We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant

The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant
107 Calle Flamboyan, 00765, Puerto Rico
787-741-8666
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We ate and drank at Trade Winds several times during our stay. Our first visit wasn't our best due to a snappy (rude) hostess telling us we may not be served food (we wanted to sit in the bar area) because they "may be too busy". It was our first night there and it was late and it certainly wasn't very busy. However, the bartender/server was very kind to us.

Everything in the islands is a bit pricy but the food was fine and they had fun drink options. The welcoming vibe was improved after our first visit.

We would recommend for a laid back no frills type of dinner (which we prefer anyway).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    114
    55
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland. ME
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This restaurant has great views from their open air dining rooms. It offers a substantial menu at reasonable prices. We ate there for dinner twice and lunch twice. We were never disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food. Service ok.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Recommend it on a lobster night. I had the lobster portabella but it came with rice. I would recommend substituting a linguini for the rice. My lobster was better than my dads whole lobster. His seemed a little over cooked. I can't remember what the others had but it was all good food. The bread was yummy too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Ideal location in Esperanza. The service is efficient and friendly. They have a decent wine selection if you don't just want a rum & coke. We stayed at their guest house which was clean and comfortable. This isn't a resort spa by any means but you will get you money's worth. It was my best night of sleep while on this trip. The complimentary breakfast is VERY generous and amazing! My 12 y/o insists in staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had dinner and breakfast here and really loved the breakfast. It was the only place serving at 8am but thankfully a great choice.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trade Winds Guesthouse & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.