We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort, Even Better Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added W Retreat & Spa Vieques to your Saves list
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Resort, Even Better Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you're looking for a resort in Vieques this place is great. The welcome at the airport is well done. They have a special "W waiting room" and take you on their shuttle to the hotel. Pool was really nicely setup and spacious with attentive service, the gym was great, our ocean villa rooms were large and right on the ocean (though the fan in the bathroom can't be turned off and roared all night.) Free wifi in room and around the hotel.

Food at dinner was Ok not great, but the touch of making smores on the fire pit for dessert was great. Service overall was eager and enthusiastic but lacks polish (somewhat expected on a small island.)

Seems to be best suited for young couples ages 20-35 looking for a nice boutique resort experience. Not particularly set up for families with kids.

Room Tip: Ocean Villas 222 and 223 were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    299
    131
    71
    35
See reviews for
142
605
22
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I lovvvved this property and want to go back. The open feel of the hotel, to the rooms with the gorgeous views, private beach, and tranquil vibe have me dying to return. I loved the layout of the decor and the staff were more than willing to help my friends and I schedule kayaking at the bio bay during our trip. The hotel is secluded and just perfect for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is a wonderful beach getaway! The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms and facilities are great, however the food is extremely disappointing and embarrassing for a W brand. I have stayed at many other W hotels around the world, where the food is always such a big feature and show of the hotel, but not this one.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have a great 4 day stay at the W Retreat. The weather was wonderful. The staff and people throughout Vieques were friendly and genuinely helpful. Transportation to and from the airport is provided by the resort with a nice lounge to hang out while waiting. Rickie (aka Rickie Ricardo) is a mellow soul to have around this place. I appreciate the help of the concierge (Mille) in getting our activities arranged for us.

While waiting for our rooms, we met our bartender Yamil, who made some of the classic DonQ mojitos, and some nice passion fruit flavored piña cicadas with Passoá. If you're late for dinner and can't make it to town before the closing time, you can simply grab an excellent meal at Sorcé on premise; speak with Javal for great recommendations.

Getting around town is easy either by rental car, taxi, or publicos. We ended up using Hector "Tito" Mercado (787) 219-3899 for our trips. He was quick and never picked up some other passengers instead of us.

The food around town is a nice mix of local eats, with sit down places. I prefer Esperanza for dinner because its a livelier scene. Try the mofongo at El Quenepo. It's deviates a little from the traditional recipe, but it will not disappoint with it's lobster goodness, and sizable enough to share.

For a great tour of the island, find Didi of Kiani tours (787) 318-7864. She's a great driver and knows the area well. We even took a brief walk around the ruins of the sugar cane mill.


Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dont event consider getting married here! After months and thousands of dollars in planning and preparation for the "perfect" one & only day....we were not able to actually be married here. The W wedding planner advised us to come 4 days early to the island to accommodate the proccess. We arrived 7 days before the supposed wedding date. We were told there would be an officiant who would guide us throught the process.... We brought all the documentation required (extensive) we were sent to purchase a $150 wedding stamp and the told to meet at the hospital for someone to review the info and give us the license.. But they were a NO SHOW. So we were told to wait for Thursday "the person may come" ... Then Thursday came NO magistrate .. Then told by the W the only way to get married was now to go back to the Main Land Friday... Really!! Why didnt we get it there before we came to W on Viesque!! Dan ruined..guest travelled far to see a us not get married :( Sucks!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The word retreat describes exactly the experience at the W Retreat and Spa in Vieques.
It is a very slow paced location which is exactly what we wanted. Not for those who want to go "clubbing." There is not hot spot. There are chill zones. Know what you want- this is away from everything and perfection in so many ways.
Restaurants are a little high priced but the food quality is excellent - well worth it! Everyday there is a special drink handed out at 6pm. It was so fun to see what complimentary beverage the bartender would come up with.
The rooms are kind of a mix between Anthropolgie and Arhaus - very funky and hip. It makes you feel young again! Try it- you'll like it.
Rent a Jeep and explore. Sun Bay beach was empty the day we went - we had it all to ourselves, except for the horses.
The BioBay Tour was beautiful. The stargazing was amazing. Unfortunately the guides were trying to entertain when nature would have sufficed. JAK Tours seemed a bit more nature friendly. Go in a glass bottom tandem kayak and choose the earliest or latest group to avoid huge crowds.
The weather is gorgeous even when it rains. Everyday there was a 2 min downpour. Have a waterproof bag with you at the beach or pool and just get in the water when it rains. It's amazing! How often do you get to do that? Our whole life we run for cover. Stay out in the rain and soak it up! Go get'em!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

From pick up to drop off our stay in Vieques was a pleasant one. From the scenic small Plane ride, to the W arrivals lounge; getting there is a memorable adventure. With the help of our very friendly W Ambassador Felix, we checked into our "Fabulous ocean view" room. The views and the grounds are beautiful. The rooms are very spacious, and the onsite dining options were very good. Make sure to rent a car and checkout some of the beaches around the island. There were a few bumps during our stay, but the important thing is that Management had great customer service and was quick to take ownership and fix the situation.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques
w Retreat And Spa Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Vieques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.