We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful People - Amazing Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Yunque National Forest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloma Guest House
(787) 435_1154 | Barrio Rio Abajo, Seccion La Paloma, Ceiba, El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful People - Amazing Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights (the duration of our trip) and were treated like family in incredible rain forest surroundings. There is a nice pool and breath-taking views of both the ocean and rain forest. La Paloma is off the beaten path and more likely suited for those with a slightly more adventurous spirit. You can get a true Puerto Rican experience here.

Thank you Nilda for a wonderful place to stay and treating us like family! - Chris & Ashley.

Room Tip: We had the room in front of the pool, it is detached, and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentville, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have to admit that upon arrival we were a bit nervous... the house looks fairly run down from the road, and the room wasn't as clean as you would expect a hotel to be. BUT don't think of it as a hotel (and it's CHEAP at $65/night!)... think of it as visiting a long lost family member. The hostess is incredibly friendly (maybe too much so if you are shy!), and greeted us with hugs and excitement. She found a coqui frog for us to see and touch, and that became a very important part of our trip, we loved hearing the frogs sing at night and our 1.5 yr old loved them so much he was saying 'ko-kee' the whole trip! She made us incredibly yummy traditional breakfasts and she is a wealth of knowledge about the Taino Indians and the area. We found the bed comfortable, and the pool was great. Kitchen was lacking in utensils/cookware. Her grandson was so excited to see us and our little one and he played with him lots. We gave the grandson a few little toys and it may as well have been Xmas morning, he was so happy and grateful! Nilda very much appreciated our business and was happy to have us. It really is like you are staying with long lost family.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room beside the pool and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked just one night during our first, 8-day, trip to the island. It is in the mountains at Ceiba, off the tourist path, but only about 15 minutes from the main coastal highway, with amazing jungle views along the route. A separate building with only 2 guest rooms, it was privqte but like staying in a home. Host Nilda was friendly, informative and a good cook (for breakfast). Our room was large with a full kitchen big bed, and craftsman construction features - comfortable and one-of-a-kind. A large pool is right at your door. $65 per night was a very nice deal. With a rental car the trip was a perfect final two days, very near the El Yunque (run by US National Park Service) region. Your hostess is a wealth of knowledge about the history and origins of people in the region - her home is like a mini-museum. Small suggestions -- call directly for a reservation (787) 885-4040 or her cell (787) 435-1154. Cell reception may be spotty, and a good (free) island tourist map helps get around. A very enjoyable, safe adventure.

Room Tip: Room 1 was spacious, with pool and jungle view at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I was there for two week loved it very well recommended. Nice people and great service

Room Tip: Any room is great at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Discovered this place via TripAdvisor (there is no website). A local family has a couple guesthouses that it rents out from time to time, primarily to locals or Navy personnel in area.
We were met off of Route 3 by her son, since it was at night and her house is a little tricky to find up in the hills (about 10 minute drive from highway). (We did not need an escort back down)

The highlight of our one-night stay was Nilda, the host. She greeted us like family and is very warm. She is proud of her Taino heritage, which was neat to hear about. She provided a full home-cooked meal on arrival (she said we could pay whatever we want), including a delicious fish dish and fried coconut bread. While eating in our rooms, she caught a coqui (frog) with her granddaughter and brought it to our room to show us. Although I usually don’t think of petting frogs while eating dinner, it was a funny experience! In the morning, she cooked us breakfast (eggs and ham on coconut bread), and we got to talk more with her and her husband.

The room was a cozy studio apartment with full kitchen, bed, and bathroom. The place is surrounded by the mountains (El Yunque Rain Forest), which made for a special setting.

Liked:
- Nilda, the host, was friendly, informative, and a local character that ended up being a highlight of our Puerto Rican experience.
- Good value ($65 + a little for meals)
- Great food

Disliked/room for improvement:
- Cleanliness could have been a bit better. I think this is more a matter of different standards rather than Nilda not wanting to put the effort in. For example, the bathroom mirror was not clean.
- Quite loud with the coqui (frogs) at night and being near to the main house (in the morning), even with the windows closed. A/C was not temperature-based, so I had to adjust multiple times manually during the night.
- Crack under front door needs to be fixed/filled to prevent any unwanted entries by critters.
- The bed was quite hard. We ended up taking the comfortable (foam?) futon and placing it on the bed, which worked, although the bed is a king and the futon a full-size or queen.
- One of the 2 ceiling lights did not work.

Although there is perhaps some sacrifice in comfort unless improvements are made, we recommend this place for the lively host, great food, good value, natural setting, and local experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at La Paloma for 2 nights on our trip to El Yunque. Nilda was an excellent host and we felt at home from the time we arrived. We had a little trouble finding the place and Nilda sent her grandson to direct us in to the property. The room was spacious and comfortable and the pool felt great after a day of hiking. NIlda also cooked us dinner the first night and breakfast both mornings.-which was totally unexpected! She also gave us a good restaurant recommend. If you want to get to know the culture of Puerto Rico and stay off the beaten path a little bit this is a place for you. It was very convenient to drive to El Yunque (30 minutes) as well as the beach in Luquillo and the ferry dock in Fajardo (we left from here to dive at Culebra). We would definitely stay here again! Her phone number is [--]. She speaks English and Spanish.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Nilda was very sweet. The place was cooling and relaxing at night. Our pool house was comfortable. The place wasn't too far from El Yunque, but finding the place would have been difficult had they not come down and get us from the gas station.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Paloma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Guest House

Also Known As:
La Paloma Guest House Hotel
La Paloma Guest House Hotel El Yunque National Forest
La Paloma Guest House Puerto Rico/El Yunque National Forest
Address: (787) 435_1154 | Barrio Rio Abajo, Seccion La Paloma, Ceiba, El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > El Yunque National Forest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in El Yunque National Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paloma Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Paloma Guest House to your Saves list