We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Puerto Rico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloma Guest House
Save
You added La Paloma Guest House to your Saves list
(787) 435_1154 | Barrio Rio Abajo, Seccion La Paloma, Ceiba, El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Carlsbad
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Puerto Rico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My family of 3 traveled Puerto Rico for a month and La Paloma was the best deal on the whole island. It was a great location near the El Yunque forest. Beautiful Views of Ocean, Vieques Island, and Rolling Mountain Tops of El Yunque! She gave us such a great deal, brought us breakfast every morning, and made dinner. Nilda, the hostess took us to the Conquistador Hotel ( google it!) and even had her grand daughter watch our son while we went out. Our room had a kitchen so we could cook our own meals Great place and best deal on the island!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

Nilda was sweet but they should really clean the room we stayed in or charge a lot less. It smelt Awful. Water all over the kitchen floor. Damp moldy pillow. Little dead critters on the ground. Didn't sleep well at all. Of course I could go on.
On the bright side Nilda took us out on the town fed us the best food I have had in Puerto Rico and it was one of the strangest and most memorable parts of our trip.

If your into going on vacation for wild cultural experiences this is for you. But if your like us and want a comfortable clean Place to sleep first and crazy fun adventures second then maybe consider this.

I also noticed all the reviews were 5 star. So maybe we just got the dirty unmanaged room that hadnt been cleaned in years?

Or maybe there is some smoke and mirrors going on.

Yeah I know it's a guest house and all but I had stayed in culebra the night before and it was $4 more a night, close to everything, comfortable and clean plus the couple drove us around and gave us food.

But then again they didn't have a spiritual rock garden or take us to a world class hotel. Wow!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you are expecting the Marriott or the Hyatt this place is not for you! However, if you want spectacular views, easy access to the rain forest, authentic Puerto Rican breakfast, and a deal this place is for you. My family of 6 stayed one night and we paid $65 (plus generous tip)! Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Nilda and family were very helpful! She took us last-minute, and sent her grandson to meet us at a central location so we could follow him to the house and didn't have to worry about directions on curvy mountain roads.

Breakfast was at our leisure, and we were presented with arepas and delicious scrambled eggs on top.

The view cannot be beat! The swimming pool overlooks a mountain view. There are coconut and bananna and mango trees right on the property. Nilda showed us objects from her Taino heritage, brought us up to her ceremonial circle with her drum and explained the full moon dances they do.

The price was EXCELLENT for breakfast, a swimming pool, air conditioning, satellite TV, an oven range and stove, etc.

Only complaint: the shower was a little scary.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights (the duration of our trip) and were treated like family in incredible rain forest surroundings. There is a nice pool and breath-taking views of both the ocean and rain forest. La Paloma is off the beaten path and more likely suited for those with a slightly more adventurous spirit. You can get a true Puerto Rican experience here.

Thank you Nilda for a wonderful place to stay and treating us like family! - Chris & Ashley.

Room Tip: We had the room in front of the pool, it is detached, and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have to admit that upon arrival we were a bit nervous... the house looks fairly run down from the road, and the room wasn't as clean as you would expect a hotel to be. BUT don't think of it as a hotel (and it's CHEAP at $65/night!)... think of it as visiting a long lost family member. The hostess is incredibly friendly (maybe too much so if you are shy!), and greeted us with hugs and excitement. She found a coqui frog for us to see and touch, and that became a very important part of our trip, we loved hearing the frogs sing at night and our 1.5 yr old loved them so much he was saying 'ko-kee' the whole trip! She made us incredibly yummy traditional breakfasts and she is a wealth of knowledge about the Taino Indians and the area. We found the bed comfortable, and the pool was great. Kitchen was lacking in utensils/cookware. Her grandson was so excited to see us and our little one and he played with him lots. We gave the grandson a few little toys and it may as well have been Xmas morning, he was so happy and grateful! Nilda very much appreciated our business and was happy to have us. It really is like you are staying with long lost family.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room beside the pool and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked just one night during our first, 8-day, trip to the island. It is in the mountains at Ceiba, off the tourist path, but only about 15 minutes from the main coastal highway, with amazing jungle views along the route. A separate building with only 2 guest rooms, it was privqte but like staying in a home. Host Nilda was friendly, informative and a good cook (for breakfast). Our room was large with a full kitchen big bed, and craftsman construction features - comfortable and one-of-a-kind. A large pool is right at your door. $65 per night was a very nice deal. With a rental car the trip was a perfect final two days, very near the El Yunque (run by US National Park Service) region. Your hostess is a wealth of knowledge about the history and origins of people in the region - her home is like a mini-museum. Small suggestions -- call directly for a reservation (787) 885-4040 or her cell (787) 435-1154. Cell reception may be spotty, and a good (free) island tourist map helps get around. A very enjoyable, safe adventure.

Room Tip: Room 1 was spacious, with pool and jungle view at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Paloma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Guest House

Address: (787) 435_1154 | Barrio Rio Abajo, Seccion La Paloma, Ceiba, El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
La Paloma Guest House Hotel El Yunque National Forest
La Paloma Guest House Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paloma Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.