We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Hangout With Great Food, Services, and Ocean Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duffy's

Duffy's
Calle Flamboyan | Esperanza, Puerto Rico
787 741 7000
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
730 helpful votes 730 helpful votes
“Fun Hangout With Great Food, Services, and Ocean Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Duffy's is the perfect place to hang out with friends to enjoy every type of Margherita you can conjure up, along with grilled seafood or hamburgers, and excellent service. The beach is across the street and the views are really magnificent. If they aren't playing Jimmy Buffet music when you get there, wait 10 minutes or just ask them to put it on. The people who work there are friendly, polite, and efficient. It is the best restaurant in Esperanza. Sometimes when I'm working and need a mental get-a-way, I close my eyes and imagine that we are still sitting at the table at Duffy's:

"Wastin away again in margaritaville

Searching for my lost shaker of salt

Some people claim that there's a woman to blame

But I know it's nobodys fault"

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    144
    177
    84
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Nice meal on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The meal was pretty good. The prices were relatively cheap. The atmosphere was pretty good, you look out over the water. The service was pretty good too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Once was not enough.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Once I tried the fish tacos, I was hooked. Yum. We ate here several times. Can be loud in the evenings. But also saw families who seemed comfortable

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Best Place in Esperanza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A classic beach b&g with all the trimmings! It's got everything: eclectic music, great waitstaff, good food with a lot of choices, knowledgeable bartenders, and all the rustic laid back ambiance you'd expect in a beach side establishment. BONUSES: creative dishes, and the best beer selection we've ever seen at a beach bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Jimmy Buffet would love it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ok - unfortunately a Chain restaurant appropriated the name of a small beach bar in on some island... but THIS is the kind of place Jimmy Buffet had in mind when he sings Margaritaville.
Only it's better and they have great mojitos and pina coladas, and incredible selection of beer and decent bar bites! If you stay at Vieques, you will end up here sometime during your visit. And you'll be glad you did. Lots of tourists, sure, but lots of local flavor - including local kids driving by with their hoochie rides blasting their car stereos. Awesome view out front. Check it out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duffy's also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Duffy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duffy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.