We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of advertisement of this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melia Ponce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Melia Ponce to your Saves list
Hotel Melia Ponce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Calle Cristina, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Getaway
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beware of advertisement of this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel seems to have a lot of history. The lobby is very nice and luxurious. However, the rooms are far from that. They are small, have no hot water (at least ours did not), and it is older. You can see the wear and tear throughout the room. Beware of all the false advertisement of how nice the rooms are. The pool is actually very nice as well as the cafe in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    107
    59
    29
    17
See reviews for
51
118
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Melia over Mother's Day weekend to attend a wedding at the Ponce Hilton. We chose to stay at the Melia as we wanted to experience the culture and history of Ponce. While the room was a bit outdated, it was clean and comfortable. Marlene and Efrain & (two other hotel clerks, were most helpful in directing us to the wedding venue and places to have breakfast and dinner. We did not make use of the pool. However, we did have coffee and desserts at a very reasonably priced coffee shop by the pool. Will definitely stay at the Melia again upon our return visit.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, then the back room are best. Weekends can be pretty lively in Ponce!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Prior to checking in, we purchased $20 offer for breakfast and a city tour for two. It doesn't look like the offer is still running and I'm glad...I don't have to tell you not to get it, but you should probably be careful about any offers that they are running. Once we arrived I immediately realized that the breakfast/tour "deal" was going to be a ripoff. The tour is a trolly tour that costs $2 per person and breakfast is a continental breakfast of eggs and toast at Mocha (the hotel cafe by the pool). Mocha's regular menu is fairly reasonably priced so ordering the most expensive items on the menu would only make you just break even... Once we looked at the menu we immediately went to get a refund. The manager was not on duty so we had to go back and I've been assured that my card will not be charged for the package -- fingers crossed!

We walked all around the area in search of a breakfast options and came to the conclusion that Mocha was the best choice. We returned to Hotel Melia and ordered breakfast and coffee. Our server very graciously offered us a 10% discount for the inconvenience.

Our standard patio king room was fine. The ac worked well and everything was fairly clean (some damage in the bathroom that need repairs). It was a quite noisy at night as they moved around the wrought iron patio furniture at 2:00am.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington. DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This charming hotel in the heart of the city of Ponce is very nice. We need to consider that it is the longest"continuing operating" hotel in all of Puerto Rico (more than a century(. It was recently renovated with brand new suites. They also have a great rooftop restaurant/Bar (Panorama) with beautiful view of the city. They also have a coffee shop (Mocha) which has different tapas style dishes and great cigars.
They are doing events frequently and it is great to make a weekend out of staying at The Meliá and then walk the town square and enjoy the street vendors.

Room Tip: Ask for the new suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed with our stay at the Melia. I stayed there 15 years ago and I keep wondering if the management has changed. The room we had did not match the rest of the elegance of the hotel. It was a little dumpy and I was embarrassed to have raved about it to my family. There is no longer a continental breakfast, which seems to be a standard in less expensive hotels. They advertise free Wifi everywhere but found out from hotel staff that it apparently doesn't work with iPads, iPods or iPhones. Considering that is all our family owns, we were VERY disappointed. I'll definitely be staying elsewhere next time in Ponce.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Last week I stayed at Hotel Melia with a group of twelve students. The front desk is excellent at providing restaurant suggestions, quick tips, and directions. The coffee shop on the main floor is located near the pool and the hotel around the corner from the famous King's Cream and just off the main plaza.

Room Tip: The balconies right off the central plaza are large enough for people watching and offer a delightfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It was pretty much what we expected. Beautiful historic details, small but clean room with double bed, good location, nice staff. The plaza across the street was really pretty. No problems with noise while we were there... After arriving on a lively Saturday we were disappointed to find out that this area of Ponce is pretty much shut down on Sunday and Monday. Parking is right behind hotel for $6 per day and you can go in and out which was essential when we needed to go to the supermarket and out to dinner when everything in walking distance was closed. Earlier reviews mention breakfast included but this is no longer the case. The cafe by the pool is not too expensive. For dining in the area, we loved Chef's Creations.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Melia Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Ponce

Address: 75 Calle Cristina, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melia Ponce 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Melia, a historic landmark surrounded by colorful and picturesque monuments, museums and the social night vibes. Located in the heart of downtown Ponce, walking distance to several touristic and cultural attractions such as: Ponce Art Museum, Serralles Castle Museum, Ponce History Museum, the Fire House Museum and many others. Enclosed in the City are numerous culinary and entertaining destinations that are most popular in the Southern Region. Hotel Melia has a total of 70 rooms, 5' depth swimming pool, 2' depth kiddie pool, 4 conference rooms with capacity for 12-75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity for up to 150 persons, Bistro and Lounge for breakfast, lunch, brunch and tapas & cocktails. We also offer catering, room service, business center & services, parking, free Wi-Fi. Airport Information: From Hotel Melia to: (PSE) Mercedita International Airport, Ponce- 3 miles (8 min.) (SJU) Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan- 72 miles (1 hr. 18 Min.) (BQN) Rafael Hernandez International Airport, Aguadilla- 70 miles (1 hr. 27 Min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Melia Ponce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Ponce
Melia Ponce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melia Ponce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.