We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Ponce PR

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Ponce PR to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Ponce PR
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tuppo Industrial Park 103 | Mercedita, Ponce 00715, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Ponce
Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

i stayed with my family while having home repairs and was disappointed, the rooms smelled a little moldy and it was outdated. The pool area is great, my girls loved it. the menu was very limited, but the service at the restaurant was great, the lady hostess was very helpful, too bad i cant say the same about the front desk service. overall, it was OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    58
    23
    21
See reviews for
109
46
19
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN JUAN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Apparently during our stay there were some volleyball teams (tournament in the college in front) staying at the hotel. The result was that the swimming pool was too crowded. And the hallways were noisy with teenagers talking very loud until late at night. Hallways have a smoke odor. Kiddie pool was very small. Jacuzzi was very small and over-crowded (we couldn't even get in). The person from the front desk told us during the check-in to ask for the pool towels at the front desk. We when to our room and returned about 10 minutes after to ask for the towels and he said that the towels were not available and asked me to return later. We ended up using our own towels (that we brought from home). We went to the restaurant at 9:40am and had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated because there was no available tables for 4. There was no hot milk for the coffee. There were no napkins at the area. I had to grab some from the hostess area. There were only 2 kinds of packaged cereal (no Froot Loops or Pops), so my kids couldn't eat any. The restaurant ran out of hot cocoa. So, when my husband went for a cup, there weren't any. Employees at the kitchen were rough. One of them let one thong fall into the floor. My husband took it and hand-delivered it to him and he didn't say nothing (not even "thank you" or "good morning"). While I was waiting for my turn to check out, there were a lot of mosquitoes at the lobby. So I left the lobby with some mosquito bites. HJ at Ponce is a two story building. Our room was at the 2nd room and we found out that there is no elevator at the hotel. So, we had to carry our luggages upstairs. We only stayed there one night. That night, we went out to the Plaza of Ponce and when we returned about 11pm, there were no parking available. We ended up parking at one side of a wall.
Definitely, I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stopped here one night on our way between Cabo Rojo and San Juan. We weren't expecting much and were pleasantly surprised. Excellent service, nice rooms and restaurant (breakfast was included), and great on and off the freeway location. Nice pool area, but we didn't have a chance to try it. Only complaints...double beds not queens and no fan or window in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Of all hotels in Ponce, this offers the most for your buck. At around 100 you get a big room, nice pool with bar and a restaurant with reasonable prices. I have stayed here about 7 times since it is cloe to my Army Reserve Unit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Ponce PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Ponce PR

Address: Tuppo Industrial Park 103 | Mercedita, Ponce 00715, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Ponce PR 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Ponce PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ponce Pr Hotel Ponce
Ponce Howard Johnson
Ponce Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Ponce PR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.