We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to Eden as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hix Island House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hix Island House
Save
You added Hix Island House to your Saves list
Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“As close to Eden as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

For the special person who likes the unusual, nature and a tranquil experience the Hix Island House is the place to stay. This place is an architectural gem! Staying here has been called: glamor camping; a term I refute. Staying here is not camping, it is a unique experience with nature and beauty.

Room Tip: Don't choose the cheapest room. Spend a little more and get a lot more for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    29
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
190
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After waiting 45 minutes for our car rental provider to pick us up at the airport, we weren't off to a great start on Vieques. That all changed when we arrived at Hix Island House. The property is located up in the hills which we really enjoyed (breezy, great views, private). Everything is accessible within a 15-minute drive, so not an issue provided that you have a car. We stayed in the casita because it was the only room available. This worked out well as it's very private and does have screens and doors (not to say it would've been an issue otherwise, but it couldn't have hurt). The whole approach at Hix is very low key. If you need something, just ask for it. They're not all over you, but they're very happy to offer assistance when requested. We had excellent massages in our room (Maureen was fantastic!) and relied on the front desk for all of our inquiries on beaches and restaurants (thank you Sarah Rose, JoAnna, and others!). Our room was well stocked every day and housekeeping was reliable and efficient.

A couple of points/observations on Vieques: 1) The beaches are gorgeous, but littering is an issue. I hope there's a big education push to encourage locals to respect their beaches. We also heard quite a few murmurs about petty theft, but we had no issues. 2) Before you book your hotel and flights, make sure you can book a car. Also, if you plan on visiting the beaches, you need a Jeep if you really want to explore. 3) There are only 2 gas stations on the island (pretty much across the street from each other) which are also located right by the cheapest grocery store. Be strategic to avoid multiple trips back and forth. 4) I'd like to see more of the local establishments hiring some of the actual local people on our next visit. It's all fine and good that you just moved down here from New Hampshire, but what about someone who's lived around the corner their entire lives? This was a recurring trend wherever we went on Vieques. 5) Watch out for the wild horses! They really are everywhere, which we loved.

We very much enjoyed our first trip to Vieques and especially enjoyed our quiet, secluded stay at Hix Island. Not for everyone, but definitely for us. We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the casita. You don't get the "open" effect that the other rooms offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We wanted to get away simply but didn't want to give up the finer points. From fresh bread, fruit, eggs, tea and coffee in our room, to the terrific long cotton lounge shirts, to the outdoor shower and the inability to see or for the most part hear our fellow guests, we were absolutely entranced.
Every question asked was swiftly and graciously answered and we wanted for nothing.
Bob, the genial GM, joked he would be by to peel us up with a spatula when it came time to check out . He was not far off.
Go, enjoy the quiet, the view and fantastic shower.

Room Tip: Eat at the local spots and forget the gussied up Gringo or the strip in Esperanza
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hix Island House is more than a house of course. It's several houses, each with it's own unique design and feel offering cozy yet spacious loft apartment style lodging. We stayed on the bottom floor of Casa Solaris, a two-bedroom unit with outdoor showers facing the jungle (and several horses that liked to eat just off our porch most of the time), a large open concept living room and well appointed full kitchen. No AC, but not needed at all. Even on the bottom floor, the concrete structure and open design kept it cool. The kitchen comes stocked with eggs, jam, cereal, milk, juice, fruit and bread. Also had olive oil and s/p for cooking. I'm dairy-free, but was able to find organic almond and soy milk in the main town of Isabela. They have a very cute boutique grocery just down from the bank on the main drag where you can get other organic items. It's expensive though, so bring over what you can from the mainland.

Back at HIX, we did yoga (beginner vinyasa flow) most mornings in the open air studio they provide. It's $15 a class, so similar to home. HIX provides beach and snorkel gear for free and has a few drinks/snacks for purchase at the office. We didn't use the pool, but it was very nice, in a sunny spot and very private. If you are a resort person that wants a pool bar, TV, restaurant, gym etc...this is not your spot. This is for people that want a more peaceful spot to be by themselves and be closer to nature. There will be horses walking by your room and the occasional beetle in your bathroom, so if this freaks you out, also not the place for you. That said, the accommodations were modern, clean and impeccably designed - think SOHO lofts on a tropical island. We'll definitely stay here if we get back to this laid back, beautiful island again.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid bugs and get more of a breeze, choose a room on the second or third floor of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I couldn't recommend this place more highly. If you're up for an adventure, this is your place. Outdoor shower, wide open windows at night, no bugs, beautiful vistas. They also provide you with fixings for breakfast! They also have snorkeling supplies and a yoga studio if you're into that sorta thing. Only challenge is that you really must rent a car to get here. Otherwise, it's simply amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I am a fan of modern architecture so this hotel instantly caught my eye. I did my homework and read many reviews about the open air style and knew what to expect. If you want to be pampered with room service, a TV, A/C, etc., you will not like it here. Luckily in February, the bugs were minimal and I would say on a scale of 1 to 10, the "bug issue" was only about a 2. I do recommend keeping the ceiling fan on and using the mosquito net to cover your bed while you sleep. Our loft was large and had an ocean view in the distance. The grounds were quite tropical and felt "authentic" versus a mega resort. There are so many fantastic beaches to explore, it seemed most guests (such as myself) were gone all day and into the evening. Renting a Jeep is a must. Yes you can relax by their lovely pool, but exploring the island was important to me. All of the restaurants I ate at in town were fair to OK at best. Oh - keep your rental car gassed up since it is common for the island to run out of gas. AVIS charged me $8 a gallon since I could not fill it up (even though they knew it wasn't my fault).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

First, let me say that Hix Island House is not for everyone. If you want an all inclusive resort where you are shielded from the elements and locked in an air conditioned box, this is not for you. But if you want to sleep with the windows open, wake up to the chickens crowing in the distance, and feel the trade winds blow past your face while you sleep, you will love it here.

The rooms are like studio apartments equipped with everything you need for a wonderful experience....beach towels, easy to carry chairs, a travel cooler, bug spray, candles and lanterns for romantic evenings as well as all of the kitchen equipment that you will need. The beds are amazingly comfortable and the whole studio is beautifully and functionally designed. It's like staying in a work of art/sculpture.

Every day your room is stocked with fresh baked bread, fresh local eggs, juice, coffee, fruit, jams, honey and milk. You can make breakfast and have enough left over to take snacks to the beach later. We hard boiled our eggs, sliced the fresh bread, and took everything to the beach to spend the day. (With a quick stop for a bottle of wine!)

This is truly a magical place. Great staff who are as attentive as you need them to be but they will also just leave you alone. The pool is beautiful and the grounds are like living in a tropical paradise. There is an "honor bar" in the office is you want snacks or provisions for a picnic other than the food that magically appears in your room.

I honestly can't say enough good things about this place...the only thing I would make a small improvement to is the shower. I loved it (since it is semi-outdoors!) but the shower head was a little low and with the low pressure you find on the islands it took a long time to rinse. If they installed a rain-type shower head that was a little higher it would be perfect. But seriously-when that's your only suggestion, you really can't complain at all.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor lofts get the best breezes and have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hix Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hix Island House

Address: Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and refresh midst Zen-like architectural elegance at Hix Island House, located in a 13-acre natural refuge. Our spacious lofts feature matchless Caribbean views, open-air private terraces, outdoor showers, Frette linens and luxurious lounging shirts. In-room kitchens are stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, Puerto Rican coffee, fruit, tea, jam and homemade bread. We also showcase one of the Caribbean's most magnificent pools and offer onsite Yoga and massage, daily housekeeping, full concierge and front desk services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hix Island House Hotel Isla De Vieques
Hix Island Hotel
Hotel Hix Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hix Island House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.