We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE Room but NOT Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Reina & Union Street, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“HUGE Room but NOT Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Let me start off by saying that I travel a lot on business and spend more than 150 nights per year in hotels.

For this hotel we had made reservations a couple of months in advance requesting a room with a king size bed, in a non-smoking quiet part of the hotel, with a nice view. When we first checked in we were sent to room 302 which was just HORRIBLE. The shower curtain was filthy and mold was actually growing on the shower walls. We immediately called the front desk and they sent Alvin, the housekeeping manager to the room. We pointed out the problems and he graciously showed us a couple of other rooms he had available. We selected room 401 which was VERY large with a nice king bed and 42" flat screen TV. It had a nice balcony about 15' x 5' that overlooked Cruceta del Vigía, which is a 100-foot-tall cross located atop Vigia Hill. Other than that the view was of trash on the roofs of adjoining buildings.

Our bathroom had an insta-hot, in line water heater that didn't work well and produced luke warm water at best. Additionally, the shower drain was clogged by about 75%. The lighting above the bathroom lavatories was so poor I had difficulty seeing to shave and my wife had to use another mirror for her makeup. I eventually got ONE washcloth by going down to the front desk after being told by a housekeeping lady that she didn't have any. My wife suspected that the used towels we left on the floor were being picked up, folded and put back on the towel shelf, so she "tagged" them the next morning with a dot of lipstick on each towel label. Sure enough, when we got back to the room that evening the "tagged" towels were folded and on the shelf. We called the front desk and they eventually sent someone up with clean towels.

The floor was unbelievably filthy. The tile grout is pale grey in the corners of the room where it's not walked on but it's dark grey to almost black in the remainder of the room where people actually walk. The desk chair seat fabric was stained and there is a dark black stain on the floor right in the middle of the room. This place really needs to be cleaned.

When we booked the room on www.booking.com breakfast was included for $11.00 per day. The "breakfast" consisted of ONE cup of coffee or juice and a ham & cheese sandwich. There are several places close by that probably have better breakfast at a lower price.

I guess if they would actually CLEAN the rooms and you got a room in a decent part of the building, this place would be ok. That is if you don't mind a barely warm shower, lousy bathroom lighting and no washcloths.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Guest Relations Manager at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Jeff F
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. Please know that your comments and issues have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    53
    21
    32
See reviews for
46
73
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night and had booked through booking.com. Unfortunately it was late and to get to this location it is not the easiest as there are no signs. We originally had booked what we thought was the Ramada however when we got there realized it had changed name and no one ever contacted us to notify us of it. The room we got was in the building directly across from the parking garage which rooms are nothing like you see on their website. The decor between the old building and the newer building is drastically different. We booked this hotel hoping to get the old time feel, the French Colonial we learned afterwards, is a special request you need to make. The room we got was nothing like the pictures we see and it was completely disappointing. The walls are in need of paint and the AC in the room is not managed by you and runs on a low temperature all night, it was horribly freezing! The bathroom was dirty we took showers with flip flops and squatted to use the toilet, it was just not trustworthy. I would not stay here again unless I stay in a French Colonial room. No wifi unless you're in the common areas, it took the front desk a while to figure out the wifi password, pretty disappointing. Breakfast was included but nothing over the top, by any means.

Room Tip: If you want a room based on what you see on the pictures, call and make sure you request a French Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Front Office Manager at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor and for being our guests. We value our guests and appreciate their feedback as we strive to have our customers 100% satisfied with our hotel and their experience. We will share your feedback with our entire team and sure we have addressed all concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

if you're planning to getting some sleep, don't stay here unless you been drinking, my boyfriend and I had to use earplugs, and even that it didn't work, basically we had to wait until morning to get some sleep, never again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Front Office Manager at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear yeye33,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered and noted in your review. As a family friendly hotel, I found your comments concerning as the experience you noted is just not typical of our guests’ experience. Our ideal location in the Downtown Ponce is usually a hit and our life safety standards are among the highest in the industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelpha
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Ponce Ramada for 2 nights. Overall the room was nice, the casino is attached and we even enjoyed the small pool. At night there are several bars on the same block but be aware of the many homeless and the local crime. Ponce Centro has changed a lot over the years and most stores have closed. During the day the fireman museum, catholic church, lovely old buildings and the beautiful plaza are nice to see. As you walk around this area look closely...there are many lovely buildings and if they are open walk in and enjoy the architecture.

We did not try the restaurant but it looked nice and was busy. You can sit inside or out. Lots of people drinking wines so I assume a good selection.

Pros:
-Nice staff at front desk and maid was a sweetheart.
-Nice clean room #309. Only few problems listed below.
-We felt safe inside the hotel.
-Soda machines only $1 - so not overpriced at all.
-Clean and well maintained.
-Modern multi-level parking lot attached.
-Perfect location for siteseeing Ponce.
-Iron and ironing board in room.
-Nice TV but limited english channels.
-Nice coffee shop but a tad expensive, for a change walk across the street to Utopia cafe.
-AC was cool if not a tiny bit loud.
-Casino was small but nice.
-Room is along a busy side street but we didn't hear them with glass balcony door closed so we assume they are multi-pane sound deadening.

Cons:
-Minimal lighting in bathroom and shower a bit dark; shower floor slippery and broken.
-Bed mattress next to balcony sagged into the center like a hole. We both kept roling toward each other all night.. The next night we siwtched beds with the kids and slept ok.
-Nice small & clean pool but nowhere to sit, no lounge chairs.
-Window in shower is a vent and can't be closed. Noise came in all night but closing bathroom door helped.
-One inch gap in bottom of room door; not sure why. Used bath towel to keep light and noise out.
-Hotel elevator was dark. One of two lights barely working.

I would stay here again but not sleep in the bed by the balcony!

Room Tip: Choose a high room as most rooms are along a busy side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Front Office Manager at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear VegasFellow,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on the Ramada Ponce Hotel & Casino. Our staff here gladly appreciates your kind words! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay.

We value our guests and appreciate their feedback as we strive to have our customers 100% satisfied with our hotel and their experience. We will share your feedback with our front desk & housekeeping teams and sure we have addressed all concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent place surrounded by colonial structures, and many restaurants. Friendly neighborhood where visitors can walk around the Plaza Las Delicias y admire the beautiful buildings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Front Office Manager at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Blanca D,
Thank you for providing us your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Ramada Ponce Hotel & Casino! When we receive reviews like this, it makes us even happier to serve our guests! We hope that this won't be your last stay, and we will be more than excited to house you and your family once again. Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location in the center of the town. It is similar to other hotels in Latin America, but is not up to Ramada USA standards. There is wi-fi in the lobby only; the room we had had wired internet but no cable, and I didn't bring one. The swimming pool is about 8x20 feet, too small to swim in. There is good light to read in the rooms, good outlets, chair, and desk, but the light in the bathroom was dim, and one bulb was out. We had a tiny balcony with no good view. The air conditioner was so cold I could not sleep the first night, but they did provide a blanket when asked, and we finally did get to temperature above 70 the second day. The shower switches from hot to cold a lot, and leaks onto the floor. There is a coffee maker but no coffee. A safe and hair dryer were listed but not there, and we had to ask for facecloths, too. The breakfast selection was very basic but tasted good. We were locked out of our room one day, but the front desk re-coded our keys, and they worked again. The power went off one afternoon, but the generator kicked in in under a minute. There are two different listings of TV channels, so we used trial and error. There is ABC, but no NBC or CBS for some reason. No problem really, as we don't watch a lot of TV, but strange. Would I stay here again? Probably I would, because I don't think there is much better around, but I would investigate first.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Front Office Manager at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Lipadad,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Ramada Ponce Hotel & Casino, except for a few select things.

It is my responsibility to provide the respective departments with your complaints so we may fix these issues. I apologize on the behalf of the staff here, and we hope that you will be willing to give us a second chance! Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Right on a large and lovely town square with several attractions, shops, gelato store. Hotel has an attractive small lobby and a courtyard. Ramada isn't putting money into this property, at least in the two rooms we experienced. In the first room, we couldn't get the thermostat to move the temp above 65. Since it was a comfortable 80 outside, we would have opened the French doors ... if they hadn't been tied shut with zip ties. Light over bathroom sink worked, but light in shower area didn't. Staff said it couldn't be fixed until the next day. After staff tried twice to get the temp fixed, we moved to a room with a functional thermostat and a bathroom where most of the lights worked. French doors in this room had a wire with a key head hanging from the door handle. Apparently the rest of the key was broken off in the lock because these didn't open either. White curtain over French doors had a large dark streak. Shower door didn't close completely, so we mopped up water after showering. Talked to a few other guests who had similar thermostat problems. Staff was nice but seemed inept and poorly managed. We were given inaccurate directions twice (if you don't know, please just say so). Pool is more a decoration than a swimming pool. Still, the hotel has a great location. Another positive: We had a very good dinner at the restaurant in the same building (Lola's). A separate coffee shop is also good, but service was a little slow (two or three visits).

Room Tip: Keep your fingers crossed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos G, Front Office Manager at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Dennah,

Thank you for your response. As the front desk manager here at the Ramada Ponce Hotel & Casino, it is disappointing to hear that one of our guest did not enjoy their stay. I apologize for the inconvenience in your room, and I will be sure to report these to the respective department to see what we can do to get them fixed. I apologize once again and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino

Address: Reina & Union Street, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino is located at the corner of Reina and Union Street, in downtown Ponce. The hotel has a unique concept that intertwines modern style and historical architecture. The historic facade dating from 1882 is regulated by the Puerto Rico Institute of Culture. It was built by the owner at the time, Mr. Francisco Roubert, who along with former ex-slaves conducted this valuable architectural gem and lived for many years with his family. In 1912, it becomes the Liceo Ponceno School, the first all-girl school. After many years as a commercial property, it was purchased by the Munoz family and restored to what today is known as the Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino. The hotel amenities are, the Casino de la Plaza, Lola Eclectic Cuisine Restaurant, Melao Coffee Shop, Viva Bar and a swimming pool. The Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino includes 7 rooms that reflect the colonial style of the historic building and 62 rooms that offer a modern touch, all 69 rooms embellish this boutique style hotel in the heart of the city of Ponce, Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.