We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, so/so service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duffy's

Duffy's
Calle Flamboyan | Esperanza, Puerto Rico
787 741 7000
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, so/so service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food was good, although wish it would have been more authentic. We by no means felt like we were in Puerto Rico, and the food was something you'd find in the states. Our server was also not a local and just seemed like she was too cool to be waiting on us. She was pretty allof, wasn't friendly and never once smiled. Food was a little pricey! I was expecting the food on the island to be more authentic and less pricey...I could get the same meal at a chain restaurant in the states for cheaper. I was really disappointed in that part! I wouldn't have minded the prices if I felt like I was getting something unique.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    193
    92
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“5/2013 - Nice Beach Eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wife and I had lunch at Duffy's. This beach bar/restaurant has a good location and a fairly good menu. I had the sesame noodle salad and my wife had the wahoo sandwich. The salad had a nice dressing I was not familiar, but vey flavorful; and shrimp and a single scallop. The wahoo was a little dry, but good. Iced tea is $2 per glass and no refills. This no refill tea situation is prevalent in Vieques and unlike Texas. Go figure. The service was slow...very slow! Larry & Kelly, Georgetown, Texas.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

love this place for the beer selection. food is pretty decent, but just stuck to some basic items like chips and guacamole, veggie burger, hummus burrito, which were all acceptable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Best $16 dollar lunch ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Chose restaurant at random, ordered the whole snapper and a beer and it was great. Fish tasted like it was caught that morning. Delicious. Friendly service and nice beach shack ambience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Day at the beach with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went to have a quick lunch with friends and the food was great!! The ambience was ok and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The music needs improvement, we are in a tropical island, they should offer a variety of all types of music. But over all it went well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duffy's also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Duffy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duffy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.