We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BIOBAY in PR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay

Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay
Puerto Mosquito, Puerto Rico
Improve this listing
Visit Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay like an insider
Top Rated
$98*
and up
Bioluminescent Kayak Adventure from San Juan
Activities: Scuba diving, Group tours/day tour
Attraction details
Rincon, Anasco, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best BIOBAY in PR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Go on the darkest night you can its wonderful! the stars are amazing also it almost looks fake! but be warned about jellyfish and sharks. its a must see experience. dont be afraid to go in the water its a wonderful experience! been to the Bio Once to Vieques 3 times in a Year! its 10 times better than the parguera biobay.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    987
    189
    85
    45
    38
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Newton, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Astounding sparkles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Definitely a must-see. We heard mixed reviews about the other bio bays, so we went to the one in Vieques and we were delighted. There were only 4 people in our tour and the water was the warmest I've ever experienced. It was really neat to see the lights reflected off of every surface- we went when it was a full moon (not recommended by others), but I think it was still worth it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, PR
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brightest BioBay in PR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

It is a must do while on the island, the experience is great! You will see the blue glow right in front of you and depending on the tour you take you may put your hands in the water. One of the most beautiful and amazing experiences you can ever have is watching your hand or feet light up right in front of you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must see on Vieques”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked a tour with Abe's and it was fantastic. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and entertaining and easy to understand. The ride out to the bay was an adventure in itself. You meet at the parking lot and jump in a 15 passenger van. You then go down a very rough, washed out road with huge holes that the van bottomed out in. It was amazing what those vans could drive through! They provided mosquito repellant as they don't allow anything with deet. The trip out into the bay was an easy kayak and as the night darkened, our guide told us about the organisms in the water and all about the bio bay. We were given time to enjoy the beautiful sparkling water before we headed back to shore. A great experience and a must see if you are staying on Vieques.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited mosquito bay with East Island excursions. It truly is a beautiful magical place to visit. Indescribable- which is why you should go see it if you can. Although the tour company did a fine job, I would probably opt to stay on Vieques and try a kayak tour if I have the chance to do it again. The reasons: Other reviews of the island and what of the island I got to see caught my interest; and I would like to be a little closer to the water and I wouldn't have to share my "splash time" with 20-30 other passengers in just a few buckets (will be doing a separate review of East Island Excursions). With that said, I would highly recommend doing a tour to mosquito bay any which way you can- it is unforgettable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay also viewed

 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bioluminescent (Mosquito) Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.