We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS VILLA WILL BLOW YOUR MIND!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Uno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Uno
1 Victor Duteil Street | Isabel Segunda, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“THIS VILLA WILL BLOW YOUR MIND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Upon arrival via ferry to the island you can see the magnificent place you will be staying and already your excited. While this villa can be rented out separately as different units, we had 13 people and rented the whole thing. Every attention to detail from the art on the walls to the open air showers and staircase to the ocean shows you how much work went into making this the most beautiful place to stay on the island. Its an easy walk to the ferry and perfectly located to a super market (which is cheap and you can find EVERYTHING you need) and just a few short blocks to our new favorite bar 'Als'. All of the bedrooms are amazing, most have their own bathroom and the kitchen/laundry has stainless updated appliances. The pool perfectly overlooks the ocean. Although we had a small problem with its filtering, a person was sent out to fix the problem within a day. I warn you to be careful the whole house is carpeted in marble and it can cause some very slippery surfaces, be sure to pack some rubber flip flops. The owners provide Kayaks for you to take out on the ocean for little adventures, its nice to have free amenities for those days you just wanna hang at the house.
As for getting around the island, car rentals are not exactly cheap (about $95 a day with gas and taxes). We decided to rent a mix of Mopeds and cars one day to further explore the island and check out the nicer beaches (Red beach has such amazing sand and water, while Navio has waves and the piers near Sun Bay are great for jumping off) Esperanza is only about 5-10 minutes away and while you can take a publico (taxi) they are unreliable for randomly picking you up. So get a phone number and schedule your pick-up drop off times, the cost of a publico is $3 per person. Esperanza is certainly more a place for its nightlife, but when you travel with 13 people you can make a party anywhere you go. Overall it was a great experience and If we go back to PR in the future we would love to stay here again :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The only place you should stay in Vieques - an amazing combination of indoor/outdoor living, perfectly located in town, with everything you could possibly need to make it an unforgettable vacation. Bedrooms each have A/C, swimming pool well designed with amazing views of the ocean, perfect for a group of friends or family.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

First, the headline: If you're in the market for a vacation experience second to none on Vieques, Villa Uno is hard to beat.

We had two families with three kids in each, ranging from 8-15 years old and went to Vieques for the first time this Easter. We relied largely on previous Tripadvisor reviews in selecting a property for our group. We were not disappointed. The property itself is amazing. From the fantastic views of the Atlantic to the design aesthetic, Villa Uno is truly a unique property. The layout affords a great deal of privacy while also having well thought-out common areas that are conducive to group gatherings. Decorations are top-notch (the beds are VERY comfortable too) and it is also equipped with everything you might need to make a vacation truly enjoyable (although it took the teen boys a day or two to get over the lack of a TV!). The pool was a welcome sight for the kids each night while the adults could relax and read or chat poolside. The pictures online do not do justice to the beauty of the place.

Villa Uno's location in the middle of Isabella Segunda is ideal for shopping and dining. Supermercado Morales is located conveniently a block away, and there are ample choices for dining, both casual and fine.

A strong recommendation if you are going to Vieques for the first time: get a rental car, and book it well in advance. Our trip was booked relatively late and we had trouble in this area, being lucky enough to secure one very late from Martineau Car Rental. They also have our hearty recommendation, by the way. Being on Vieques for a day before we got a rental car and being reliant on the local taxis (Publicos) left us glad to be get the rental. The publicos are just not reliable enough, and want to know how far you are going and how many people you have before committing to a rida (I was not able to figure out the optimal number). We rented an SUV and it was essential to get to some of the more remote beaches (Navio, Mosquito Bay for the Bio-Bay tour).

Overall, Vieques was a memorable vacation and Villa Uno was the highlight of that trip for sure. It has our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

What a find! We were extremely fortunate to book our long overdue vacation at the Villa Uno. Everything about the property was well thought out and artfully executed. The owners have spared no expense to make this property an exceptional place to stay on Vieques. All the spaces were inviting and allowed for privacy within each level of the house. The house is equipped with almost everything you need for a relaxing stay. We had access to beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and snorkel gear. All you need to bring is the sunscreen! If you like to cook, both levels have fully equipped kitchens, so we did not need to go out for every meal. Sunset views were amazing and different every day from the terraces. There was nothing better than ending a day of sunning at the beaches in the terrace pool watching the sunset (with a cocktail in hand).

The location was convenient to the town - the bakery, nearby restaurants and groceries. If you do not heed the advice about getting a car rental early, you can walk to everything you need. We had a rental car and explored every street on the island during our 10 day stay. At the end of the day, we were lucky to be coming home to such a wonderful relaxing, retreat.

The owners were extremely helpful with their advice about transportation, dining, car rentals and all the miscellaneous questions you might have when traveling to Villa Uno.
When we return to the island, we would definitely stay here again and again and again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We just spent one week at Villa Uno with my sisters, sister-in-law, their spouses, and three small children. Villa Uno was the perfect escape. The pictures on the Villa's website, although beautiful, cannot capture how beautiful the space is. It is a gorgeous, modern space with many levels, which helped create a nice sense of privacy for the four couples staying at the Villa. We rented the entire Villa and enjoyed the pool that overlooked the Atlantic Ocean. There were two well equipped kitchens and beautiful bathrooms and two outdoor showers. There is a beautiful separate patio that has a large outdoor table where we enjoyed a Caribbean lobster feast. The house is arranged with large social spaces, which was very accomodating to our large group. The stairs connecting the pool to the rest of the house were fairly open and the marble floors can get very slippery when wet, so you do need to be careful with small children. We would definately return to this Villa when visiting Vieques again. Next time I would take the Ferry to the island as it is only a few blocks from the Villa. There is also a great bakery only 1 block away, as well as a well-stocked supermarket. We enjoyed that we were not in a touristy location and felt secure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

If you want a vacation where you can completely unwind, run -- don't walk -- to Villa Uno Vieques. It is located in a spectacular location right on the water with a private beach. From any number of patios and outdoor spaces, you can read, sunbathe, play cards, or just ponder life's mysteries. In the evening, gaze at miraculously beautiful sunsets and clear, moon-lit skies. The indoor living spaces and bedrooms offer every comfort and convenience. And the colors are the Caribbean at its finest. The Villa is perfect for a couple, a family, or a group of friends. The lay-out is simply perfection: ample spaces for privacy or for conviviality; initimate lunches, grand cocktail parties or dinners. Even the swimming pool design is inspired. Could there be a Michelangelo influence? Check it out for yourself! All the essentials are provided: from top of the line kitchen appliances and utensils to linens and lounge chairs. Villa Uno Vieques is perfect for the discriminate traveler -- one who is accustomed to the finer things in life but who seeks convenience and comfort in today's rushed times. Perhaps Villa Uno Vieques can best be described as "accessible luxury."

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

After a full day of shopping, snorkeling and beach-combing, returning to Villa Uno every evening was the highlight of the day! Spectacular ocean view from our bedroom window (not to mention the panoramic views just outside our door--Atlantico Suite, master bedroom). Beautiful iron grillwork lined the terrace. Fully equipped and stunning kitchen with modern appliances made cooking meals (even baking a birthday cake!) seem effortless. The washer and dryer (complete with soap and dryer sheets) allowed us to pack light and still be fresh! The owners thought of everything, from gel soaps to beach bags and waterproof cameras! All we had to do was have fun. Villa Uno was also about a 2-minute walk from the best restaurant (Coconuts) with an award-winning chef. Being 1 block from a grocery store, and less than a 5-minute walk to the most delicious bakery on the island made me want to move to Vieques permanently! I can't believe Villa Uno is actually in-town, because all you can hear is the sound of the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Uno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Uno

Address: 1 Victor Duteil Street | Isabel Segunda, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty lodging in Isla de Vieques
Also Known As:
Villa Uno Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Uno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Uno to your Saves list