We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey food. Lousy drinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Conuco

Conuco
110 Luis Munoz Rivera, 00756, Puerto Rico
787-741-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Puerto Rican Cuisine - Tuesday to Saturday 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good but pricey food. Lousy drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice ambiance in Isabella. The food was tasty and nicely presented. Service was friendly. The drinks were terrible. Overall good food but a little pricey hence the 3 stars but for Vieques food probably really 4 stars.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    65
    23
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Dinner in Vieques”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went to Conuco on the recommendation of a friend who lives in San Juan and we loved our meal. Nice decor/ambiance and very friendly staff. Fritters and coconut shrimp appetizers were both very tasty. Shrimp salad entree was good (though a bit boring), the churrasco steak was flavorful and tender, the stuffed chicken was a big portion and very tasty and the pionino (sp?) was incredible ... Plantains and ground beef make a great combo! This was our best meal in Vieques and we highly recommend it. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to Vieques”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We loved this place so much we came two days in a row--and so did at least one other guest! The ceviche in tostone shell is fresh and delicious--I had it both nights. The bean salad was as also really good as a starter or veggie entree. We loved the monfongo with shrimp and creole sauce. The whole fried red snapper im creole sauce was beautiful and delicious. Also excellent were shrimp and scallops in brandy sauce. The outdoor patio was perfect, although the imterior, a renovated oldhouse, is very inviting.
Worth a visit--if not two!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Convenient downtown Isabella II location and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

One of very few downtown restaurants just off the main square. Good food, fair prices, calm service. Mahi was great, and the chicken Shepard's Pie nice too. You might pass on the lobster turnover unless the crust is less than the brick-like texture we experienced. Nice garden seating. Quite good overall!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Meal once we got there...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This location comes highly recommended, but we had trouble figuring out when they were open. Lonely Planet info was incorrect. Once we figured it out we had an excellent meal and drinks. They have a nice option to get a fleet of local cocktails, which was fun. Food is fresh, well balanced and has good presentation. Not sure that many folks are able to eat this level of PR food on a regular basis. A very nice evening.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conuco also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Conuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conuco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.