right and five stars for this price range. I just think it is important to have the right expectations. The customer service was even higher than five stars though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oreanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreanda

Address: Carr 201 Km 6.5, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views of the sea, outdoor living island-style. Only a mile from Esperanza our two private casitas offer the best of Vieques: lounging by the pool, sensational sunsets, great hikes, outdoor kitchen with grill, tennis and horseback riding nearby. Pick a spot to explore, run to Playa Grande or grab a good book and unwind. The perfect blend of hospitality, independence and nature therapy. The tradewinds and fans help keep the air moving; please note we take an eco-friendly approach and do not have AC. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oreanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.