We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical cheesy W” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Save Saved
You added W Retreat & Spa Vieques to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a typical cheesy W”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This place was awesome. Its a smaller hotel that fits well into its surroundings on the beach. While modern/stylish its not obnoxiously cheesy like some Ws can tend to be. The pools and beach were great, but i'd definitely recommend renting a car to explore the beaches and restaurants on the south side of the island. The bio bay was one of the coolest things i've ever seen (do the kayak tour). Looks much nicer than the photos on the website too.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    267
    123
    63
    29
See reviews for
127
554
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We fell in love with the W Vieques...great property, excellent service. We had a great trip. Service was at it's best, they take really good care of their guests. I disagree with many of the negative reviews posted on here. It's a great place just to relax, forget about what's back home, and spend quality time with your partner.

Food lacks a bit, but again, because how much we were enjoying, we didn't really care about it. We went out for dinner one night at El Quenopo in Esperanza...and that was a great restaurant. Other than that, we relaxed by the pool on the beds everyday, had drinks and lunch there, and then had dinner at Mix or in the living room. Definitely recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

1) Whether you have an issue or not staying at a mostly gay male resort, you should at least know when you book what the resort is. I believe they need to decide to be either an adult/gay friendly resort or a family resort.
2) Hotel is on windward side of island. We were there 5 days Dec 29-Jan 3. Beaches were closed each and every day. No water activities which we were charged for in hotel fee were available at any time.
This is a $65.00 per day charge after they add tax on top of your room
3) Hotel has major problem with pool areas. Every day all chairs around both pools were taken by guests that were not even using them by 8am. Some were never used during the day, but you could not if you had not marked them early each morning. The hotel solution was for me to rent a cabana at an additinal 250.00 per day. This was in addition to the $65.00 we were already paying for something not available
4) New Years Eve party was a joke. Advertised as a dinner, music with a guest dj, dancing, it was actually burgers, fries, and someone playing music (techno) off their laptop. This was at an addittonal charge of $307.00 per couple. Advertised at $125.00 per person, but of course they added on 57.00 in tax, tip;, etc
5) Bedding in rooms is advertised as W Signature Bed, but I have stayed at enough W and Weston properties to know that is not what they have here. Since this was a Wyndom Property last year, it is my belief they put the W feather top and pillows on the old Wyndom beds. These are the worst beds I have ever experienced at ANY Sheraton property. I stayed at the Sheraton in Puerto Rico coming and going on this trip to the W in Vieques and it is very easy to tell the difference.
6) Part of the $65.00 per day charge is high speed internet. Do not expect high speed. It is slower than dial up and will drop your connection several times each time you use it.
7) I do want to compliment the employees at this resort. They have a great attitude and do not complain. They all realized the problems the management is having but are doing a great job taking care of the guests.
8) At the published rate of 609.31 per night for just a garden room before taxes and the 65.00 added room charge, this resort is highly overpriced for what they offer. Only one restuarant, two bars, and being on the windward side of the island, I would never chose to stay here again. They hotel is very nice, but too many major problems.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Let me start first by saying, my husband and I am world traveled and stay in everything from 6* to budget lodgings. I have worked in the industry and give allowances for things that can go wrong and am always very patient. We love everything from luxury to funky to rustic and don't travel with a lot of expectations. I also adore the Starwood brand and 99% of the time stay in Starwood hotels, but this W was "interesting" to say the least....the phrase we used to best describe our experience is "don't write a check your "rear" can't cash".

Yes it's beautiful kind of Camp W, meets Bohemian Chic, the rooms are spacious (unusual for a W) and has a laid back atmosphere. The guests were an eclectic (though mainly pretentious) mix from 80 year olds to 5 year olds, families and alternative couples.

The problem was the expectations that the W set with the Whatever Whenever slogan and the "Wish" telephone button. You throw that kind of bravado out there and you damn well expect it to be met. Our stay was the week of New Year's, the hotel was fully booked and woefully understaffed. It felt like a hotel that had only opened a week ago and just didn't seem to fit on an island where the horses roam wild in the streets. These are just "some" of the things we had to deal with during our stay. We would not stay here again nor would we recommend it to friends. There are other boutique lodgings in Esperanza or even a home rental we would consider next time.

1. Our room was not ready when we checked in at 5pm (check in is at 4pm), we were 2 drink tickets as a consolation but our room was not ready until 6:30pm.
2. The concierge was severely severely severely understaffed. Though we booked most of our own excursions, whenever we visited the concierge desk it was 3 people deep and everyone in front of us was complaining about some thing or another (dinner reservations screwed up, late car pick up, etcetera).
3. A reservation we made for an excursion with the concierge one evening was not made the following morning by the morning staff. It was only because we thought to check that we learned the reservation was not made and then concierge made the reservation while we waited. LUCKILY there was still space available considering it was a holiday week.
4. We had a room near the pool and could not sleep in with the door open to hear the ocean because the infernal awful "vibe" music started every single morning at 9:00am. That music should NOT start until at least 11:00am. Huge annoyance.
5. Some days the room was made up mid day. One day we came back at 5pm and the room had not been made yet. One day it was never made up at all. Some days there was evening turn down, other days there were not. On the days there was turn down sometimes chocolate was left, sometimes it was not, and one time they even removed chocolate from the room. Sometimes when the room was cleaned dirty glasses were not removed from the room.
6. We don't mind paying resort prices for cocktails but if you're going to charge $14 for a cocktail then fill the damn thing to the brim. Every single cocktail was short poured by 1/2" and was extremely weak.
7. Big lack of communication from hotel staff to guests - Front desk or "wish desk" didn't know what the menu was for the New Year's Eve Pool Party. There was never any communications about daily events, like the live evening music. Had we known about the entertainment, we may have stayed and spent our dollars at the resort rather than leaving the hotel and then coming back to walk into the middle of a full music show. There was no communication about the lunch BBQ at the pool, tiki grill at the cafe, nothing.
8. The W does not have a shuttle to take guests to various places on the island. Because of the lack of car rental availability on the island, the W should really employ their own shuttle vans to transport guests around the island (not just back and forth to the airport or to Red Beach). One that goes back and forth to the beaches until they close (2pm is too early for the last pick up from the beach). And one that goes back and forth to Esperanza, Isabele, etcetera similar to what the Starwood Vacation Ownership properties provide.
9. If you're a "coffee-er" you'll hate that there's no coffee maker in the room. There is complimentary coffee in the bar in the morning but when you wake up in the morning, you want coffee now, to enjoy on the balcony, not after you dress and stand in line with the masses.
10. Room service presentation was hit or miss. One night it was 3 stacked dishes on a tray with no extras (no rolls/butter with the salad) with no explanation/presentation by the waiter and 2 pepper shakers were brought instead of 1 salt. While the other in-room dining experience was full blown wonderful presentation with it all explained and beautiful presentation.
11. AC/electricity went out and all we got was a note, nothing for our troubles and the fact that our beverages in the mini frig got warm.
12. I recall seeing a note that said the resort fee of $60 would be waived yet we were charged for the resort fee.

The whole concept of Whatever Whenever "your wish is our command" fails because the expectation they set was horribly not met.

The only other item to note is this hotel is on the Atlantic side of the island, very windy and rough ocean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011 via mobile

Vieques is a beautiful island and you should definitely come see it. With that is mind here is what you need to know about the W: This hotel was a Wyndham in a previous life and it shows depite the recent overhaul. This is not even close to a 5 star hotel. The primary issue is the lack of service and unwillingness to assist with anything! In addition, expect bouts of no hot water in rooms, broken ac's, and unheated pools. In addition I have never been so nickel and dimed in my life. 5 dollars for filtered tap water in the hotel lobby, 32 dollars per person (before tax/tip) for breakfast buffet, and then of course the 65 dollar a day resort fee. I can go go on and on but I won't. This is not your typical W and keep in mind that I am the last person to ever waste time writing a review of ANYTIHING! Nuff said.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I realize sites like this suffer from negative bias. However, if I can save one person from going to the W Vieques it's worth violating my aversion to complaining.
If you want to get away and go somewhere that isn't spoiled: Vieques has gorgeous beaches, and fresh spiny lobsters, cool people and no crime. However, hanging at the W you'll feel more like you're in their Lexington Avenue, NY flagship - WITHOUT the quality of service. You'll be on the rough Northern facing part of the island amongst the very people you went on vacation to leave behind amid a system that CANNOT DELIVER the level of service that 7 or 8 grand a week can buy.
I would never waste a week there and I hope you don't!
Best,
J

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010 via mobile

The W is a beautiful, friendly guest-centered hotel. Even with tennis, pools, & a decent workout room there's not a lot to do. We were there for 3 days and the two beaches were closed all 3 days. The beaches on the Atlantic side of the island were too rough. I you can't go and do "ocean things" - kayaking, snorkeling, etc. - hanging at the pool is about the best you can do there. For what it costs to stay there - and eat and drink there - it's not a good value.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Starwood, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Vieques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.