We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches, friendly service, good prices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Viequense Deli

La Viequense Deli
Calle Antonio Mellado | Isabel Segunda, Puerto Rico
787 741 8213
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, friendly service, good prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We ordered 4 six inch sandwiches loaded with delicious meats, cheeses and vegetables on Sabao bread. Not gourmet but not supposed to be. These sandwiches are heavenly! Order them to go and bring them to the beach - they'll still be hot and gooey when you take your first bites! We ordered two cubanos, one egg, and mine was the Viequense and it was stupendous. Also ordered some homemade cheesecake and it wasn't as good as the sandwiches.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    42
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
1 review
“Cbp trip to the Best Bakery in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a must-try place for a breakfast if you are in Vieques...wonderful place with a Great service,food, employees all the time...the quality and experience was priceless...and the company breathtaking...can't wait to go visit again...Good memories i left there...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hot cubano like sandwiches worth going for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is a wonderful bakery when Viequenses and Tourists all go. Coffee delicious, hot sandwiches a special treat and Pan de Agua bread a favorite of my kids. The pastry is home made and very special. The bread pudding when it is available is the best ever. I like the people, the staff, the place. They are always kind.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Get your picnic lunch here. Great sandwiches that are worth the wait. Service is a bit slow but relax you are on holiday.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I love this bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a must-try if you are on Vieques. I went there twice and tried something different each time. The bread is very good and the pastries are delicious, especially the cheesecake. The first time I went there, the girl behind the counter was a bit gruff, probably because it was 5 minutes until closing though. Once we explained that we just wanted some bread and pastries to go, she was much nicer. The second time, it was a different girl and she was very nice and explained what the different pastries were (but then again, it was 1pm, not 5 minutes to 4pm). I didn't try the sandwiches but they sounded very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Viequense Deli also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Viequense Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Viequense Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.