We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "not to be missed" wonder of the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay

Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay
Puerto Mosquito, Puerto Rico
Improve this listing
Visit Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay like an insider
Top Rated
$98*
and up
Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan
Activities: Scuba diving, Group tours/day tour
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A "not to be missed" wonder of the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked w/ Vieques Adventure company and used the see-thru canoes. The experience really is indescribable and something you must see for yourself. As your oars shoot thru the water micro-organisms light up (similar to fireflies, but in the water) We were fortunate to have light rain showers and every drop that hit the water lit up!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    987
    189
    84
    45
    38
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Though it was only at around 40% luminosity, it was nevertheless a unique experience you must take. When agitated, the microscopic dinoflagellates sparkle and shine in the water. But just don't expect to be seeing a replica of the professional (or photoshopped) pictures you see online, as you need a super long exposure to capture these. But it's just so neat to see these amazing creatures do their thing and learn about the history and science behind it all. We went with Blackbeard Sports and Che was a knowledgeable guide. You should definitely check out Bio Bay, if only to see the huuuuge expanse of incredible stars above you in pitch black dark. Hopefully they will continue to get back to full brightness soon!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must see if you are there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

To begin with the bay is only a fraction as bright as the pictures on the Internet. It was still glowing but you will need to really agitate the waters. The brightest part was more towards the middle of the bay. we went with Abe's and they did a great job getting everyone going giving the circumstances. Half of our group of 30+ were teenagers who really didn't follow instructions. That's another story...

It was a great experience despite the reduced luminosity and being nailed in the back with someone else's kayak a few times. The uncountable stars above makes for an amazing sight especially for those from the city. I would recommend this visit.

(On a related note: the hotel staff said that the bay is brighter during the off-season).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Taino bio bay tours is the way to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have been to the Bio Bay in the past and Tainos is the best for sure - Alexi is very knowledgeable and explains everything very well. In the past it was a bit brighter but he told us before we went it was only 50% - in my opinion it was more like 75% bright especially in certain spots - still amazing and a great experiance. Went with my friend who has never been and she loved it. Would recommend for sure.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bio Bay has gone dark :-(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The bay has gone dark! I hope it's temporary but the whole reason we went to Vieques was: To. See. The. Bio. Bay. Fortunately the wonderful beaches and warm waters around Vieques made our stay really memorable. But still, we'd have loved to have seen the luminescent photoplankton. Guess we'll just have to go back some day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay also viewed

 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.