We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belgica

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belgica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Belgica
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Villa St, Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Ponce
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here in business February 2nd which also happened to be a Friday night. The hotel is located just steps away from the town square in Ponce's Colonial Zone. This is great for walking around and touring Ponce but be warned there are many bars and much partying that happens in and around the square. I opted for a Balcony Room which I thought would be great but proved to be a noisy nightmare. My Associate stayed in an Interior Room for less money and did not experience the noise factors that I experienced. The Bars are open until 4 AM and the noise lasted way past that time. Then the clean up noises start!
The hotel itself in a blast from the past and is over 150 years old. My room was quite large and spacious. There, however is no elevator so be prepared to carry your bags up several flights of steps. Also, I never was able to get hot water in the shower. All in all the price was right and I enjoyed seeing old Ponce. Next time I would certainly staty away from the Balcony Room and probably stay out later to deal with the noise. As the old saying goes, "if you cant beat them;join them". I am certain that is the only way to get a quite nights sleep on a weekend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    93
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
118
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a room on the second story with a balcony that overlooked the street just steps from the town plaza. The room had very tall and narrow entrance door (2 feet). The place was time warped from early 1900's but was well maintained but gave you a taste of old PR. The towels were plush and large and there were lots of them. The air conditioner was a bit hard to figure out, but worked well. It took about 25 minutes to locate the hotel in Ponce rush hour, so make sure your GPS has it in the memory. Breakfast was minimal, but acceptable since it was included. Good value for your buck. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Parking was available on the street for free from 4:30 pm til 8 am, after that you need to pay the meter. There is additional parking in a lot, but it is a bit of a walk. The square at night had some interesting activity going on (free roaming dogs, lady bellowing thru a bullhorn about Jesus (I think!) . There was some road noise, but was mitigated by the air conditioner. Hotel had WIFI and a computer in the fitness area ( just 1 machine). All in all we would recommend you staying here--it was a good deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely hotel with an a antique design. The room was very spacious and up to par with my expectations. The receptionist was very professional and even help us with parking. The only complaint was that there was a considerable amount of noise outside my room very late at night. The AC did a good job covering the majority of it, but I could still hear it. Other people might find it disturbing, so light sleepers beware. Also note that this hotel does not have elevators, so if you have heavy luggage be prepare to carry it yourself, or have the receptionist carry it for you one at a time.

Other than that, this is a hotel I would recommend to anyone and with a few adjustment, I'm sure it could be number one in Ponce.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I don't know if it is always like this, but Sat and Sun were incredibly noisy. We had a room at the front, so another may be better. The hotel is older, but elegant. Breakfast was pretty dull. Ponce is relatively vacant. Not much in the center.

Room Tip: The balcony is a nice touch, but expect noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice old fashion style hotel,
very good rate price/service in the centre. With out parking place (I got ticket 15USD after 1 hour). Room was large and clean, there is free PC with internet and wi-fi for guests. Breakfast is included bat not so various.

Room Tip: Take a balcony with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Review of Hotel Belgica, Ponce PR, 1/8/2013

This hotel has gotten mixed reviews from others and it’s easy to see why. It’s smack-dab in the middle of old Ponce, just yards away from the town square. If you’re looking for bucolic quiet and tranquility, the middle of downtown of any city is not the place to find it. And Belgica is no exception.

But if you’re looking for a place where you can put your finger on the heartbeat of a city, downtown is the place to find it. And Belgica is no exception.

We arrived on the last day of the Feast of the Three Kings, Sunday Jan. 6, 2013. The hotel street, Calle Villa, was blocked off by the police. The whole area was a riot of activity, and the very large town square and surrounding area was packed with people and activity. The Ponce police could not have been more helpful to us almost-lost tourists. They cleared the one-way street we found ourselves on, allowed us to back down it the wrong way, removed the barricades from the street that the Hotel Belgica is on, and found us a parking spot half a block from the hotel. Then barricaded the street up again once we were parked! And…they promised that we would not get a parking ticket once the festival was over. And we never did.

The hotel itself is old, hard to tell how old. The carved stonework and tile floors have been there awhile, that’s for sure. There are no elevators, no access for handicapped patrons. It’s only two stories high, with the second floor reached by 28 well-worn stone steps, two sets of them, one on each side of the narrow lobby and reception area.

Check-in was a little garbled, and there was a short-lived mix-up with our credit card billing by the not-quite bilingual desk clerk, quickly fixed the next day by a nice young lady who was bilingual.

Our second-floor room was a moderate size and had a queen sized bed and a single bed. It faced busy Calle Villa Street – the front of the hotel – and featured a narrow balcony that overlooked the street…a great place to enjoy a couple of cold cervezas from the small refrigerator in the room. It was very clean – just like the rest of the hotel – comfortable and perfectly usable.

Given the activity outside – the last day of the Festival and the nearness to the plaza – it was reasonably quiet. But this is the heart of Ponce, and like all cities it has its share of city accoutrements. Crazy unwashed street people, stray dogs, panhandlers, loud (sometimes VERY loud) traffic noises and so forth.

It also has proximity to a very, very nice town plaza, complete with a bunch of decorated lion sculptures, fountains, a beautiful Catholic cathedral, the original Ponce fire station – now the tourist center – a bunch of funky shops and cops about every ten yards. Ponce, at least this part of it, is very tourist oriented and seems quite safe. And the hotel is within walking distance to the world-famous Ponce Art Museum, the Music Museum, the Architecture Museum and several other points of interest. The Art Museum in particular is well-worth the 15 minute walk. Take the shuttle tour sponsored by the city. It’s only $2, runs about 40 minutes and covers much of the area surrounding downtown.

We were very happy with the Belgica. It was pretty much what we expected from a very old city-center hotel. It was very clean, the room was comfortable and well-equipped, continental breakfast included toast, yogurt, juices, coffee and muffins, the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was reasonably priced and centrally located.

If you are looking for absolute predictability and plastic perfection, don’t pick a place like the Belgica. It’s old, has a personality honed over decades, and seems like a comforting old grandma or favorite aunt: a few quirks here and there but someone you can trust, perhaps even love. If you can’t tolerate a big, loving personality, there’s a Ramada right down the street. And probably something much like it out by the airport.

But we’re glad we picked the Belgica. And would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: the ones facing Calle Villa have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This Hotel was the cheapest one we rented on our trip to PR- and it was fine. I thought it was weird that the little balcony we had had shutters for doors, I got a few mosquito bites that night, which was annoying. The hotel itself was cute and charming. The guy at the front desk referred us to a "great restaurant", and when I looked it up on Yelp later, it only got 1 star, and the "best coffee house" which tasted disgusting, I couldn't even drink it, and that greatly irritated me. I felt like he was referring us to a bunch of places that were tourist traps. We were there the day before New Yrs Eve, and the town was dead, and definitely not in a place where you want to walk around at night. We ended up going to the boardwalk, A LOT of locals there, different kiosks of food there, cheap, tasty food, and that was ok...Maybe I didn't like the city, and am taking it out on the hotel, I'm not sure. But there was a lot of noise in the early morning (started around 6, prob for NYE festivities? Not sure) and since there are no windows, we couldn't really sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belgica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belgica

Address: 122 Villa St, Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belgica 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the heart of the historic district of Ponce. Rooms with cathedral ceilings and traditional balconies. Next to Plaza las Delicias and the Trolley Tour. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgica Hotel Ponce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belgica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.