We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melia Ponce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Melia Ponce to your Saves list
Hotel Melia Ponce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Calle Cristina, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Getaway
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Centrally located, delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Last week I stayed at Hotel Melia with a group of twelve students. The front desk is excellent at providing restaurant suggestions, quick tips, and directions. The coffee shop on the main floor is located near the pool and the hotel around the corner from the famous King's Cream and just off the main plaza.

Room Tip: The balconies right off the central plaza are large enough for people watching and offer a delightfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    106
    58
    29
    17
See reviews for
51
117
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It was pretty much what we expected. Beautiful historic details, small but clean room with double bed, good location, nice staff. The plaza across the street was really pretty. No problems with noise while we were there... After arriving on a lively Saturday we were disappointed to find out that this area of Ponce is pretty much shut down on Sunday and Monday. Parking is right behind hotel for $6 per day and you can go in and out which was essential when we needed to go to the supermarket and out to dinner when everything in walking distance was closed. Earlier reviews mention breakfast included but this is no longer the case. The cafe by the pool is not too expensive. For dining in the area, we loved Chef's Creations.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We traveled to Ponce for the Carnival parade on March 2. Hotel Melia could not have been a more convenient location in the city (even though the hotel was located inside the parade route and it took us a long time to get there -- the extremely friendly and helpful Ponce policia gave us a bicycle escort to get us there!). Right on the main square of town, near the Parque de Bombas.

The hotel is older and shows its age, but it's clean, comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. We slept comfortably, had plenty of hot water, and enjoyed a pleasant breakfast in the hotel's restaurant the next morning. The parking was very convenient and useful. And even though there was a GIGANTIC loud party happening right outside the door, the sound cut off promptly at 10 and it was very quiet. I would definitely stay there again if in Ponce.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My sister and I spent two nights here to experience Carnival and this hotel is on the main drag of the big parade. It's an old hotel but they try to keep it up. It certainly needs some major renovations so maybe with the new management things will improve. They desperately need a new restaurant on the main floor plus a bar. Otherwise everyone will be booking into the Ramada across the street. For the price it's a very good value and still has its old world charm.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Marlene was most kind to us on check in to this charming hotel in the center of Ponce. She arranged for an early check in, arranged for senior discount and recommended restaurants in the area. She was very warm, sweet and helpful which started our holiday on a wonderful note.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

It is true that Hotel Malia is full of old world charm and very quaint. Its location in the historic market square leaves you at the center or darn close to many interesting things to do and restaurants to enjoy. The staff is very helpful and pleasant, trying to please the guests with their excellent English and knowledge of the local area.

The hotel is very clean as are the rooms, and especially important to me are the bathrooms which were sparkling clean and white. The elevator is original and does a quick 'hop' upon stopping -not dangerous but just a reminder this place is 118 years young!

Also true are the roof top lounge parties that go on, and on, and on. Yes, I get hotels book parties, what hotel doesn't rely on such revenue? But the music went on until past 3:30am. Both of our rooms (2 couples traveling) shook with the very loud decibel level and the boom of the bass reverberating so that the vibes could be physically felt making sleep completely impossible. What could they have done to help the non-partying guests? I think they could put a reasonable end time, say 2am, on all such parties. I think they could also put a maximum decibel level on the music. And, I wish they could have warned us when reservations were made that it was a party weekend, both Friday and Saturday nights.

Sorry to be a party-pooper but I'll find some place a bit more quiet next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The oldest hotel in Ponce it's right on the square across from the fire house museum. It's a great place to stay. You feel like you're in a 1950's 60's episode of the "I Love Lucy Show" goes to Puerto Rico. It's a very nice clean, affordable grand hotel with a great coffee bar / breakfast place with a very nice swimming pool. The rooms are older but very nice with big ol'wooden doors that they just don't make anymore. The front desk people that work there are very nice!

Room Tip: I stayed 2/13 second floor just off the elevator to the right. king sized bed very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Melia Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Ponce

Address: 75 Calle Cristina, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melia Ponce 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Melia, a historic landmark surrounded by colorful and picturesque monuments, museums and the social night vibes. Located in the heart of downtown Ponce, walking distance to several touristic and cultural attractions such as: Ponce Art Museum, Serralles Castle Museum, Ponce History Museum, the Fire House Museum and many others. Enclosed in the City are numerous culinary and entertaining destinations that are most popular in the Southern Region. Hotel Melia has a total of 70 rooms, 5' depth swimming pool, 2' depth kiddie pool, 4 conference rooms with capacity for 12-75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity for up to 150 persons, Bistro and Lounge for breakfast, lunch, brunch and tapas & cocktails. We also offer catering, room service, business center & services, parking, free Wi-Fi. Airport Information: From Hotel Melia to: (PSE) Mercedita International Airport, Ponce- 3 miles (8 min.) (SJU) Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan- 72 miles (1 hr. 18 Min.) (BQN) Rafael Hernandez International Airport, Aguadilla- 70 miles (1 hr. 27 Min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Melia Ponce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Ponce
Melia Ponce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melia Ponce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.