We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If TripAdvisor allowed 6 stars, Hacienda Tamarindo would assuredly earn it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Tamarindo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Tamarindo
Save
You added Hacienda Tamarindo to your Saves list
Box 1569 | Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If TripAdvisor allowed 6 stars, Hacienda Tamarindo would assuredly earn it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

From the second my girlfriend and I stepped on the property, we felt like we were guests at an extravagant (yet intimate) villa a stones throw from the Caribbean. The inn is impeccably maintained and Iván could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. My only regret is that we only stayed one night! On our next trip to Vieques, we will not hesitate to book at HT again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    78
    18
    4
    11
See reviews for
40
238
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came to Puerto Rico for 6 days and stayed at Caribe Hilton. After coming to Tamarinda Hotel, we realized that Hilton pretty much sucked compared to this place. It's so peaceful and relaxing that you forget everything. The service is amazing and amenities are just excellent. We had a room with French doors overlooking the ocean. It's ideal for couples if you are looking for a total retreat and relaxation. I recommend to everyone who visits Vieques to stay here.

P.S. Zach (the estate's dog is awesome)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Vieques for a quick getaway (3 days 2 nights), with another couple we booked last minute two bedrooms at Hacienda Tamarindo. The best choice we could've made. When we arrived the rental car was awaiting in the hotel for us. The staff was excellent specially front desk and the breakfast area. It has spectacular views and great accomodations. Would recommend to everyone and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the place to be in vieques island!
My husband and i stayed 3 nights at the hacienda tamarindo and it was just prefect.
Romantic, beautiful view, nice rooms and an amazing stuff.
Ivan and Tanya helped us in everything we needed- they are so nice.

If you are looking for a place to relax in an intimate way this is the perfect place to be :)

Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is one of the rare occasions when I felt let down by a TripAdvisor recommendation. I'd rate this place as average at best, for the following reasons:

1. Our room was located directly off off the kitchen/dining area. Wouldn't of been a problem except for the fact that the door to our room was not solid wood and instead was designed with louvres that didn't shut completely. That lead to zero privacy considering the foot traffic during meals from both staff and guests. Essentially we could see and hear all of the activities in the dining area (as well as our neighbors next door), which was not ideal. It's important to note that because the louvres didn't shut, people could also see into our room, which was very uncomfortable.

2. Our room did not have AC. I'm all for being environmentally conscious but it was nearly impossible to cool down after a long day at the beach and feel truely refreshed. Not to mention, because we had to keep the windows open, we could hear the guest below us arguing on a prolonged telephone call as we were trying to sleep. Not exactly relaxing as there was no shutting the windows in the summer.

3. Maybe it was timing but certainly didn't find the customer service to be extrordinary as indicated by reviews on Trip Advisor. I would describe interactions with the staff as minimally polite.

Things we really enjoyed about the hotel was that small coolers were provided, along with honor system for beverages. That was a nice convenience. Breakfast was pretty good as well. Pool was great, although we did not use it and instead spent most of our time at the beach.

Ultimate assessment is that maybe our experience may have been different if we had an alternate room, with more privacy and AC. Would certainly suggest that you verify room location before you arrive. Although, we enjoyed the the quaint nature of this place, do believe it to be slightly over rated.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the kitchen/dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWVQS, Owner at Hacienda Tamarindo, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give us feedback. I wish you had told us about the problem with your door and your room while you were with us. We certainly would have moved you if there was another room available. In the time since your stay we discovered that the louvres in your room did, in fact, not close and the problem has been repaired. There are only two rooms that do not have A/C and they are our least expensive rooms in the summer season. We are in business to make our guests' stay enjoyable, and I am sorry that was not your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hi, my wife and I just stayed 3 nights at the hacienda and it was just what we need it, if you are looking to have a great intimate and awesome time with your significant other well this is the place.

Starting with the initial call to make the reservation, Tania treat us like VIP from the first call, they even made the rental car reservation for us!!!
At check in she greet us with a tour of the hacienda and some cool tips on what to do on the island.
Our room was not ready at the time of check in so what the manager does? a total free room upgrade! how cool is that???
The place just feels like if you have it all for you!
The breakfast well its just like the other reviews says, they give you a menu and you order like a little small restaurant JUST FOR YOU!
I recommend the Acuarium restaurant just steps from the hacienda, they also have the biobay tours!
All the details of the hacienda made the place a very very unique hotel, we will be back!!!
Thank to Ivan the hotel manager for the attention!

Room Tip: If you have the money to reserve the suite, DO IT! the view is just breath taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights at Hacienda Tamarindo. She had been there before and was delighted to learn we had the same room she had stayed in. We had a lovely room with phenomenal views. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. Linda, one of the owners, and Ivan, the manager, are thoroughly committed to the comfort of their guests. The pool is lovely and spotless. The library is comfortable, with a well-stocked honor bar. Breakfasts are yummy, and the staff aims to please. But the very best? The gentle horses that come to drink from the pool and the fountains every morning and the real owner of the hotel: Zack, the Olde English Sheepdog. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Tamarindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Tamarindo

Address: Box 1569 | Rte. 996, Km. 4.5, 00765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques’ Hacienda Tamarindo offers 17 very special rooms, each lovingly and creatively designed and decorated by owner, Linda Vail -- her swan song after over 20 years as a commercial interior designer. Each guest room and public space is unique; imaginatively spiced with a lifetime’s accumulation of art, antiques, and collectibles. An ancient Tamarind tree in the lobby atrium majestically rises three stories through the center of the building. Terraces, courtyards, and sitting rooms offer ample space for relaxation and conversation. The Hacienda is perched on a hilltop with spectacular 180 degree views of the Caribbean -- from sunrise to sunset; looking down on the bedazzling, ever-changing myriad of blue, emerald and turquoise waters. Caribbean trade winds and lazy paddle fans keep you cool and comfortable. Here, you can fall asleep to a tree frog serenade and awake to the smell of jasmine on the gentle sea breeze. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Tamarindo Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Tamarindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.