We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oreanda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oreanda
Save Saved
You added Oreanda to your Saves list
Carr 201 Km 6.5, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great start to our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent 3 days on Vieques and spent 2 nights at the Oreanda. Mary and Kirk--as everyone else has mentioned--are incredible. They were helpful in providing us information about the island. We felt like we were in our own little world when we were at the Oreanda with its beautiful views of the mountain and ocean. The Oreanda is well situated to local bars, restaurants and the beach. We truly appreciated Mary and Kirk's hospitality. They picked us up from the ferry, took us to get our rental car and gave us a tour of the island on our way to the Oreanda. We couldn't have asked for better hosts.

Room Tip: Get the larger casita with the outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Oreanda is outstanding. We stayed in the Casita Verde from 3/29-4/1. Right from the initial reservation inquiry through our stay, owners Mary and Kirk were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. They offered great advice on where to eat, the bio-bay tour, renting a jeep, and really helped us out getting discounted airfare back to San Juan.

Our first day there was marked by rain all day, but since I got to sit on the porch of the beautiful casita, listen to the rain, look out at a gorgeous view of the rainforest and ocean, while enjoying beers and cigars, I can't really complain.

The casita is a great size and tastefully decorated. An open layout, with high ceilings, a nice kitchen and comfortable bed really made it seem like home. Small touches like scones and beverages in the fridge when we arrived, a library of movies, music and Vieques info, and the well-equipped kitchen (coffee and coffee maker, dorm-sized fridge, toaster oven, plates/cups, propane stove, cleaning supplies) made it outstanding.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and as mentioned previously, offer great views. The casitas and main house are spaced perfectly to offer both privacy and ease of access. The pool and deck area, with hammock makea nice common area.

The Oreanda is roughly 2 minutes from Esperanza by car. Convenient yet far enough to avoid the noise of the bars, if that's your desire.

The Oreanda is on the market, so I hope the new owner(s) are half as good as Mary and Kirk, because we will be back!

Room Tip: Casita Azul's shower is outside, apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our first stay on Vieques and we could not have been happier with our lodging. Mary was very helpful right from our first inquiry email till we left to head back to the main Island. Kirk picked us up from the Airport (we flew Cape Air from San Juan to Vieques, ask Mary about discounted rates for this flight) and on the way to Oreanda he stopped at the market so we could pick up a few items and gave us a tour of the town. We had the opportunity to stay in both units and each was great. If you like to cook, Azul has a little more room for the kitchen. Bed were comfortable, rooms nice and clean and will stocked even with cds for all musical tastes. During our stay we rented a motor scooter to get around which was fun but if you want to bring chairs for the beach you will need a car. Mary and Kirk were helpful in providing information on the beaches, car and scooter rentals, bars and places to eat plus interesting landmarks and ruins to explore. You can walk to the beach, but it is a distance. We had a great time and highly recommend Oreanda and Vieques.

Room Tip: If you will be eating out most of the time, stay in Verde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Mary and Kirk's casitas and grounds exceeded our expectations. The view from the pool area and our casita were gorgeous. The stars at night are breathtaking. The photos here don't do the place justice. It's a great location, just a few minutes from restaurants and very close to fantastic beaches. We were able to make coffee in our casita each day (they provided the coffee), and everything we needed was provided including beach chairs, coolers, towels and umbrellas. Mary and Kirk helped us choose restaurants and found a reliable bioluminescent bay tour company after the one we found on our own failed us. (We went with Abe's and it was great). One of the casitas does not have a bathroom door, so that could be awkward depending on who you're with. We loved just hanging out with Mary and Kirk and their precious dogs. Their place has just gone on the market, so if you're thinking of buying in Vieques, this place is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we booked our stay at Oreanda. This is our second trip to Vieques. It was just as reviewed. Mary and Kirk are outstanding hosts. They are so knowledgeable about the island. We stayed at Casita Azul and it was beautiful. So comfy and clean. The view off the porch is beautiful. The property has gorgeous plantings. They provide beach chairs, towels, a cooler and even ice for your trip to the beach. We went to the beaches everyday. It was spectacular. There is a fridge in the casita, coffee pot and a toaster/oven combo. We bought some groceries at the store on the island, for breakfast and stuff to take to the beach. They have a grill on site (which we did not use) but you can feel free to make use of it. Beautiful swimming pool and view. Mary and Kirk are great people. I would highly recommend staying here if you are going to Vieques. Have fun!! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We recently returned from an eight day stay in Puerto Rico and Vieques. Due to my procrastination our trip could have been rather challenging. I put off making reservations for the Vieques portion of our stay until three days before leaving. Fortunately we found Oreanda on Tripadvisor and read some of the reviews. Impressed, we sent an inquiry that evening and Mary called us within ten minutes. Mary became our trip adviser with that call. Mary emailed me some great tips on all the details from how long to stay where, to car rental companies to how to most efficiently travel from San Juan to Vieques. Mary is so knowledgeable about Puerto Rico and Vieques that she helped me to fine tune our trip based on our interests, primarily snorkeling as well as some site seeing. As a result, every day of our stay was relaxing and hassle free.
Our time at Oreanda was absolutely amazing! Kirk built both of the casitas as well as the main house and the design and layout of the property is beyond description. We stayed in Casita Verde which gave us a beautiful view of the hillside to the west as well as the ocean to the south. The grounds are beautiful with natural plantings and a perfect visual flow across the property. Both casitas are simple, aesthetically pleasing and very comfortable.
Mary and Kirk made our stay at Oreanda so pleasant. They helped us with recommendations on where to eat and what beaches to try for snorkeling as well as driving directions. Kirk took my wife and me on two separate hikes in the arroyo which adjoins their property. One was down to the black sand beach and one was up to several waterfalls. Mary is blessed with the gift of hospitality. She greeted us so warmly, was interested in how each day went and continued to help us with details like planning a trip to the biobay and rearranging some last minute travel changes for our return home.
For a first trip to a previously unknown destination we felt totally at home and were able to enjoy our time together better than any other vacation we have taken.
We can't thank Mary and Kirk enough for there warm hospitality and all the attention they gave us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Wow, there are no better hosts than Mary and Kirk Capra- thank you!!

Perched on a hillside with a wonderful view of the ocean, the property is pristine with beautiful greenery and flowers. The accomodations are perfect.

In regards to the items listed below, there is not a restaurant and that is a good thing- Mary and Kirk treat guests to goodies such as homemade banana bread and homegrown pineapple. There is a outdoor BBQ and kitchen for all to use. No need for room service- Mary and Kirk are available when you need them and invisible when you want privacy. The whole place is a "spa".

Even before we made a reservation at Oreanda, Mary was extremely helpful and hospitable in planning our first trip to Vieques. She responded to emails, helped us to find other properties that might suit our interests,...very friendly by phone and email with no pressure to stay on their property.

We can't say enough good things about Oreanda and Mary and Kirk. Please feel free to contact us if you have questions. We would happily return to this piece of paradise!!

Peggy and Chris

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oreanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreanda

Address: Carr 201 Km 6.5, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy views of the sea, outdoor living island-style. Only a mile from Esperanza our two private casitas offer the best of Vieques: lounging by the pool, sensational sunsets, great hikes, outdoor kitchen with grill, tennis and horseback riding nearby. Pick a spot to explore, run to Playa Grande or grab a good book and unwind. The perfect blend of hospitality, independence and nature therapy. The tradewinds and fans help keep the air moving; please note we take an eco-friendly approach and do not have AC. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oreanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.