We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At the Waves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At the Waves
Save
You added At the Waves to your Saves list
hc-02 11416, 00765, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights At the Waves, and couldn't have made a better choice. The property is gorgeous and very well maintained. We loved that beach chairs, coolers, and towels were provided, along with a helpful binder on all things Vieques. And the ocean was only steps away from our unit. The owner was very helpful and friendly, while also respecting our privacy. We would definitely recommend At the Waves to anyone traveling to Vieques, and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

At the Waves was amazing and beautiful. We had our wedding ceremony on the property and including us had a group of 12 staying at the property. We had the one bedroom and both three bedrooms. All three apartments were beautiful. The upstairs three bedroom seems to get better airflow though. The kitchens were all well stocked, we had everything we needed.
Ian was incredibly helpful, he has binders full of info that are in each apartment. Great with recommendations for anything you're curious about.
We absolutely loved staying here and plan on doing so again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had a great "pre honeymoon" at the Waves, Bill was our host along with two wonderful dog friends. The 1 bedroom unit was perfect. Clean and everything we needed for our 5 day stay. The ocean and the pool were perfect and the location was private and beautifully kept. We had friends staying next door, and so the location for us was just great to get together and bbq and just hang out. We were loud and obnoxious the 1st nite we got there after a 20 hour trip - no one complained or made us feel uncomfortable, and after we got the 1st night crazy we settled in and enjoyed the quiet peacefulness of this perfect retreat. Thanks for making it perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We loved the 2 bedroom flat at the waters edge. The pool was great to come back to in the afternoons. The hardest part of At The Waves was how find it. It was clean, well maintained, quiet and had everything we required. Plenty of kitchen utensils and pots for cooking, towels, chairs and ice chests for beach, BBQ grill for supper by the pool.All in all it was a wonderful place to spend a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took a friend vacation.... 5 adults and 4 kids. We rented the whole place so we had it to ourselves. My friend found it so I did not know what I was in for. It was perfect! We had everything we needed. Kitchen is stocked (all utensils/pots/pans/toaster/coffee maker/toaster oven) but no oven - perfect excuse to grill (which they have). Bathrooms are stocked (bring your own soap/shampoos/toiletries), Beach towels, coolers, lawn chairs are all there for you to load up in your car and take to whatever beach you choose that day. There is a washer/dryer onsite to wash those towels every day!
There is a small beach right there at the property which is nice for an early morning stroll with your coffee or the kids. You can't get in the water right by At The Waves but walk down just a bit and there is a great place to get in and do some snorkeling. No, it is not the beach you will want to spend the day on but it is perfect for what I mentioned.
We did not get to meet Ian but the lady taking care of the property was extremely friendly, helpful and so very nice.
We spent the mornings enjoying breakfast on the veranda and the evenings chilling by the pool.
This is a perfect place if you are interested in a large family vacation. The place is big enough for everyone and small enough to feel cozy and connected.
Could not have picked a better place. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We just returned from At the Waves on Vieques and had an absolutely perfect stay. Unfortunately we weren't able to meet Ian in person, as he was away on his own vacation, but his manager Bill was great. He met us at the gate as soon as we arrived and was friendly, helpful, and informative about the island throughout our stay. We were in the 1 bedroom villa, which was perfect for a couple on our honeymoon. The window air conditioner made the bedroom extremely comfortable at night... we even had to use the comforter... which is something because Vieques is HOT!!!

As other reviews have stated, Ian provides goes above and beyond in providing amenities, including beach chairs, sun umbrellas, and coolers, which we filled up with Medalla and water every day as we explored the beaches and the island. The coolers were a VERY nice and unexpected amenity.

I am a fairly picky traveler and can't stay "just anywhere" and I was comfortable at At the Waves from the moment we arrived to the sad, sad moment we had to leave. We will absolutely be back and would recommend this location to any traveler. Thanks Bill and Ian!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We came to Vieques at the recommendation of family members. As we were doing a short honeymoon, we wanted to do something a little more than the small Inn they stay at, and stumbled upon At the Waves. We did not regret a single moment of our decision! Ian and Bill (temporary property manager while Ian was on vacation part of our stay) met us the moment we arrived and escorted us to our apartment. The grounds were well cared for, clean and gorgeous -- lush green grass, perfectly placed palms, etc. The pool was fairly large and cleaned daily. There's also a large garden being constructed in the back that will be fantastic once its finished. The best part was the ocean was just steps away. At night you could see the lights of mainland Puerto Rico, Culebra and St. Thomas.

This place has everything you need for a stay on Vieques - a fully equipped kitchen (including the little things like soap, paper towels, foil, etc), beach towels, bath towels, bath soap, beach supplies -- coolers, chairs, umbrellas and some snorkels and masks. There is even a washer/dryer for the complex so you can limit what you pack. Ian/Bill made sure to give us recommendations on where to eat, where to go, etc but do a great job of allowing you to have private time. I honestly couldn't think of a better place to stay and if I ever find my way back to Vieques, I will be staying with Ian at At the Waves!

Room Tip: We had the 1 bedroom suite which was on the ground floor and opened up into the made courtyard by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At the Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Waves

Address: hc-02 11416, 00765, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Waves is a beautiful new beachfront complex. With a very private and resort like setting these two villas overlook spacious grounds, a large pool area with multi level decks and the sparkling waters of the sea. The usually deserted sandy beach is perfect for shelling, snorkeling and intimate strolls. The dramatic views of the neighboring islands and the rain forest of Puerto Rico will delight. Fully equipped 1 to 3 bedroom suites available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The Waves Hotel Isla De Vieques

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At the Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.