We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting with great service - looking forward to a return trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Horizon Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Carr. 996 Km. 4.3 Bo. Puerto Real | PO Box 1556, 00765, Puerto Rico (Formerly Inn on the Blue Horizon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting with great service - looking forward to a return trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

A great time and beautiful setting. I took my girlfriend here for a long weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The rooms are quiet yet have a great view, one step out of ours put us at the infinity pool which overlooked the Caribbean. Adam the bartender was very nice and always full of recommendations on where to eat or which beaches to go see.

Overall it was a great trip and look forward to going back. If you're looking for a place to just get away from the world, this is it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Bryant71,

Thank you for your review, your feedbacks are really appreciated.

We at Inn on the Blue Horizon stay true to our commitment to maintain our guests stay filled with relaxation while disconnected from the world. We provide the perfect setting, our unique boutique resort hotel has no comparison on the island and our ocean front is none other than the Caribbean Sea! It doesn’t take much effort to create a spontaneous romantic moment and we’ll love to have you back for the perfect Destination Wedding.

Best and please know you’re welcome back anytime of the year!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    64
    23
    29
    26
See reviews for
19
164
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Iowa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We had a great experience staying at Inn on the Blue Horizon just outside of Esperanza in April 2011. The hotel was located just outside of the hustle and bustle of the town and was very peaceful and accomodating. You will definitely need a rental vehicle as the taxi service in Vieques is not very reliable (we had to wait for almost an hour at the airport, and no one showed up - NOTE: If you stay at the W., they offer a shuttle to their hotel)

The hotel was relatively easy to find, and the room we had was very nice (Josephina) - most rooms offered ocean views. The pool was beautiful, and chairs along the coast were very picturesque and nice to stargaze at night - Note: the beach at the hotel is down a steep slope and rocky, but the front office will provide beach chairs/umbrella/towels, and you will have a cooler in your room to take with you to some of the better beaches in the area (I would recommend Blue Beach or Red Beach for beautiful sand - approx 20-30 min from hotel in the Nature Reserve.

While the restaurant prices were a little spendy, the portions were large enough to share with your traveling partner if you were looking for a lighter meal. One downside: no coffee maker in the room, and the restaurant doesn't open until 8am if you like your coffee early before you get your day started.

Overall, Inn on the Blue Horizon has a lot to offer if you are looking for a more cozy, local feel. I would definitely stay here again. Note: they do have a hotel vehicle if you call ahead to reserve. You will need an SUV as the roads are not very well maintained, and most of the beaches are located down dirt roads with MANY potholes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear OutsideTheBoxTravel,

Thank you for your review and sharing your vacationing experience here at Inn on the Blue Horizon & Vieques Island. We really appreciate your comments and feedbacks.

A couple things have changed since your stay with us, we’ve equipped every room with their own coffee maker and gourmet Puerto Rican coffee by Yaucono; a set of beach chairs and beach umbrella, so no more first-come-first-served with these beach must have. We’ve chosen not to charge for these items thanks to feedbacks from guests like you. We continue to provide our guests with beach coolers and towels.

Once again thank you for your review and cheers!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

My husband and I were apprehensive having read some of the reviews, but had a wonderful time at the Inn on the Blue Horizon. The staff was welcoming and very nice throughout our stay. This is the most idyllic and serene place to escape to on Vieques. We stayed in a wonderful casita by the Ocean (Isabella) and relaxed from the moment we arrived until we left. The pool offers spectacular views and is very pleasant. While I agree the place could use a few upgrades, it did not take away from the overall experience. If you are looking for peace, quiet, privacy, and informal elegance, this is the place for you. If you are looking for glitz and excitement, head to the W. The Inn on the Blue Horizon has more the feel of being a guest in a wonderful private home than in a hotel. We did not opt to eat at the hotel because there are some great restaurants in Esperanza - notably El Quenepo and Orchideas. I do agree with another guest that it seems a bit mean to charge $3 for coffee. Having coffee and breakfast included in the rate of the room would make it an even better place to stay. Thank to the Inn for a lovely stay and we do hope to make it back!

Room Tip: Casita Isabella or Neptune in Main House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear ZenaRd,

Thank for you for sharing your experience at Inn on the Blue Horizon. Your review, recommendations and feedbacks are really appreciated.

Sorry to hear you opted not to dine at our restaurant, Carambola, An Island Restaurant; while there is no doubt that El Quenepo and the brand new Orchideas Restaurants are great choices, Carambola Restaurant is considered one of the best on the island and we sincerely hope you try us next time you visit.

Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

This place charged us nearly $400 a night for a room with a bed that gave us both back aches. There was no coffee in the room and they charged over $3 for a cup of coffee up at the restaurant. There is really no beach to speak of and the whole place had an abandoned and neglected feel. We asked to speak with a manager only to be told that no one was around. When we checked out, we complained about our stay and they offered to take the charge for coffee off our bill.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Ms. ShireenSanFrancisco,
Thank you for taking the time to review are hotel, we appreciate your feedbacks. Now I’ll like to take a moment to address the five (5) points of your feedbacks on this review.

Bed; had we been informed that the bed was giving you and your partner “back ache”, we would have gladly offer a pillow top or offer to move you to another room should one had been available. This was never brought to our attention. Our antique beds get their mattress replaced on a regular bases, some guests prefer softer pillow tops other harder mattress; we try to accommodate as many requests as possible which is why I’m surprise my Front Desk staff has no record of this complaint. High Season Rates at our Hotel range from $160 - $449 per night; there may have been more economical rooms that would have been a better match to your budget, but last minute reservations don’t get as many options.

It is our intention to supply complimentary gourmet coffee to all our guests in their rooms, which is not the norm on the island of Vieques. Unfortunately, we have not been able to provide this type of free amenity due to supplier distribution issues. This has taken about six month to resolve, but we continue to work on this and are confident that soon enough we’ll have that free amenity back. Our restaurant Carambola charges $3 for unlimited coffee. This compares to local restaurants where the charge of $1.75 for self-served and one cup refill. Our guest may enjoy their coffee at the restaurant, lounge area, sun deck or even on your private balcony for the same cost.

Yes, although we are ocean front, the cost is a rocky shore and we currently don’t have a swimming beach. We never advertised the contrary, but Vieques best beaches are located within the Fish & Wildlife Refuge which is why we encourage having a rental car or means of transportation.

About the abandoned and neglected comment; we are saddened to hear this kind of feedback. We all at Inn on the Blue Horizon are always working on and taking care of all of the looks and designs of our lovely property and its grounds; we know that times change and peoples taste vary…

In regards to your “there was no manager around” comment; it’s kind of puzzling because we are currently fully staffed and there is always a Supervisor or Manager on property that could have taken action on your complaint; if you were told otherwise then we apologize.
It puzzles us why if you complaint about the total cost of your stay and us “nickel & diming” you for everything, then why did you not accept the offer to take those charges off at time of check-out? Our Front Desk Supervisor offered that in good faith, even though we are one of the few hotels on the island that do offer that free amenity. Instead, you were ill-mannered and wouldn’t care to hear what he had to say when he was honestly trying to assist you and perhaps offer some kind of compensation. Instead, you chose to be rude and storm out of the office.

We are nevertheless saddened that you had such experience from our hotel; we sincerely hope that you left at least with good memories of Vieques and the people of our beautiful island.

Best,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

You'll be well rewarded if you manage to reach this hotel. If you choose to take the ferry from Fajardo, the publicos (taxis) that greet you will attempt to herd you into their vans like cattle to make sure they get the most fares they can out of the ferry travelers.

Once you reach the hotel, your stressful travel experience will immediately melt away. The hotel is right on the water, and the only thing you hear from the hotel grounds is the breeze and the occasional roaming horse on the premises.

The rooms themselves are something out of a James Bond movie, with sheer white sheets blowing slowly with the breeze from your villa's windows. The beds are extremely clean and the staff will make your stay as comfortable as they can. The restaurant on site is very good, but not so great if you're looking for local cuisine or just a quick cheap bite.

If you choose not to get a rental car, make sure you leave ample time while using the publicos for travel to and from the airport/ferries. The publicos operate to make money, and will gladly lose your fare if camping out at the ferry dock will guarantee them more money. Also, the hotel is not located in any town, so getting to Esperanza will require you to walk about 20 minutes, or a publico.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear dmankad,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review an share your experiences at our beautiful hotel and island. We really appreciate your feedbacks.

Although we encourage our guests to fly from San Juan Area for how convenient and hassle free it is (20-30 minute flight), the ferry is an alternative especially to those spending some time at the rainforest - El Yunque, Luquillo beach & kiosk areas, Las Croabas or even Palmas del Mar (East Coast of Puerto Rico). Once aboard, you’ll be in Vieques within the hour for just $2 each way on a beautiful and relax ferry ride.

We encourage renting a car for the duration of your stay in Vieques, but also using Publicos (taxis) whenever possible; this is a little that can do a whole lot for the local economy. They come in extremely handy when you’ll like to spend a night in town without having to worry about driving back home.

Publico fares start at $5pp from the Ferry or Airport to the hotels and most car rental agencies, and $15 per couple by appointment from hotels. During peak travel times, patience is a virtue and you’ll be rewarded if you decide to wait for the next round of publicos at Al’s Mar Azul, El Cayo Blanco or Mamasonga’s…

Even though we are located a 20-minute walk from Esperanza (Malecon Area), many of our guests choose not to have a rental car. If that’s the case, we would work with you booking publicos in advance or even a driver for the entire duration of your stay.

Once again thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I'll keep this review short. We booked our trip to Vieques at the very last minute and I feel so lucky that we found the Inn on the Blue Horizon. Our room/bungalow, the setting, pool, views, lounge areas, adirondack chairs on the bluff, and wild horses --- all of it made for an absolutely perfect getaway. I fell in love with Vieques and hope to stay here again on my next trip to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear thehob,
Thank you for your review, your feedbacks are greatly appreciated.

We probably spoke of the wild horses while you stayed with us, as you may know; it’s hard to keep them off the property. They’re getting smarter and always manage to find their way in… They are a Vieques trademark and we’re glad you liked them!

Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Grate view but if you are up for activities and beach experience then you need to rent transportation as the inn is 20 mins. away from nearby restaurants and bars were you can mingle. Don't get me wrong, the service is good but besides a bar there are no everyday activities sponsored besides taking a swim in the pool. There is no bathing beach. If you wish to go to the beach you need a drive and the inn has no shuttle (which I recomm. specially at night). But if you intend to relax and rest without TV, radio, etc., although the facilities need maintenance and refurnishing, this is the place

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnontheBlueHorizon, Manager at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear BaisA6,
Thank you for your review, feedbacks and recommendations are always welcome and appreciated.

We have one of the best locations on Vieques Island, what makes up part of the charm is the fact that we are not in the center of El Malecon Area. This makes a difference especially when retrieving for the night or day at our retreat resort. We definitely recommend renting a car, especially to the active traveler for which a publico schedule may not be a good match. There are also driver for hires available on the island which worked out really well with past guests.

We’re glad to hear you liked the service you experience while staying with us; that’s what we like to thrive on.

Many Thanks,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Boutique Resort

Address: Carr. 996 Km. 4.3 Bo. Puerto Real | PO Box 1556, 00765, Puerto Rico (Formerly Inn on the Blue Horizon)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the island's southern coastal road, less than a mile west of Esperanza on Vieques Island. The Blue Horizon Boutique Resort is perfectly situated on a bluff overlooking the waters of the Caribbean Sea; 800m of ocean front coastline. Its centerpiece is an airy seafront house, built in a Mediterranean style in 1975, whose soaring living area opens onto a view of the blue horizon. It's 10 air-conditioned rooms. Our Restaurant, Carambola and Blue Moon Bar open 7-days a week year-round! Massages are available in-room, cliff or pool side by our selective therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Horizon Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Boutique Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.