We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape in a Unique Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hix Island House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hix Island House to your Saves list
Hix Island House
Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great escape in a Unique Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent four nights in Redonda Loft 3. Hix Island is a very unique property designed to take full advantage of the views and the cooling tradewinds of Vieques. We loved the modern, simple design combined with luxury touches - like Frette linens, towels and bathrobes. Each loft has a kitchen and an outdoor shower. The best part about our stay was the daily breakfast - it somehow magically appeared while we were out - the 'fridge was stocked with fresh fruit, eggs, juices, and homemade bread. The bread was wonderful, so fresh and delicious.

The pool is fabulous and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. In the office there is an honor bar where you can stock up on other supplies - cheeses, sausage, crackers, soft drinks - and all very reasonably priced.

Insects/mosquitos were not an issue for us, the breezes and the fans helped keep the bugs out. There was mosquito netting over the bed, but we didn't need it. In addition to the fresh food, the loft was stocked with paperback books, beach chairs, beach towels, candles, an in-room safe, and snorkeling equipment and board games were available for checking out at the office.

Keep in mind that there are no TVs and no phones. This kind of hotel is not for everyone. If you need to be near the action, stay in Esperanza. Hix Island is quiet and relaxing.

We can't wait to visit Vieques and stay at Hix Island House again. Did I mention the bread? Dear god, go just for the bread.

Room Tip: Get a loft on the second floor. The ventilation is better and so are the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    28
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
178
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I absolutely loved this place and want to come back again and again. We stayed for three nights in Redona Loft 3. It was a good sized room, with views and good breezes. It was a perfect relaxing escape from any kind of traditional hotel, but totally comfortable at the same time. We also found it to be a good value, since it included breakfast supplies, and we were able to make lunch with just a few things from the grocery store. Having beach gear and snorkel equipment available for guests also saved money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

wow, what a surreal place. No phones, no TVs, just beautiful open air apartments (that's what the rooms felt like, they were so spacious!) that allow you to reconnect with what's important- totally amazing. Perfect for those that are looking to escape big city life and just disengage.

Gosh, everything was wonderful, from the complimentary 'man-jammies' my husband wore, to the fully stocked 'breakfast fridge' every morninig, yoga on the platform, stunning design, deliously smelling tolietries, well done Hix.

Room Tip: We stayed in CS3, fantasic. All the rooms seemed incredible, I would just stay away from the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We couldn't believe our luck in choosing the Hix House. We stayed in Casa Rectangular, loft 6 on the top floor. I just love that it is open air and has a wonderful view of the Carribbean Sea. It felt like they really thought of everything....coffee beans, beach cooler bag, beach chairs, towels, votive candles for romance, games to play, bug spray, even a little flashlight on the key chain to guide your steps in the dark.

I personally prefer a place like Hix anyday to the generic kind of hotel like the W, which I am sure is lovely, but the same ol same ol. It is centrally located, so a quick drive to Esperanza for dinner and on to the INCREDIBLE beaches on the south shore. My favorite was Chiva, followed by Navio and then Pata Prieta.

You MUST rent a car to vacation in Vieques. We used Avis, which surprisingly was a kind of a mess, for such a large company. Call Hix and ask them for a recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

After 9 days on Isla Grande, my husband and I decided to extend our trip for three days and head over to Vieques. Now we wish we'd spent our entire vacation on this beautiful island. The beaches were serene and the people were laid back, inviting, and accommodating. Hix Island House was peaceful and so quiet - really a place to relax and get away from it all. The infinity pool was just what we needed after our 10 minute puddle-jumper from Ceiba to Vieques. Skip the ferry by the way - the flight is only $30 per person and totally worth the time saved and the views from 1200 feet. The rooms at Hix were entirely constructed of concrete which gave a minimalist, serene feel amongst the gentle sways of the palm trees. Our room was open to the elements with a view of the ocean and plenty of trees and flowers that attracted hummingbirds and even a few parrots (we stayed in Loft #8). There was home-made bread, butter, jams, eggs, cereal and milk, teas, and brita filtered water in our fridge every day, and fresh fruit. You really felt like you were the only couple at the hotel with the stunning views from the comfort of your lounge chairs on the terrace or from your bed. The outdoor shower was amazing also! We were so excited that they had a last minute cancellation that allowed us to stay. We will definitely be back to Puerto Rico - but will stay in Vieques at Hix!

Room Tip: Loft 8 was great, but shared sidewalls and a ceiling with other guestrooms. If you want total priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

From the moment we stepped foot on the property, we loved it. My boyfriend and I had booked two nights at Hix Island House, but immediately upon arrival, we decided to extend that two three nights are are super happy we did so. (His review is below.) Everything about our stay was fantastic, from the hospitality of Joanne at the front desk to the fridge filled will coffee, juices and jams plus fresh bread delivered daily (all included in the room cost) to the crickets and frogs that chirped us to sleep. Oh! And the showers -- we were in room three, and ours was tucked away through the bathroom, but outside so you could see the stars while you showered. Great robes to snuggle up in after.

Everything was an easy car ride away (there's no way you'd want to be without a car on Vieques). The pool was small but totally refreshing, and there was all sorts of equipment and games you can borrow at the front desk.

We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room three has a nice view and is the perfect size for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for the kind words Jen! We're glad you enjoyed the coziness of Loft 3, and the chorus of coquis that comes with it. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were swept off our feet by this place. No TV, no restaurants, and no fitness center. Vacation. Yay! All concrete, no windows, outdoor shower, full kitchen with eggs, homemade bread, and fresh fruit every morning. Yeah buddy! I'm not usually one to stare at the sky, but the stars and sunrise were amazing from the room. JoAnne was also amazing, and Radar for that matter. She knew everything about the island, knew how to get to all of the little hidden treasures on the island, and was available when we needed her. Thanks for the bananas and advise JoAnne. We made breakfast every monring, explored all day, and came back at night for wine, stars, and the sounds of the jungle. Only thing that was strange for me was the misquito net. I turn a lot in my sleep and couldn't stay under that thing for the life of me. Loved the place, though, would definitely go back in a heartbeat, and makes me want to start looking at some of the other places that Mr. Hix designed.

Room Tip: 2nd floor of Solaris. I think it was 4, the new one. Awesome! Killer view, beautiful room, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HixHouseGM, Manager at Hix Island House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks for the great review Brent! Casa Solaris has been receiving rave reviews since we opened last January, and it sounds like you made the most of your stay. Joanne and Radar both send their well wishes and want you to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hix Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hix Island House

Address: Route 995, km 1.5 | HC02 Box 14902, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and refresh midst Zen-like architectural elegance at Hix Island House, located in a 13-acre natural refuge. Our spacious lofts feature matchless Caribbean views, open-air private terraces, outdoor showers, Frette linens and luxurious lounging shirts. In-room kitchens are stocked with everything one needs to make breakfast; eggs, cereal, juice, Puerto Rican coffee, fruit, tea, jam and homemade bread. We also showcase one of the Caribbean's most magnificent pools and offer onsite Yoga and massage, daily housekeeping, full concierge and front desk services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hix Island House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hix Island House Hotel Isla De Vieques
Hix Island Hotel
Hotel Hix Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hix Island House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.