We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like everyone else........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Next Course

Next Course
Route 201 | In between esperanza and Isabell, 00765, Puerto Rico
+1 787-741-1028
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Next Course will be open for Christmas Eve, Christmas day and New Years
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like everyone else........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Excellent food, great service. We made reservations based on the other reviews and were not disappointed. So here's the interesting thing - my husband ordered the fish that was "today's catch", grouper. The server came back and said the fish had changed to red snapper and he wondered how the "daily catch" could change and asked her back to explain. She said they had a couple of orders of "yesterday's" daily catch but they sold those out and were back on track with today's catch (our reservation was at 6:30, important to this comment). She promised that we were not being served some frozen leftover, and in fact the dinner he was served was delicious and not a spot of it was left on his plate. We loved that she was honest about it and happy that food was not being wasted. Oh, and the tiramasu was to die for....we actually took it back to our hotel because we only needed a taste and they were happy to package it for us.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    135
    46
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Eat outdoors under an avocado tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We sat outdoors underneath an avocado tree. It was breezy but there were still mosquitos (Tip: use bug spray before you visit here.) The food was great. I had the salmon with lobster and it was very moist, cooked perfectly. Hubby loved his bacon-wrapped dates appetizer, and the ceviche appetizer was really, really good, very fresh. One kid got the braised short ribs on pappardelle and that was heavenly! I can't remember what the other two entrees were. My mojito was pretty good but I think they should have muddled the mint a little bit more. The service was a bit clipped but attentive. We were too full to try dessert. I would go back here again even though it is a little pricey ($186 with tip for a family of four with two drinks, two apps and four entrees).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Top Notch Cuisine with Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Where do I begin...how about the White Bean Soup with Pork Cheeks or the White Shrimp with Andouille and Gorgonzola Grits or Seared Red Snapper. A fabulous dining experience on a great get away island. Sit outside if possible to enjoy all the delights of this establishment. Save room for dessert. We don't usually visit the same restaurant during a stay, but I will be back to this one this week.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We first visited after a big disappointment at another restaurant - glad we did. The food was excellent, service and atmosphere wonderful. We so enjoyed it we went back again our last night on the island. Everything we ordered was exceptional. Prices are high but no higher than in a comparable restaurant in any US urban area. We thought it was worth it for great food in paradise.
You will need a reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent food and service! Surprised by the delicious and creative vegetarian choices on the menu! Try the raspberry brownie dessert drink... it was to die for!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Next Course also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Next Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Next Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.