We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Papaya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pink Papaya
Save
You added Pink Papaya to your Saves list
Esperanza, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Everything you need!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Spacious. Clean. Large deck. Equipped kitchen. WIFI available but was spotty. (Sleeping Tip: close windows at night and run air...drowns street and rooster noise)
Carla and Peter are gracious, generous and friendly hosts.
Off beaten path, yet near water and Malecon. Close to town without party noise. Enjoyed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved Pink Papaya I, what a little gem. Pefectly appointed, immaculate, and very roomy. The full kitchen was well equiped, the living room with dish tv and wireless were an added plus. The ceiling fans and many windows allowed comfort without ever having to turn on the air conditioner. Thoughtful extras like the cooler, beach chairs, and beach towels made trips to the beache a snap. Add the perfect location to all of this and the helpfulness of Mimi and Joe, and it is heaven!, We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in the Pink Papaya in January, and had a wonderful time. The house has everything you might need and is perfect for a couple. The location is really convenient to walk into Esperanza for dinner, but well equipped to cook dinner there as well. We found that local groceries were not all that great, but there were a few restaurants in town (El Quenepos and Orquideas) that had great food. the beaches on the island are very beautiful. The snorkeling is okay, coral pretty beat up.

The owner of the Pink Papaya, Carla, stayed next door and was very helpful. The house was clean and well situated and I would recommend it. I found it hard to contact the owner initially - for those interested Carla's phone number is 516-236-8387.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

When I arrived in the Pink Papaya I could not believe how clean and beautifully decorated this place was. It had all of the comforts of home without actually being home! It was extremely cool and spacious in the hot weather. The internet access, air conditioning, and cable were all a bonus to this beautiful house. The close proximity to the beaches, local stores, bars, and restaurants really made it easy to relax! Make sure to visit the beautiful Red Beach, and the breathtaking Bio-bay to really complete your experience. The Pink Papaya is definitely the place to stay if you're looking for clean, luxurious, outstanding accommodation

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Pink Papaya 2. We absolutley LOVED it!! The place is immaculate...it is decorated so beautifully ,extremly extremly clean.!! It had everything that you need from a coffee maker,blender microwave,beautiful dishes and glassware a very well equipped kitchen! The bed was so comfortable with beautiful linens. It also had cable tv and internet access. All the modern conviences of home! We loved the fact of the convenience to the malecon where there were restaurants and bars all within walking distance it was a fun atmosphere. Beaches in Vieques were gorgeous. We especially loved going to the Bio bay which was very close by and something so beautiful to see. We are already planning our next trip and will most definatley be staying at The Pink Papaya again!!!

Room Tip: There were 2 bedrooms in the Pink Papaya and both extremly comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had the best time at the Pink Papaya - the house is so comfortable, super clean, well designed and a perfect size for a couple.

The house has everything you need - nice porch, a well equipped kitchen, which I loved using (coffee maker, blender, toast oven, micro-wave). There is a nice living room area with cable TV. The bed is super comfortable and the bathroom spacious, tastefully done with plenty of towels.

The location is great, a short walk to all the restaurants, bars and the malekon.

Joe, the rental care taker greeted us, he was very nice and had really good tips about everything on the island from restaurants to beaches and places to buy groceries.

Vieques is a beautiful place with astonishing beaches and our stay would have not been as wonderful if it were not for the Pink Papaya house. Hope to return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This review is a bit late, but I wanted to make sure to write my glowing review of this cute place. It is located a block or so away from the little malecon with all the cute and quaint bars and restaurants. The place itself is immaculate and super nicely done. Great kitchen, which we made full use of - including a coffee maker, toaster, blender, etc. A great size bathroom with a ceiling fan and good lighting. Ladies, there is good water pressure in the shower for shampooing and leg shaving. We would totally stay there again.

P.S. The pork mofongo at the Gran Parada Restaurant (you will need to drive there) was super tasty and affordable. It is a local spot and the other food we tried there was yummy too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pink Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Papaya

Address: Esperanza, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Papaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.