We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - definitely stay in Esperanza on Vieques!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bananas Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bananas Guesthouse
Save
You added Bananas Guesthouse to your Saves list
Barrio Esperanza, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 32 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
Chagrin Falls, OH, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location - definitely stay in Esperanza on Vieques!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bananas was a good place to stay in Esperanza especially for travelers who aren’t spending a whole lot of time in the hotel or are backpacking. I mean that in the best way possible, just that we were mostly going to the beaches and exploring or eating outside at their restaurant or getting beers at other places on the malecon. We simply slept in the room and that was about it and it works for the $90 a night rate. They have a powerful a/c unit for use while you are in the room which aids in sleeping well and nice fluffy beach towels for your use which was great since we didn’t pack any kind of towels. We did get woken up by roosters every day starting at 6am which is just kind of typical for the area, and they were doing some drilling and construction at 7am literally right into the wall that our headboard was against. A man was installing some doors or something. Nights were not bad as the restaurant closes at 10 on weeknights so we were able to get to sleep at a decent time. We got up early most days anyways to make the most of the daylight and explore. It’s easy to get to Bananas by a publico from the ferry and the view looking out over the water is gorgeous. You can also walk to Sombe (Sunbay) beach in ten minutes from this guesthouse. Cindy was nice and helpful in giving any of the guests tips about where to go and what to do. Great location – definitely stay in Esperanza!

Room Tip: I would try to get a room number that is higher as those would be farther away from the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Inexpensive, casual, and very enjoyable. It ain't the Ritz baby. It's a beach hotel with mostly sand floors. What more can you ask for. You want to see what it's really like in the islands stay here. We hung out with locals drinking on the curb all night. They have wild horses and some are ridden by locals. My daughter got to ride this one local guy's horse up and down the street all night while we hung out. A real experience. Staff are great. Normal folks having a good time. On a good day you can see St. Thomas from the bar. Nice...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We loved the Island of Vieques. We also enjoyed our stay at Bananas Guesthouse. The first night we were in a room on the side by the parking lot, so we could hear cars. The second night, we were in a room in the very back on the opposite side, with a great private patio. Both rooms had wall air conditioners, which worked fine for us. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the water was hot in the shower, the wifi kept kicking us off and we had a weak signal. There is a restaurant/bar attached, so if you don't like crowds or any noise, go elsewhere. This is a fairly basic guesthouse, so if you are looking for fancy, go somewhere else. But, overall, we had a good experience - nothing spectacular, but nothing terrible. The nightly rate was great for what we got on such a lovely island. As far as the other reviews about the openings above and below the doors, it appears that they have tried to correct this, at least in the rooms we were in. We had a good time, the customer service was good and we were happy. The location was perfect! We were right on the boardwalk in the cute town of Esparanza. The ocean was right out the front door!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Would not recommend. As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are not properly closed off as there are huge gaps under and above the doors and the windows do not seal properly when closed. A haven for mosquitos as we were half bitten to death. Would not recommend walking barefoot anywhere, even in the shower. The air conditioner also did not work properly which made it extremely uncomfortable and humid in the room. Owners were also extremely rude and one also harassed us constantly to remove the negative review we initially wrote while staying there (not sure how they got trip advisor to take it down in November 2014). Nothing was done to rectify any of the issues we had while staying there.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Isla de Vieques hotels

Livingston, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

My husband and I booked a week stay here for our babymoon when I was 6 months pregnant. This place is pretty horrible. The few photos we were able to find online prior to booking this place were deceiving. We were looking for something budget friendly but not a dump - especially for this price. We figured something basic with a clean bed and AC would suffice since we planned to be out exploring or at the beach for the majority of the trip anyway. We would have been better off camping!

All the rooms lead directly outdoors and are located off a long outdoor corridor. Most all of the rooms have at least a couple inches gap on top and bottom of the door leading to the outdoors so all the mosquitos and lizards and whatever else can come and eat you alive. The AC in all the rooms is horrible with the exception of one room that is a couple doors down from the kitchen (we originally requested to move from this room because we were awaken early the next morning by yelling workers and this was unacceptable for our vacation). We ended up staying in three different rooms because the rooms had horrible AC and we were being eaten alive at night. We actually had to buy plug in mosquito repellents to help us survive the short durations we stayed in the room! How sad is that?! I actually prayed for geckos to visit us in our room to help control the mosquitoes! They require that you turn the AC off in your room when you leave (not like it works anyway) but if you don't turn it off the maid service will be sure to turn it off for you. The bathrooms are filthy - mildew everywhere. We never took a shower without our beach flipflops. I'm more inclined to shower in my gym barefoot than in this place.

After the first night, we asked if we could cancel the remainder of our reservation and the owners told us it was not an option. They clearly were desperate for our business and did not want to issue us a refund or consider that when you're on a babymoon you're trying to have one last fun hoorah before your sweet little baby arrives and things change forever!
While they did try to accommodate us by moving us to different rooms, NONE of the rooms could possibly rectify the situation. It was so uncomfortable, we had horrible, sweaty sleep, and were so grateful to come home. I should also mention that many of the rooms do not have legit windows. They have screens and storm shutters only. So even if the portable AC units they have in the rooms did work it all flows right out the gaps around the doors and the windows!

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE: Halfway through the trip we experienced extremely horrible customer service by the wife of the couple who owns the place (See Yelp Review by Phil C) and ever since my husband posted his review we were harassed by the husband to take the review down. It was insane. Literally, every single day he asked us to take the review down without offering anything to rectify the horrible conditions we were being forced to stay in or just recognizing when to let greed go and give us our money back so we could try to enjoy the remainder of our vacation and spare themselves poor reviews
.
The only good thing about this place is the location on the Malecon (btw there is no beach right there...you have to walk at least a 1/4 of a mile to get to the closest one) and the servers that work at the restaurant attached to the guesthouse are super friendly.

Do yourself a favor - avoid this place like the plague. Maybe stop in for a drink or bite to eat (food is decent but nothing to write home about) but there are much better accommodations available!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015 via mobile

The restaurant and hotel staff are very nice people. A husband-and-wife own it and the restaurant is open late to hang out. The only thing I would recommend is to request a room towards back. In the morning, when they stock the bar there's a door that slams numerous times early about 7/8 am. Also the location being close to a night bar with loud music makes it hard to go to sleep before 1 or 2 AM. Great people and great staff just a tough location with surrounding circumstances. Definitely ask for room towards the back of the hotel. would recommend for the price.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

The rooms are a shack. The building is not properly constructed leading to many cracks and holes. Screens do not fit the windows properly. This leads to a huge mosquito infestation in your room. The hotel manager is not friendly. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bananas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananas Guesthouse

Address: Barrio Esperanza, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bananas is on island time: the clock in our bar landed on happy hour and never gains a minute. Come from the beach for a burger or salad, or stroll in at sunset for a pina colada. The office staff is always happy to guide you through options for transportation, bio bay and other activities. Island time means no worry, no hassle. We don't do wake up calls. In fact, our rooms don't have phones, or TV. They are comfortably furnished with an island decor and we don't scrimp on the towels. We are happy to point the way to the best snorkeling or swimming beaches, suggest kayaking, reef or fishing trips, tours of the bioluminescent bay and recommend dining spots on the island (but don't tell our chef)! Leave it all behind when you come here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bananas Guesthouse Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananas Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.