We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again! Better than ever-” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Save Saved
You added W Retreat & Spa Vieques to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Back again! Better than ever-”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited the W Retreat again last week, almost a full year after we went in 2012. We found many improvements to the hotel in the past year and were excited to be back! We arrived to the W where the occupancy was about 50%, only half full. I cannot tell you what a difference this made. No searching for pool chairs, no loud music, just pure relaxation! We were upgraded to an ocean front room in front of the Wet area, which was a nice change from our garden room we had last time. In contrast, the ocean front rooms are larger and much cooler than the garden rooms. A lot of the staff at the hotel was the same in the past year, and gone were the issues people have complained about with the staff- everyone seemed top notch. There are so many great things about this resort, and there were very little cons. I will list them out as pro/con just to make it easier:

PRO- cool vibe, amazing island, awesome hotel unlike anything you usually see, nice staff, great pools, nice having the car rental place onsite (rent the jeep and go to blue beach- it's amazing). Love the living room and the outside couches and chairs to watch the sunset. Best views of the ocean on the island. Great firepit.

CON- the shower curtain in our room smelled terrible- minor complaint- but it did stink up the room. The food here is so expensive. I remember it being the same last year, but somehow the quality was better. This year each thing I ordered at either the pool or W Cafe (we did not eat at the restaurant this year) just didn't seem as tasty or the portions as large as last year. Yes, I know it's a resort and it's supposed to be expensive, I get that, but it just seemed much more than usual, probably because the quality was not there. Also, they changed their mixed/frozen drinks to a mix from hand making them last year- again, not huge- but they weren't as tasty and it kept me from ordering from the bar. The W Cafe which we used so much last year, we didn't really use much, we felt the food selection wasn't as good and the coffee wasn't as tasty- go figure.

One thing to note about the restaurants in Vieques during this late April/early May timeframe (slow season) is that they take off certain days and some are closed for weeks at a time. We ended up eating some good meals but we had to plan them in advance based around their schedule. We were disappointed that our favorite El Quenepo was closed the entire time we were there- but we found some other new favorites. Call Miguel to get you to and from.

All in all, it was a great trip! We loved being at the W and would love to come back to Vieques. It's such a unique and amazing island- if you like being remote and just relaxing- it's really the place to go.

Room Tip: Try to get an oceanfront room- they are the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana P, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Good day Angela S,

I am delighted to read you have chosen the W Vieques on two occasions as your holiday destination.

Thank you for taking the time to share in detail your experience. We very much appreciate your positive feedback as well as the points in which you felt your expectations were not exceeded.
We will certainly look into the matters you address, to continue on improving the quality of the service we extend to the guests.

I am looking forward to welcoming you on a third occasion!

Warmest Regards,
Greg White – GM W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    267
    123
    63
    29
See reviews for
127
553
20
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Where do I start? Such a disorganized place.

FOOD
Got served a turkey sandwich at the W cafe, only thing wrong was the turkey was RAW and still frozen, inside the sandwich. How can that even happen? What is the "cook" thinking while making the sandwich? Manager apologized and told me that the actual cook was not there, and his assistant made the sandwich. By the way, it took about 45 minutes for them to get the order to me while I sat at the table, unbelievable shoddy service all around. Forget room service. Ordered the food, but it never came.... wonder who got the order? It did not show up on the final check out bill.... No Keurig coffee makers in room either, you need walk to the front desk ( it was free coffee there ).

POOL
Lots of kids, although the pool was nice. The pool bar does close at 4pm, so don't think about enjoying a beer by the pool during sunset, which I think is absurd. There are weddings or ceremonies or parties every night at the pool, can get loud, so on Sunday morning there were hundreds of W plastic glasses everywhere by the pool still filled with the leftover booze they drank the night before.

ROOM
Nice room, had a tub in middle of room, extra large shower, cool sink, comfortable bed and decent AC. Sand was on the floor from the previous guest still, swinging chair stunk of sweat....

GROUNDS
Nice well maintained grounds, very tropical.

SHOP
Forget it. The shop is not managed by a stateside corporation, but by some underfunded entity, maybe the hotel itself? No selection on souvenirs, or anything else for that matter. Just a place for buying a bottle of water at most.

SPA
Overpriced forget it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
May 3, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback here on TripAdvisor. I personally read and respond to each of these reviews, and take action on what is written. We take our service very seriously, and when there are breakdowns in service, we address them. So thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Greg White
GM- W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the W hotel for a few days. The property is beautiful-great pool & great room. However, there are a ton of opportunity areas. The male concierge is horrible. He's lazy so don't expect him to go out of his way to do anything for you. He will not make any reservations for anything not endorsed by the hotel. Another opportunity area is the food. This hotel is away from everything and unfortunately the food is bad and pricey. But the service is worse at the restaurant. Rest assured the front desk staff is amazing! Ask them for anything and they will go out of their way to help you. Overall Vieques is beautiful. But the W is not worth $600 per night for that price you're better off at another luxury hotel in Hawaii or another island.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
May 3, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the positive and negative feedback a like, as it helps us improve our overall service standards. I'm sorry to read you encountered a breakdown in our service and overall felt disappointed. We are addressing the issues you mention, but thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Greg White
GM- W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for three nights and very much enjoyed the hotel. Stayed in Ocean Front Room, well laid out and comfortable. Pool especially enjoyable. Grounds of property are wonderful, with plenty of places to sit and relax all through the resort. Staff generally ok, but not especially knowledgeable, particularly the concierge. We inquired as to snorkling trip and tour of the islands and she just gave us a list of providers. She did not offer any insight as to which to choose, nor were they able to give us any general info on the experience, which parts of the island to visit, etc. Since that is main activity of island, not sure what else they do. Overall nice experience.

Room Tip: ocena front down the shore, away from pool and main building which can be busy and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello,

May 3, 2013


Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you had a lovely stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the island in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM- W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you want romance and seclusion at a fine hotel, this is it. It is so secluded you have to realize all the prompt services are not going to be there every moment. Less people means less people, period. BUT, it is clean and the food is good. I heard many of the resturants on the island are great. Wade was excellent at the hotel. There is not much they won't do for you. The view is like Hawaii and the island is still un touched in so many areas. Don't miss this special tree they showed us on the bike tour. At first I thought, oh another tree but the details and the story is amazing. Do be careful of the wild horses, they do tend to run and although someone on the island really does own them, they run the island free. It is still a secret that you will enjoy uncovering.

Room Tip: Face the ocean. Breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
April 25, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you had a lovely stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the island in the future.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM-W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The property is very nice, and the location is quite good, but for the money, there are better places. I need to stay at more places on Vieques to offer a better hotel on the island, but I'd try somewhere else next time. I'm probably stuck too much on the cost, which was very high, but it's just not a good value. It just feels like they are sticking the highest possible price on every single aspect of the trip, and the service, quality and accommodations are just not in the price range they are charging. We spent over $2000 for six nights, not counting food, equipment rental, or any other fees. Nothing was special. Wild horses on property was cool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
April 25, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the positive and negative feedback a like, as it helps us improve our overall service standards.

we hope you'll come back to the island again in the future.

Greg White
GM-W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is beautiful-very chic. The room I had was large and very hip. The location and the views are fabulous. Having said that this hotel does not deliver a four star experience by any means. Check in is supposed to be 4pm-I was not able to get into my room till after 5pm-and there were no apologies and no effort to make me feel comfortable while I had to wait. My room upon arrival seemed to be clean enough but during my stay the staff did not clean the room well at all-in fact it was so poor that i had to call the front desk to see if they were planning on coming back. The clerk replied that the room had been cleaned and when i explained that it was not cleaned well at all. he said Im sorry what would you like me to do? YIKES-this is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. One day they left soap in the room the next day they left some other products which made me realize that they clearly were not paying attention to the details. The food was poor to really poor so if you plan to stay at this hotel rent a car and go outside of the hotel for your meals. I asked for a apple martini and they did not know how to make it and did not have the ingredients to make one-again not a four star experience. I was impressed with the views and the decor but the service and attention to detail in not there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVieques, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Vieques, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
April 25, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the positive and negative feedback a like, as it helps us improve our overall service standards. I'm sorry to read you encountered a breakdown in our service and overall felt disappointed. We are addressing the issues you mention, but thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Warmest,

Greg White
GM - W Vieques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Retreat & Spa Vieques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Vieques

Address: State Road 200 Km 3.2 - HC1 | Box 9368, 0000765, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Retreat & Spa Vieques 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on two private, secluded beaches, the W Retreat & Spa Ð Vieques Island in Puerto Rico provides the perfect getaway for a relaxing and luxurious villa-style vacation with infinite indulgences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Starwood, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Vieques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Vieques
w Retreat & Spa Vieques Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Vieques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.