We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dive bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al's Mar Azul

Al's Mar Azul
Isabel Segunda, Puerto Rico
787 741 3400
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A waterfront dive popular as a pool by day, and hangout spot by night.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best dive bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

You would never guess the guy sitting at the bar knocking back beers and chatting it up with everyone was the owner- or maybe you would
My man and I stopped in this place on the recommendation of the rental car dude Rick - it's totally an expat bar which we usually don't go to or jive with but with a character like the owner here a great menu everything fresh and made to order -
No frozen food to be found here!!!
I'm a vegetarian and I was full and happy on a veggie panini with a taste of their awesome hot sauces
Cocktails / blended drinks are so well priced and And strong as you will take em

We will be back tomorrow night for their live music I'm sure ill add to my review !

Oh yea and the view can't be beat

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    53
    12
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, nj
1 review
“Dive in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Best dive bar I've been to in years. Cheap booze, friendly staff, laaaaiiid back atmosphere, and a view Hemingway would have written about. Vacation finally set in after my first beer here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Definite Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Al's feels like your favorite hometown bar with the addition of a beautiful ocean view and great food. We went nearly every night during our stay on Vieques. It's a great place to see the sunset. The Mexican special on Tuesdays is a must! Be sure to get the Big Kahuna burrito and the carnitas. It was some of the best Mexican we've had. Also, order a painkiller -- rum and coconut with fresh ground nutmeg. Dan, the owner, felt like an old friend and is a big reason we enjoyed our time there. Going to Al's was one of the highlights of our trip and we hope to return in the future!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Such a nice place to go and stay awhile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went for lunch, and stayed for hours! The deck over the ocean has a great view, and the breeze kept us refreshed, along with the ice cold beer and tastey cocktails! Their hotwings come with about 10 levels of hot sauces you can ad at your own level of daring! Friendly staff! Busy place for lots of good reasons!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went several times to Mar Azul. We loved the people and the atmosphere. Very laid back and casual. We got to know the owner Dan and bartender Larry. The food is good bar food. As in, huge order of homemade nachos and homemade cut french fries. We went back on Superbowl Sunday where the owner had shut down the kitchen but instead made the whole bar homemade gumbo and rice for FREE!!!! (some of the best gumbo I have ever had) It was like attending a superbowl party with your close friends at home. I can't say enough about this little gem of a bar. CHEERS!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al's Mar Azul also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Al's Mar Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al's Mar Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.