We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice atmosphere location was midway to attractions of Ponce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn El Tuque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn El Tuque to your Saves list
Quality Inn El Tuque
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3330 Ponce By Pass | Carretera #2, Km 220.1, Ponce 00728-1510, Puerto Rico (Formerly "Hotel El Tuque")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice atmosphere location was midway to attractions of Ponce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

we only needed one night because we wanted to cover Ponce which by the way is very cool , el centro la guancha etc great..but hotel had very nice pool had a decent breakfast check in n out was a breeze safe parking spot although yes there wasn't much hot water you should just deal with it your in the caribbean ..come on...but bed was not so comfy tv channels were good but overall we enjoyed it car races were in background but not a big deal they stopped early on in the day

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    9
    14
    13
See reviews for
16
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Got to PR called the hotel for a early check in and was told three pm is the earliest even when I tried to explain, my wife and I were here for a funeral and arrived at Five am from NYC. There were about eight cars in the lot and six were staff and the other two were guests and we were one of them.checked in no tiolet paper TV was erractic and a thirteen inch tube tv.My wife used a face towel which smelled like a wet mop, and then asked to switch rooms which they did however the room was infested with mosquitoes. The ice box is outside by the pool and unsupervised and possibly being contaminted. There's a security guard that is the all around handyman and told him about the insect issues and said he would fumigate and brought over a can of raid insect spray which I kept, he's the cable guy,the phone guy,oh and Mr. gagdet with a wine opener. I think they need to step up there service and be more hospitible and have staff meetings on how to provide the ultimate guest experience and they would have more traffic and less dissorganization oh and stop acting as if there booked to compacitiy when it's obvious that there not and the front desk needs alot of humility when dealing with clients and stop being abrassive. SOOOOO step it up and get in gear my freinds

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Checked in late, after dark...after searching for a room on a holiday weekend. So we didn't have much choice but to pay $130 plus tax so roughly $145 total. Room was not up-to-date. Shower was scary, looked like mildew/mold on the DARK BROWN tile, yucky, old and in need of retiling!!! I did not even want to step into it, in fact I wore my water shoes when I took a shower.
We went to grab some food for dinner; location of hotel was isolated and far from any restaurants. Returned to room and turned on TV... it was not working right!! Called the desk and they CLOSED at 10 pm. The night security guy was very nice and did come and look at it but was unable to do get it working. Said it was known to have bad TV reception in this particular room!! And to tell the desk in the morning. So no TV!!!
We then went to the pool - very, very small but okay. Until a group of 4 teenagers came... then others gradually joined them...drinking and smoking. We knew they were not staying there but must know somebody that let them do this. They were familiar with the place. Didn't seem right that they were using the facilities that the guests were paying for.
On the good side, the outside grounds were very nicely landscaped and the artwork on the outside walls were great!! Nice decorative pool at the entrance also. But the rooms were really NOT up to par and should NOT have been priced anywhere near what they charged!!! Need to be updated!!! See photo of shower that I've included!!! YIKES!

Room Tip: Be sure to book rooms in advance if you go on a holiday weekend!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have stayed here 2 different occasions for one night each and have found it to be a terrible place. I want to explore Ponce, but this hotel has almost NO service, terrible beds, poor breakfast, no hot water, tubs that need to be resurfaced. Avoid at all costs!!!

Room Tip: don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, RI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were one of the five guests at the hotel that night. Front desk clerk was nice but too new at work. It took her long time to check us in. Wifi was not working, upon complaint they provided a cord and it worked ok. Water pressure was next to nothing it was trickling in the sink. no hot water in shower and no pressure. We end up taking cold shower which could have been bit warmer than shower out side.

Rooms were clean. TV was ancient 19" on the wall and remote was sicky so we did not bother to try it. We ask information for nearby national franchised restaurant but the information was inadequate. So end up with pizza delivered from Domino. Information on points of attraction was a piece of black paper with some data no personal interaction. Breakfast was OK no fresh fruit. Since there were not too many guest, I understood. I was very disappointed overall and it reflects the rating.

At check out the same poor girl was there. I did not want to make her miserable by complaining about hot water, TV etc. Manager came in shortly after, but disappear to avoid the music.

This is an OK shelter if you like taking cold shower but not worth $130 per night. There were better choice on Island, avoid if you could.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days in Febuary 2012 using points. It was the only hotel available for the dates I needed. I must say I was hesitant to book it after seeing it was in the middle of a race track. But it turned out fine and there wasn't any noise.
It is a very basic property. The pool and grounds are actually pretty nice. The free breakfast is good. The room we had was newly remodeled and perfectly fine. The staff members that we met were very friendly.
The location was isolated. There was nothing nearby. That didn't bother us too much since we had plans every day that took us to other parts of the island.
If you can book this with points or for a good rate, it is not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

If you want a place to stay overnight near Ponce downtown,at a good price, this is the perfect hotel.The rooms need improvement,the TV are from the 90's,the bathroom are very small.The breakfast included is ok and the pool is clean and good for the children.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn El Tuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn El Tuque

Address: 3330 Ponce By Pass | Carretera #2, Km 220.1, Ponce 00728-1510, Puerto Rico (Formerly "Hotel El Tuque")
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn El Tuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming tropical style hotel in the Complejo Turistico Recreativo El Tuque. Walking distance from the Ponce Intl Speedway Park and Speed and Splash Water Park. Located in La Perla del Sur, Ponce. Nearby the black-sand beach and the azure Caribbean Sea. Two miles from La Guancha Boardwalk, Sea Food Restaurants, Plaza del Caribe Mall and the Historical Down Town of Ponce. The hotel includes deluxe continental breakfast, swimming pool and free high speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn El Tuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn El Tuque Hotel Ponce
El Tuque Hotel
Hotel El Tuque Ponce
El Tuque Ponce
Ponce Quality Inn
Quality Inn Ponce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn El Tuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.