We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhh! Relaxation in Vieques!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Save Saved
You added W Retreat & Spa Vieques to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ahhh! Relaxation in Vieques!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was our second trip to Vieques and to the W (2010 and 2013). We returned to Vieques because it is so amazingly relaxing. Well worth the short flight from San Juan. When you arrive in Vieques, the W lounge is onsite offering a drink and cold towels - a great way to get the vacation started. The hotel is about 3 miles from the airport. Upon check-in, we were given a tour and told about the improvements that have been made since the last visit (including the restaurant). The views and property are gorgeous. We were upgraded to a villa on both trips and recommend the 2nd floor rooms in the villas as they have better views. We were initially shown to a first floor room in a villa that wasn't cleaned to the W standards. When we called to request that the room be cleaned, they moved us to another room - this time on the 2nd floor with a fun view of the secret pool. The villas are amazing with a small bar area, a living area, 1.5 baths and a bedroom. Lovely!

The resort is a fantastic place to relax. Wild horses wander the grounds and the resort is quiet. There are 3 pools - two in the main area and one up near the villas. The pool nestled into the villas is a black pool with twinkle lights, very private and romantic. The other pools have a pool bar and are more popular. There are 2 beach areas, including an adults only "european" beach. Both beaches are relatively small, but sandy and private. Most people are at the pool, so it is a quiet place to relax. Kayaks and snorkeling gear are available and can been done off the beach. Island car rental (onsite) rents jeeps - which is a fantastic way to see the island and get to all the great beaches. Blackbeard sports has free snorkel gear for W guests as well as chairs and umbrellas for rent. W cafe has picnic items or light breakfast items. Source (restaurant) has been upgraded to include more local ingredients. The food was fair to good, but a bit rich and almost like it was trying too hard. The menu was difficult to interpret and would benefit from clearer descriptions and translations - either printed on the menu or in the introduction by the server. The Living Room (bar/ small plates) has a free drink between 6-6:30 and has a number of small plates which can make a good dinner. We loved the fish tacos and the mezze plate. Skip the pizza - overcooked and sour tasting. The room is comfortable with typical W furnishings. The beds could be upgraded to be more comfortable - they are a bit lumpy and thin.

We loved our second visit as much as the first and will be back. It is our favorite place to relax!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have better views. Main pool area can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello,

I am glad to read you had a wonderful experience at the W Vieques. We are honored you have chosen us as your holiday retreat on two occasions!
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience.

I am sorry to hear the food did not exceed your expectations. As part of the continuous efforts to improve, we have been gathering our guests' feedback, and are happy to share that a new menu, showcasing local flavors, organic ingredients and in-house grown produce will be launched soon.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the island charm for a 3rd stay!

Warmest Regards,
Greg White - GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    267
    123
    63
    29
See reviews for
127
553
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Papillion, NE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here on a two-night stay on Vieques. If you fly in, collect your bags and head next door to the W Lounge for a free drink and ride to the resort. Driver was extra friendly. Checkin was easy followed by an "ambassador" whisking us off for a quick tour and drop-off at the room. Rooms are nice overall. First impression was absolutely incredible in terms of customer service.

Now why the title: depending on when and where you were people fell over themselves to help or couldn't care less. The W motto is whatever you need whenever. Sometimes we got the apathetic "whatever" or "whenever" being synonymous with "island time.". My pet peeve is employees either not recognizing your there or not identifying and fixing a problem.

Overall the resor is nice. Kids like the horses walking around. Pools, beach and gym were nice.

Other items of note:
- We went with two kids and discovered the resort is more adult than kid-friendly which is not a critique just and observation.
- Coffee must a be a controlled item! No in-room coffee maker. The hotel puts out free coffee at 7am in the lobby. On two days it was late. I went to get some at 630 and couldn't believe it. I had to wait and like others guests we wre milling around waiting. Eventually it came out late. I have no idea why they do this. It was frustrating and seemed as If they to wait for the coffee maker to show up for work.
- There is a great tub in the room but with the low-flow water it would take 45 mins to fill it up half way.
- Food is expensive on resort but realize it is $15 one-way to food by cab.
- Drinks were watered down. Almost asked if we got a virgin piña colada by mistake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to share in detail your experience. We very much appreciate your positive feedback as well as the points in which you felt your expectations were not exceeded. We will certainly look into the matters you address, to continue on improving.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for an experience that truly conveys all the values that the W Retreat & Spa stands for!

Warmest Regards,
Greg White – GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay for a great time in paradise. Beautiful rooms, lobby, pool everything is really nice. Didn't tried the food but restaurant seems to be really good. The island offers some of the most beautiful beaches you can see, lot of amenities for couples or whole families. Definetely will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear CharliePin,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback with us!

I am thrilled to read your expectations were exceeded. Our purpose as a team is certainly to play a crucial role in the creation of an unforgettable experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to yet another wonderful stay!

Warmest Regards,
Greg White - GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My stay at the W in Vieques was due to a professional conference. I cannot thank the company's executive team enough for choosing this tropical, lush, exclusive venue!
From the arrival at the tiny airport, where the charming Hiriam took care of every detail, to the effortless check-in at the reception...the entire team was schooled in customer service service that was always present and never intrusive.
The Starwood corporate liaison working with our company was first-rate and bubbly; she also was always dressed to the T for every function in this island paradise.
I loved the food, especially the breakfast fare, and the to-order preparation of omelets by Jose Codero deserves a extra mention. His smile and friendliness were the perfect start to the day. Thank you Team W Vieques, this conference will be a fond memory for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Ulrike H,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us!
I am delighted to read you had a wonderful stay. I will make sure to extend your positive feedback to the entire team. I am sure everyone will be thrilled to know they had such an important contribution in making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Greg White - GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan P.R
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We expect the weekend ,the rooms are beautiful, the view amazing
The beach bad , many rocks
The food expensive and bad
is better rent a car and eat out .
The transportation to vieques by ferry a disaster
The hotel should buy tickets for the guesses
Wine list also needs improve

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hello Rosikika,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share in detail your experience. We very much appreciate your positive feedback as well as the points in which you felt your expectations were not exceeded. We will certainly look into the matters you address, to continue on improving.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to an experience that truly conveys the values for which the W Vieques stands for!

Warmest Regards,
Greg White – GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the W Retreat & Spa Vieques in June. I'd recommend this time of year--the slow season-- it was as though we had the whole place to ourselves. From the moment we arrived the staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. They were always friendly, personable and knowledgable. A special shout out to Felix, Adalberto, Alexis and Decka who truly lived the W's "Whatever Whenever" motto. They made the experience so special! The beaches were gorgeous and secluded, we were often the only people there! I'd also recommend upgrading to an ocean view room, totally worth it! Everything was so lush and vibrant! The retreat boasts three awesome pools-- one with music playing under water-- but our favorite, The Punch Bowl, was a very private pool with twinkle lights in it, surrounded by greenery. Super romantic. We actually had to have them show us where it was as was so far from the main retreat areas. This is definitely a resort for couples. We were sad to leave. We joked that we'd be planning all of our vacations around W locations in the future... However, we may do exactly that! We've stayed in a few other hotels throughout Puerto Rico since leaving the W and nothing has come close to our experience there. "Well, it's not the W" has become a new phrase for us. We will certainly be returning to the W Retreat & Spa Vieques.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

I am delighted to read you had a wonderful stay.
I will make sure to extend your positive feedback to Adalberto, Felix, Alexis and Deka, who I am sure will be thrilled to know he had such an important contribution in making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, for yet another amazing experience!


Warmest Regards,
Greg White - GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June and I believe it was the quiet time of year. We practically had the whole place to ourselves! From the moment we arrived retreat staff was attentive and genuinely helpful. A special shout out to Adalberto, Felix, Alexis and Deka who really lived the W's "Whatever Whenever" motto. They were so knowledgable about all the regular tourist stuff but also eagerly answered our cultural questions, and numerous inquiries about where to go and what to do. I'm not sure the towns (Isabel II and Esperanza) were worth spending much time in. A lot of ppl will tell you to visit the other beaches (off of the retreat grounds). Blue Beach and Red Beach were pretty but the private W beaches were truly breathtaking. They had multiple beaches on site with lush greenery and no condos in sight. Just nature. There were rarely more than one or two other couples on the beach with us. If you do travel off site, see Playa Negra, it's rugged and a bit off the beaten path, a half mile walk down a wooded area to the beach, but worth it. Secluded and a bit more raw. Lots of black sand. Back at the retreat, the pools and cabanas were refreshing-- two pools right in front of the ocean, one played music under water! There's also a third almost secret pool called the Punch Bowl, very private with twinkle lights. This pool was super romantic. The food on the island in general was a bit disappointing. The W food was about in line quality and price wise with the other places so it doesn't really matter where you eat. We were sad to leave and when we come back to PR we will probably spend more time in Vieques at the W and less in San Juan. Between the service and the beauty, we joked that we will be planning all of our future vacations around W locations... We actually might do just that!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WViequesGM, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Good day,


Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

I am delighted to read you had a wonderful stay.
I will make sure to extend your positive feedback to Adalberto, Felix, Alexis and Deka, who I am sure will be thrilled to know he had such an important contribution in making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warmest Regards,
Greg White - GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Starwood, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Vieques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.