We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch at Bili” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bili

Bili
Amapola Inn, 144 Calle Flamboyan | Esperanza, Puerto Rico
787 741 1382
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lunch at Bili”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lovely table settings cloth napkins .. Professional wait staff. Delicious lunch and an interesting varied menu.. Attractive price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    121
    43
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Dinner arrived a little late, but the food was really good and, I think, worth it. Conch salad, lobster, mahi mahi, all delicious. The restaurant is very colorful and in keeping with the island feeling.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had consistently great food and service for 9 days in Puerto Rico, including 4 days on Vieques, with one notable exception - Bili's. It looks great from the street with colorful pastels, a nice open-air extension of the dining room and an interesting sounding menu. Sadly, the inviting looks were not matched by great food or service. Quite the opposite, the food was bland, over cooked, small portions, uninteresting, and VERY expensive. I never mind paying $30 or more for an entree if it's delicious and beautifully presented. But paying $30 for something that looks and tastes like it came out of a can or a package is hugely disappointing.

Case in point: conch fritters. 6 fritters each about the size of a marble. 90% dough and deep fried through so there was virtually no taste. And paella - allegedly "seafood paella" this came in a mini paella pan (like 6"). The rice was mushy, tomatoey, virtually no hint of saffron. And the only seafood I could find was a mussel, a clam, a couple very small calamari. No fish, no chicken, no scallop, no shrimp, no veggies. Definitely no flavor. Sadly, the worst paella I've ever had, dinky portion, and just $32!

The other reviews here suggest otherwise, so maybe it was just an "off night" when we were there. However, other guests that were staying in our hotel went to Bili's the next night and reported pretty much the same thing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“First time there was okay - second time was dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were pretty happy with the quality of the food at Bili's the first time we ate there last week. Actually, we thought their calamari was awesome. We didn't like the service or attitude of our waitress, however, as all of the other restaurants in Esperanza, Vieques, were super friendly and happy to be of service to us. On our last night on the island, we booked a table for two at Bili's once again. (Our favorite restaurant was closed on Mondays.)

We had a 6:30 pm reservation and planned to eat a variety of tappas for dinner, including the calamari. When we got there, the hostess took some time to find us on her list. She seated us in the FOYER! This was very strange considering our inn keeper made our reservation for us...

We ordered a glass of wine each, salads and 3 different tappas. The arrogant waiter returned shortly after taking our order and advised us that two of the items we ordered were not available. Mind you, these are not cheap appetizers. They did have calamari (rubbery and terrible) and we substituted conch fritters for one of our choices (mushy and no flavor or conch pieces to be found). This was the worst food we had on Vieques.

The entire time we were there, people were coming in without reservations and were turned away right and left. They used the rain as an excuse telling the people they just didn't have enough tables. Actually, the place was only half full the entire time we were there.

A group that knew the hostess was able to get a table without reservations - she put them outdoors under their canopy. It wasn't too rainy for them!!!

The wait staff looks down their noses at their customers. This is the only restaurant in Esperanza where we felt uncomfortable dining. I would never eat at Bili's again and will gladly share our story with others the next time we are on the island.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went there for lunch. Good food. Nice ambiance. Very friendly service. The plantains were fantastic - make sure you have them with whatever you're having.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bili also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.