We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, historical place to stay in Ponce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melia Ponce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Melia Ponce to your Saves list
Hotel Melia Ponce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Calle Cristina | P.O. Box 1431, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lovely, historical place to stay in Ponce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked the Melia on line because of its history. The hotel is right on the square in Ponce which
is the center of the architecture and museums in this lovely little city. The room we booked had not been updated so we asked for a move after one night and the staff was
incredibly pleasant and helpful in doing so. The remodeled room was small but lovely. One really
gets a sense of history in this hotel which would be the whole point of going to Ponce. Omar was a great help with the room and directions - a lovely human being.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    91
    46
    22
    12
See reviews for
45
94
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and around 13 families related to my daughter chose Melia to serve as our headquarters for our daughter's wedding at the Old Ponce Casino (a magnificent 19 century facility owned by the city of Ponce vey close to the beautiful central square of the city). Apart from giving us a time voyage to the colonial past of this beautiful historical downtown, it also connected us back to traditions long gone in the open in big San Juan such as Saturday night big band romantic music at the square. Service was good. With new competition literally around the corner, the administration will do good if they invest in some renovations to modernize rooms and common areas without changing its 19 century flavor. If you want to stroll Ponce and relate to its past, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went to Ponce Puerto Rico for my 30th high-school reunion, a few of us stayed here at the Melia Hotel, the service was great, the bedrooms nice and clean, the balcony view to the street was awesome. I highly recommend and we will stay here again. The people that work at the hotel.. extremely nice .. It feels like home..thank you!

Room Tip: If you want a quite room because you like to sleep late, don't stay in the rooms with the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When I first arrived in Ponce, I stayed in the Hotel Melia, courtesy of my new employer, while I looked for an apartment for my wife and myself. I was very pleased with this property. Not only was I downtown, so to speak (downtown is not very large), I was near several Ponce landmarks, some excellent restaurants, and I enjoyed a very enjoyable "home town" feel to my new home city. Like most all hotel lobbies in Puerto Rico, the lobby at this hotel was not air-conditioned, but pleasant, nicely appointed, and staffed with wonderful and helpful desk personnel. The room I stayed in was small, but very clean, comfortable, and nicely appointed. The maid service was excellent, too. For an older, retro/vintage hotel, this was a very nice experience. I am glad I was able to stay there for my first week in in Ponce.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Melia is nestled just off the main square in the historic part of Ponce, so this is an historic hotel, it from 1895!! Its perfect, the room is cozy, the service is excellent and it has parking and a pool! The terrace at the roof is perfect to take the breakfast and begin your journey to Ponce, is within walking distance to several shops, sites and restaurants.!! I'm planning to came back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have lived in Puerto Rico all my life and was surprised at the cleanliness, and organization of this old hotel. The room was very cozy, although not pretentious, but you get your money's worth. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Good parking. Very well situated. Lack of bar is not important since you have plenty around. Good ambiance overall.
Gustavo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Ponce and is within walking distance to several shops, sites and restaurants. If you exit the hotel and go to the left, there is an amazing ice cream shop. The sign reads "Frutas Naturales". It is very famous in Puerto Rico. It is not a luxurious resort, but the rooms are clean and comfortable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Melia Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Ponce

Address: 75 Calle Cristina | P.O. Box 1431, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melia Ponce 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Melia, a historic landmark surrounded by colorful and picturesque monuments, museums and the social night vibes. Located in the heart of downtown Ponce, walking distance to several touristic and cultural attractions such as: Ponce Art Museum, Serralles Castle Museum, Ponce History Museum, the Fire House Museum and many others. Enclosed in the City are numerous culinary and entertaining destinations that are most popular in the Southern Region. Hotel Melia has a total of 70 rooms, 5' depth swimming pool, 2' depth kiddie pool, 4 conference rooms with capacity for 12-75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity for up to 150 persons, Bistro and Lounge for breakfast, lunch, brunch and tapas & cocktails. We also offer catering, room service, business center & services, parking, free Wi-Fi. Airport Information: From Hotel Melia to: (PSE) Mercedita International Airport, Ponce- 3 miles (8 min.) (SJU) Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan- 72 miles (1 hr. 18 Min.) (BQN) Rafael Hernandez International Airport, Aguadilla- 70 miles (1 hr. 27 Min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Melia Ponce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Ponce
Melia Ponce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melia Ponce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.