We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Ponce PR

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Ponce PR to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Ponce PR
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tuppo Industrial Park 103 | Mercedita, Ponce 00715, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

i stayed with my family while having home repairs and was disappointed, the rooms smelled a little moldy and it was outdated. The pool area is great, my girls loved it. the menu was very limited, but the service at the restaurant was great, the lady hostess was very helpful, too bad i cant say the same about the front desk service. overall, it was OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
SAN JUAN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Apparently during our stay there were some volleyball teams (tournament in the college in front) staying at the hotel. The result was that the swimming pool was too crowded. And the hallways were noisy with teenagers talking very loud until late at night. Hallways have a smoke odor. Kiddie pool was very small. Jacuzzi was very small and over-crowded (we couldn't even get in). The person from the front desk told us during the check-in to ask for the pool towels at the front desk. We when to our room and returned about 10 minutes after to ask for the towels and he said that the towels were not available and asked me to return later. We ended up using our own towels (that we brought from home). We went to the restaurant at 9:40am and had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated because there was no available tables for 4. There was no hot milk for the coffee. There were no napkins at the area. I had to grab some from the hostess area. There were only 2 kinds of packaged cereal (no Froot Loops or Pops), so my kids couldn't eat any. The restaurant ran out of hot cocoa. So, when my husband went for a cup, there weren't any. Employees at the kitchen were rough. One of them let one thong fall into the floor. My husband took it and hand-delivered it to him and he didn't say nothing (not even "thank you" or "good morning"). While I was waiting for my turn to check out, there were a lot of mosquitoes at the lobby. So I left the lobby with some mosquito bites. HJ at Ponce is a two story building. Our room was at the 2nd room and we found out that there is no elevator at the hotel. So, we had to carry our luggages upstairs. We only stayed there one night. That night, we went out to the Plaza of Ponce and when we returned about 11pm, there were no parking available. We ended up parking at one side of a wall.
Definitely, I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Imaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ponce hotels

Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stopped here one night on our way between Cabo Rojo and San Juan. We weren't expecting much and were pleasantly surprised. Excellent service, nice rooms and restaurant (breakfast was included), and great on and off the freeway location. Nice pool area, but we didn't have a chance to try it. Only complaints...double beds not queens and no fan or window in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiew50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Of all hotels in Ponce, this offers the most for your buck. At around 100 you get a big room, nice pool with bar and a restaurant with reasonable prices. I have stayed here about 7 times since it is cloe to my Army Reserve Unit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HENRY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
2.5 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#3 of 7 in Ponce
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
14.6 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel & Convention Center
23.2 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Ponce PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Ponce PR

Address: Tuppo Industrial Park 103 | Mercedita, Ponce 00715, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Ponce PR 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Ponce PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ponce Pr Hotel Ponce
Ponce Howard Johnson
Ponce Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing