We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mew management has put the food on a whole new level.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bananas

Bananas
Calle Flamboyan | Esperanza, Puerto Rico
+1 787-741-8700
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Tapas, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Bananas is known as the "Island Meeting Place". We are on island time, which means no worry, no hassle. People from all over come here to drink, eat and people watch. So come on in and have a beer...how about a frozen pina colada? Whatever your poison, let our friendly servers be your host. Want a burger? We have the best burgers in the Caribbean. We also have great wings, huge salads, new vegetarian and vegan entrees and more. We are happy to announce that we have expanded the outside seating area for your enjoyment. New menu items, new drinks and new seating make Bananas your new “old favorite hangout”. Come join us for happy hour Thursday nights UPSTAIRS from 5-7pm: free snacks and a chance to win your bar tab…what could be better?
Galveston Island, Texas
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Mew management has put the food on a whole new level.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

Don't miss this restaurant/bar on the south side of the island. Right in the middle of Esperanza next to Duffys (Duffy built it.) The food was amazing. We had escargots and mussels. Some of the best I have ever eaten. Then the trio fish sliders which were great. Say hi to Katie and Rose. They were great. New owners on promises making sure your happily. A must for food and drinks.

  • Visited May 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    87
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Views! Drink specials! Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

With happy hour specials ($4 margs!) and really tasty food, we frequented here a few times in a week and loooved the Key Wester sandwich! Some coconut crusted fish with guac...really great. On one visit we found it very busy and after joining a table, got no service for 40 minutes or so. A little frustrating but understandable. Come here for sunset happy hour and get that sandwich!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, OH, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent mofongo and seafood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We enjoyed the restaurant a lot! They have a good happy hour with margaritas. My boyfriend had the seafood mofongo which was excellent and much better than any mofongo we had in Old San Juan. Many types of seafood and fish in it. I had a grilled snapper that was excellent. We had drinks here a couple times during our stay.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Have the mimosas!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Beautiful view, great service, wonderful menu - nice happy hour. We had the escargot with a blue cheese cream sauce - WOW!!!!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“Good food, nice vibe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Good place to go for lunch and dinner. The food was good, but not very impressive. It's a safe option, that has a good happy hour and selection of items. If you're truly wanting local flavor, search out one of the more authentic Puerto Rican restaurants down the street.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt and Kelly S, Owner at Bananas, responded to this review, 1 week ago
For all our wonderful reviewers & potential guest. Bananas is a casual, family friendly restaurant. We do not consider Bananas to be upscale or a high end restaurant. Bananas has a oceanfront view with island décor. We have great salads, entrees, appetizers, sandwiches & deserts. Everything we offer is homemade right down to our ketchup. We are a husband & wife team that prepares food as we would like to eat when we dine out. The specials we offer are ever changing and composed from items found, grown or caught on Vieques.
See you soon
Kurt & Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bananas also viewed

Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bananas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bananas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.