We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for work traveling.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Reina & Union Street, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great price for work traveling.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked two nights here & came in early on a red eye flight. For the most part, all of the staff is very pleasent. Room was clean & food at Lola's was very good. Vonveniently located to work for the day. I did not bother to rent a car as cab faires raern't that expensive. If I had known, though htat they were building a casino on to the hotel I would have stayed elsewhere. I did not find this out until I checked in. And onstruction nise starts PROMPTLY at 7am! Bring ear plugs. I do not likemy room door being so easily accessible to just anyone duringthe day but I guess they tighten it up better at night. The door has no draft guard & lets in bugs as well as humid air & causes the AC to run all night long. I laid a towel in front of it & that helped somewhat. I have to come back to this city for work often & would choose to stay her again for the conveniebce factor. Wish they had a shuttke pickup & drop off at the airport though but at least wireless is free. I don't htink they have a business center thouh or a workout room. At least neithert hat I saw. I don't know if they have room service or a spa so I can't answer any questions aboutthose amentities.

Room Tip: Anywhere except for where they are buildin the casino!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalatin, Director General at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at the Ramada of Ponce, Puerto Rico. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding the cosntruction of Our Casino. At Ramada, we take great pride in our high standards. . Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. My hope is that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    53
    21
    32
See reviews for
46
73
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the bed and pillows are super cofy, and tastefully decorated. However, our bathroom floor was dirty and the floor got muddy when we got out of the shower. Someone forgot the old soap from the previous guest on the window ledge. Other than that, it was nice. It was a great value for the very best location for visiting Ponce.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalatin, Gerente at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We have a meeting with our housekeeping staff to improve our quality of cleanless. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. ” Jessica Portalatin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located but the noise level at night is terrible. Bring ear plugs. The old traditional rooms are lovely. There are no chairs on the balcony so you cannot relax there sadly. Lola has fabulous food and great ambience. While in Ponce do not miss the Museum of Art. The ice remain the square is great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalatin, Gerente at Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. ” Jessica Portalatin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

While doing an impromptu tour of Puerto Rico we decided to stay in Ponce because it is an absolutely gorgeous city with amazing architecture. We chose this hotel because it was right in the heart of the town and had on site parking. The hotel lobby was pleasant and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was an average room as far as size and amenities , though the coffee maker wasn't there, we called the front desk to get one, and received it immediately. We did some site seeing and decided to eat at the hotel restaurant . The food, service and ambiance were very good, we enjoyed it. We had a long day of travel and were tired so we decided to turn in early. The bed was comfortable but there were only 3 pillows and only a thin blanket and no extra one. The room was an average room, nice for the night, nothing special. My problem was that at 6:45 am there were loud voices carrying into my room through the bathroom, and shortly after that, the very loud construction noises began. I am a heavy sleeper but this was really disruptive to me. Also the shower only had cold water, even though the sink water was hot. We complained to the front desk and they comped our $10 parking fee. This was no real consolation for the rude awakening and cold showers we had. So this is my first negative review of any hotel on TA ( my trips are usually planned with much research- this part of the trip was impromptu- but my research usually yields positive experiences with positive reviews). I rated this hotel as average because it wasn't exactly poor but I don't think I would choose to stay here again despite the positive aspects.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I want to thank Ramada for their kindness and concern for my health. My original room was located right in front of the construction area. I, an asthmatic, recovering from bronchitis was very affected by it and had to be taken to the doctor. I told Kirssie Gonzalez from Front Desk, my situation. She immediately took action and changed our room with an upgrade. My health immediately improved in our new room. Thank you to all of the staff in Ramada for your courtesy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

the hotel staff were really helpful, room was on perfect conditions, but there was no bath tub (only thing i didnt like about the room, besides it, the room is great), other thing i didnt like was the pool which isn't big. i have stayed in another hotels bigger than this one and payed a lot less, but Puerto Rico is really expensive, so if you are planning on traveling to Ponce I will recommend you this one because the only one better than this one is the Ponce Hilton (and I have stayed there also) and believe me is highly overpriced, the second best thing is the Ramada and in comparison to the Hilton the price is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ponce is a beautiful city about 500 years old. This hotel is located in the center of the city. There are lots of stores and restaurants in the area. The coble stone streets are phenominal and give the city it's old world charm. The hotel is in back of what use to be an old theatre. Many of the building in Ponce have historic and land mark status the outside structure can not be changed. It keeps the integrity of the city intact. Great hotel friendly and helpful staff, use price line and get a great deal on this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino

Address: Reina & Union Street, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino is located at the corner of Reina and Union Street, in downtown Ponce. The hotel has a unique concept that intertwines modern style and historical architecture. The historic facade dating from 1882 is regulated by the Puerto Rico Institute of Culture. It was built by the owner at the time, Mr. Francisco Roubert, who along with former ex-slaves conducted this valuable architectural gem and lived for many years with his family. In 1912, it becomes the Liceo Ponceno School, the first all-girl school. After many years as a commercial property, it was purchased by the Munoz family and restored to what today is known as the Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino. The hotel amenities are, the Casino de la Plaza, Lola Eclectic Cuisine Restaurant, Melao Coffee Shop, Viva Bar and a swimming pool. The Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino includes 7 rooms that reflect the colonial style of the historic building and 62 rooms that offer a modern touch, all 69 rooms embellish this boutique style hotel in the heart of the city of Ponce, Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.