We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Uno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Uno
1 Victor Duteil Street | Isabel Segunda, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
avalon, n.j.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

What an amazing place!! Besides being architecturally interesting and unique, this house has one of the most amazing views. It is right on the beach. The ocean laps at the stairs and the sound of the waves is mesmerizing. Great spot to collect beach glass, too.

We travelled to Vieques to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. We had a group of 15 staying with us. The house easily accomidated us, comfortably. Most of the rooms have fantastic private bathrooms with large rainhead showers. Very relaxing after a day exploring.

We had Chris from Buen Provecho cater a party for us. He did a fantastic job. The night of the party there was an island wide blackout. With a just grill and candlelight, Chris and his team pulled off a wonderful night. The top deck at Villa Uno is the perfect place to have a party or just a quiet dinner.

Clark, the owner of the Villa was exceptionally helpful. Every person he referred us to, was great to deal with. Car rentals, caterers, etc.

We can't wait to return to Villa Uno and the island of Vieques.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

Wow! My wife planned my 50th birthday get away with some family and friends and I got to pick the spot. I selected Villa Uno because it was on the water, it could hold alot of people, and it looked pretty nice. Well no matter how many photos you view it won't possibly capture the magnificence that is Villa Uno. At first glance it seems a little chopped up. Only when you begin to use the space do you understand the thought that went into the design. Each area has it's own unique view and ambiance. The decor is fun with art and accessories crafted from found items.
The location could not be much better. Easy walking distance from the ferry, grocery store(right around the corner), Al's Mar Azul Bar, downtown, art galleries, good restaurants, Blackbeards dive shop, hardware store, just about everything you need.
We met Cap'n Jay the first day who lives on the next block runs Captain Jay's Sail Away. One of his sailboats, Breezes, a 40' sloop is parked right out front. He took 8 of us on a half day sail/snorkel trip which was very reasonable and extremely fun. He and his mate Samir went out of their way to make sure everyone had a great time.
My wife used Buon Provencho to cater my birthday dinner at the recommendation of Clark and they did an amazing job, in the dark no less. The entire island lost power for about 6 hours. The food was great, the service was great, and with the lights out, the stars were amazing! What an evening!
This just at the house We could have stayed at the house and had a beautiful relaxing time but Vieques has alot to offer so we did alot of snorkeling, exploring, eating & drinking.
Villa Uno is great spot to enjoy it all. A little hazardous for kids under six due to open staircases.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Villa Uno is likely one of the nicer places to stay in Vieques that is on the water. It is within walking distance to the ferry port, grocery market, a few nice restaurants, and the down town area. The villa is modern and can be completely opened up by swinging open the double doors and windows, giving a very airy feeling. The home has very good security, offers bikes and kayaks, a washing machine/dryer, and has a great salt water swimming pool with an ocean view. Our kitchen could have used a little more cleaning but it wasn’t bad overall.
My only other complaints are with the island itself, not the villa...since the villa is located down town it can be loud in the morning if you plan on sleeping past 7am. It seems like there may be a competition on the island for the person with the loudest stereo in their car, regardless of how bad it sounds., although this may not be an issue if you have a bedroom on the ocean side of the villa. I’ve read problems on the island with petty-theft, but we didn’t experience it...just be smart with your actions. Leave your car windows down or doors unlocked (to prevent damage to the car) and your valuables with you. There are areas of the island that are very beautiful but also areas that are very dirty, where people have dumped garbage or thrown things on the ground...I would think if the island wanted to attract more tourism they would keep it cleaner and make this the island paradise it could be. Unemployment is high, let’s put those people to work cleaning up.
PS - If you do go to Vieques make sure you take the bio-luminescent bay tour and plan on swimming...it’s an out of this world experience.

Room Tip: Arrange for an ocean side bedroom, its likely quieter than those on the town side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Just imagine this place was developed by two architects - so we knew we were in for something special - but had no idea it would actually be better than the photographs you are looking at. I brought 6 couples to Vieques to celebrate my 60th birthday. We wanted a high end experience knowing that our group was used to experiencing the finer things in life and we were not disappointed! Villa Uno's unusual art deco design makes everyone feel their living quarters are unique because they are! The owners have gone to great time and expense to create a 1st class atmosphere. The unique scupltures and artwork make bring the form and function of the building to life! Everyone in our party felt they had the best accomodations. The salt water pool overlooking the harbor and incredible scenery were simply amazing and it was a gathering point for daily sunbathing, drinking a rum punch or for casual conversation. We saw the most incredible sights and sounds from the outdoor balconies such as a morning rainbow that filled the sky, multicolor panoramic sunsets, a fisherman throwing his net just below our seaside balcony from his boat to catch bait fish, and Pelicans surfing just above the waves. If you don't believe me, go to Youtube and type in (Villa Uno balcony scenes) to see what I mean. The kitchen was well equiped and we enjoyed many meals prepared on site. Villa Uno was so complete that you really had to have a compelling reason to leave the compound. We used the 2 kayaks daily which were supplied at no extra expense to explore the harbor and beaches, The central location of our villa was a real plus since we could walk less than 200 yards and have access to such places as: Al's (best bar), the bakery (fantastic pastries), Coconuts (wonderful dinners), fish market (lobsters so big they were frightening) and the coming and going of the ferry. We did everything thing the island had to offer including: a beach trail ride on Paso Fino horses, bioluminscent bay swim, sail and snorkle with Captain Bill, travel and exploration to 17 different beaches (my pick for the best was Red and Secret beaches). We got around the island with mopeds and a jeeps which were al ot of fun. Everyone on the island was friendly and helpful. Simply put, rent Villa Uno and come to Vieques and you will have the experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Upon arrival via ferry to the island you can see the magnificent place you will be staying and already your excited. While this villa can be rented out separately as different units, we had 13 people and rented the whole thing. Every attention to detail from the art on the walls to the open air showers and staircase to the ocean shows you how much work went into making this the most beautiful place to stay on the island. Its an easy walk to the ferry and perfectly located to a super market (which is cheap and you can find EVERYTHING you need) and just a few short blocks to our new favorite bar 'Als'. All of the bedrooms are amazing, most have their own bathroom and the kitchen/laundry has stainless updated appliances. The pool perfectly overlooks the ocean. Although we had a small problem with its filtering, a person was sent out to fix the problem within a day. I warn you to be careful the whole house is carpeted in marble and it can cause some very slippery surfaces, be sure to pack some rubber flip flops. The owners provide Kayaks for you to take out on the ocean for little adventures, its nice to have free amenities for those days you just wanna hang at the house.
As for getting around the island, car rentals are not exactly cheap (about $95 a day with gas and taxes). We decided to rent a mix of Mopeds and cars one day to further explore the island and check out the nicer beaches (Red beach has such amazing sand and water, while Navio has waves and the piers near Sun Bay are great for jumping off) Esperanza is only about 5-10 minutes away and while you can take a publico (taxi) they are unreliable for randomly picking you up. So get a phone number and schedule your pick-up drop off times, the cost of a publico is $3 per person. Esperanza is certainly more a place for its nightlife, but when you travel with 13 people you can make a party anywhere you go. Overall it was a great experience and If we go back to PR in the future we would love to stay here again :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The only place you should stay in Vieques - an amazing combination of indoor/outdoor living, perfectly located in town, with everything you could possibly need to make it an unforgettable vacation. Bedrooms each have A/C, swimming pool well designed with amazing views of the ocean, perfect for a group of friends or family.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

First, the headline: If you're in the market for a vacation experience second to none on Vieques, Villa Uno is hard to beat.

We had two families with three kids in each, ranging from 8-15 years old and went to Vieques for the first time this Easter. We relied largely on previous Tripadvisor reviews in selecting a property for our group. We were not disappointed. The property itself is amazing. From the fantastic views of the Atlantic to the design aesthetic, Villa Uno is truly a unique property. The layout affords a great deal of privacy while also having well thought-out common areas that are conducive to group gatherings. Decorations are top-notch (the beds are VERY comfortable too) and it is also equipped with everything you might need to make a vacation truly enjoyable (although it took the teen boys a day or two to get over the lack of a TV!). The pool was a welcome sight for the kids each night while the adults could relax and read or chat poolside. The pictures online do not do justice to the beauty of the place.

Villa Uno's location in the middle of Isabella Segunda is ideal for shopping and dining. Supermercado Morales is located conveniently a block away, and there are ample choices for dining, both casual and fine.

A strong recommendation if you are going to Vieques for the first time: get a rental car, and book it well in advance. Our trip was booked relatively late and we had trouble in this area, being lucky enough to secure one very late from Martineau Car Rental. They also have our hearty recommendation, by the way. Being on Vieques for a day before we got a rental car and being reliant on the local taxis (Publicos) left us glad to be get the rental. The publicos are just not reliable enough, and want to know how far you are going and how many people you have before committing to a rida (I was not able to figure out the optimal number). We rented an SUV and it was essential to get to some of the more remote beaches (Navio, Mosquito Bay for the Bio-Bay tour).

Overall, Vieques was a memorable vacation and Villa Uno was the highlight of that trip for sure. It has our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Uno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Uno

Address: 1 Victor Duteil Street | Isabel Segunda, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty lodging in Isla de Vieques
Also Known As:
Villa Uno Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Uno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Uno to your Saves list